We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best resort hotels I have stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lopesan Baobab Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lopesan Baobab Resort to your Saves list
Lopesan Baobab Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mar Adriatico, 1, 35100 Meloneras, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meloneras
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“One of the best resort hotels I have stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a big hotel !, but it never felt overcrowded, its theme is africa from north african architecture to central and southern african art and plants, and its done well not absolutely authentic but never feeling tacky.
Although we stayed as a couple this time it has a wide range of guests , families, seniors, couples of all ages it didnt feel like any one group was the target client base eberyone was welcome
The half board food offer was served in two restaurants with other al a carte restaurants around the property
The food was probably the best I have had when staying half board anywhere, even when staying half board we often eat out, we didnt eat out at all while staying here, the food was that good
the rooms are spacious with plenty of storage and they are finished to a high standard, comfortable beds free beach towels all what you would expect from a 5 star property although I thought the charge for the room safe was a bit steep
there are plenty of sun loungers round the 3 pools but they filled up through the day, wonder what it is like in high season ?
Staff go out of their way to make you happy
There is plenty of entertainment some good some not so good and drinks prices are competitive for the area
Its a 5 minute walk to the promenade and the faro shops bars and restaurants and the masplaomas dunes then Playa Del Ingles is a 5 euro taxi ride if thats what you like
The only minoe niggle is the public area free WIFI is dreadful, you would think after so many comments in reviews they would do something about it
I would stay at this hotel again like a shot its a class act

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear guest

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen the Lopesan baobab resort for your recent holidays and also for sharing your opinion on the web.

We are happy that you has a good time with us and we are especially glad about your comments regarding the food quality.

Regarding the internet comment we would like to inform you that we are working at the moment on a second free WiFi line, so we hope that the problems with the connectivity will be solved soon.

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,790
    675
    253
    82
    74
See reviews for
1,149
1,240
39
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I'm writing this whilst sitting in the Hotel Reception, awaiting our flight - 23rd March 2013 at 14:30

A lot has been said about the Lopesan Beobab - here are some of my observations, based on comparing it with a few other places we've visited over the past few years.

It's definitely FOUR Star - not quite a 5.

Saying that, some parts are luxurious - like the wet-room, shower and huge bath in each room, the various pools, some heated (seek them out!) and the rest COLD (but refreshing).
The staff are really good - they obviously enjoy working there and it shows!
Food is EXCELLENT.
Cleanliness is exceptional - EVERYWHERE in the resort, the toilets are always clean and fresh-smelling. They are a pleasure to use.
More sunbeds than people - never a problem finding one in a good spot.

The BAD parts - I'm afraid there are a few.....
No tea/coffee-making facilities in the rooms. I've been in 3 star hotels that provide this but not this one! A morning coffee on the balcony for me is important, without having to pay 10 euro's a day extra for Room Service, just for a coffee!
Bring a travel kettle!
A safe that COSTS 2.50 euros each day! In a real 5-star establishment that should be free.
The TV channel options are VERY limited. Good flat-screen TV's but only the News in English? Would have been GREAT to have a movie to watch on occasion, while relaxing waiting to eat.
Water should be FREE! It's supposed to be a 5 star resort? Paying for water is not really on, and it's essential in this climate. (Buy some from the local supermarket)
This is 2013 - Internet Access should also be free and fast and everywhere. It's a bit like going backwards 5 years! It's very costly unless you go to one of the bars where it's free although fairly slow (Under 1Mb/s)
The towels in the rooms could be bigger - they are NOT bath towels.
Toilet paper is thin - I don't really want to have to provide my own!
No iron in the room - considering there's a dress code in the restaurants for dinner (no sandals, short trousers - including three-quarter trousers! or vests) it would have been nice. These restrictions do not apply for breakfast.
Be aware that there are hardly any restrictions on smoking - it's not nice to be eating between sets of smokers. In this day and age it would be nice to think that people would not be so ignorant, but they are allowed to be and they ARE!

Overall - It's a really super place and I highly recommend it.
It simply needs a few touches and those little extras that would make it absolutely exceptional.

Room Tip: The hotel is mainly very dark - if possible, try and get a southerly facing room although I have no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for spending your recent holidays in the Lopesan Baobab Resort and also for sharing your opinion about your stay with other travelers all over the world.

It is good know that in general you had a good stay but we are also thankful for your critical comments.

We would just like to mention that we have kettles and ironing boards on request for our guests and also that we are currently working on an aditional free ADSL line to offer a better reception in the bar areas.

