We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall - A great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lopesan Baobab Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Lopesan Baobab Resort to your Saves list
Lopesan Baobab Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mar Adriatico, 1, 35100 Costa Meloneras, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Costa Meloneras
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Overall - A great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The Hotel Lopesan Baobab is great place to stay & chill out. The hotel itself is a big hotel with nine swimming pools to choose to sit around. My wife & I found one of the smaller pools to our liking, as it was very quiet, and also a suntrap. The rooms are comfortable and have a shower to die for; unfortunately the double bed is actually 2 x singles! The only downfall if you are only English speaking, is the TV has only 4 English speaking channels all of which tell you the news. So take an I-pad or some other android device if you want to watch anything while the other half gets ready to go out! The food can only be described as excellent; the staffs are some most polite people you'll ever come across. How they manage to cater for so many people is credit to them. The wine selection is vast & caters for every body’s purse! The prices of the drinks in