Thank you again for your confidence in us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The most amazing hotel we've ever stayed in. Third visit in as many years, this time we brought a large family group as we knew they'd be as blown away by the hotel as we are every time we walk into the main entrance - they weren't disappointed!
I'm well traveled and this hotel beats many of the world renowned hotels that i've stayed in. The hotel design, the quality of the food, fixtures, fittings and furnishings, the customer service together make this a hotel worthy of its five stars.
I was unhappy with my room so I asked to move, the receptionists obliged. I needed champagne putting in my mothers room to celebrate her 60th, within 5 minutes reception had sorted a most beautiful presentation. Every time with a smile. We needed a large table in the evenings, the restaurant staff obliged. We had issues with evening wear (only full length trousers and sandals for men) the restaurant manager was apologetic and provided free drinks. We used pool service, the food and drinks were perfect, quick service and such friendly staff despite the heat. We used the Spa at the sister hotel Villa Del Conde (also an amazing but a bit too stuffy) and the staff there were equally as attentive. Nothing is too much trouble. Always service with a smile. A relaxing atmosphere with the 5 star service. Our only issue was children - we don't have children and don't want them. children were running riot around the restaurants in the evening and during breakfast, whilst this isn't technically the hotels fault, it would be practicable to have an adults only restaurant and a children/family only restaurant. Children screaming and running around the hotel corridors and in the bedrooms, again not the hotels fault but perhaps a family section in the hotel would easily prevent this. Yes i know we can go to adult only hotels, but find me one that's as good as the Baobab - you wont!!! Despite the kids we will always go back, so you can see just how fab this hotel is.
Give it a try you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't book through Thomson - this time we used them and all the rooms were poor/no views. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel and of course for choosing us now for the third time.

We are glad about your positive comments, especially about your kind words about our staff, which is of highest importance for us and the whole group.

We are looking forward to your next stay and remain

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed for a week on March 2013. Our room, although lovely, couldn't have been further away from reception, bars and restaurants but on the plus side was quite near the two quiet pools. There were lots of loungers and space at the two quieter pools and was ideal for couples and singles as families tended to go to the other pool areas of which there were many.
We were on half board basis and although there was lots of choice at the dinner buffet we found it boring after a few days so ate out sometimes. Breakfast buffet had a large variety of cold and hot food to chose from.
Plus points: stunning design, friendly and efficient staff, good pool areas, very clean.
Minor negatives: buffet very similar each night and felt like a canteen and no better than 3* hotels, bathroom/wetroom design odd, toiletries not good quality.

Despite the few negatives we would stay here again but would be a little more particular with room choice and would stay on a b&b basis only.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Lopesan Baobab Resort is a great place to spend your vacation on Gran Canaria.
The hotel is big and has an interesting design. Great entrance and lobby, nice rooms with excellent beds and a fab bathroom.

All over this hotel is stylish, excessive and great. The staff is friendly and helpful, but we experienced some not so pleasent coordinators in the dining area. They where a bit abrupt and not to helpful. Also we experienced that the housekeeping did not do as good a job the one day we did not leave a tip - our trash didn't even get emptied.... (I know we should tip, but we run out of cash that day).

We had breakfast and dinner included. And both were very good. We stayed for a week, and did not get tired of the buffets. Everyday we found something new and tasty.

The pool areas are a dream, and you don't have to be crowded if you don't want to.

Wi-fi is affordable, but not satisfactory in rooms. We had to sit on the balcony to go online.

The area around the hotel is nice, not anything like Playa del Ingles. Not to much happens, so this is not the place for party people. There are a good selection of shops and restaurants, both pricy and normal. there is a nice walkway along the coastline. Good also for jogging and bicycle rides.

I would not hesitate to reccomend this hotel, and I would love to come back if I ever return to Gran Canaria.

Room Tip: Ask for seaview to have the sun in the evening on your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

If you are planning a getaway in the Gran Canaries this is the place to go. I went with my family for a week in february. The hotel is absolutely tremendous. After reading the reviews at Tripadvisor I had high expectaions, but the hotel delivered on everything.

The plot, and pools are absolutely amazing. The buffets for dinner and breakfast also. And the room was spectacular. We stayed in a junior suite, which was spacious, comfortable and very nicely decorated. Staff is friendly and attentive, and the service is very good. I spend quite some time at hotels, mostly on business, and this hotel is by far among the top few I have stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here last February 2012 when it was fairly new and were very impressed so we gave it another bash March 2013 and they exceeded our expectations. Our check in was at 9.30pm so we were quickly relieved of our luggage given pass keys and escorted to the restaraunt - fantastic buffet as ever catering for every taste. After dinner we checked in and set off on the adventure of finding our room! "this place is massive so make sure you get them to deal with your luggage"
There is a mini bar fridge in the room but as expected it is pricey so take your own water, wine etc to chill it, they check it daily but don't seem to mind your stuff in it.
Wi-fi is free in the massive reception bar area but I wanted it in the room it was just over 5 euros per day for 2 iphones and an ipad whereas 02 would have been £2.99 per handset per day.
I don't know where to start with the praise so in no particular order - the friendly helpful staff seem to want to work there, the availability of sunbeds at all 9 pools, the well kept gardens, the food, the location near the beach shops, the Thomson reps.
Highly recommended A+++++++++++++++++++++

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lopesan Baobab Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lopesan Baobab Resort

Address: Mar Adriatico, 1, 35100 Meloneras, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Meloneras
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meloneras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lopesan Baobab Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 677
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your Lopesan Baobab Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lopesan Baobab Hotel Maspalomas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lopesan Baobab Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.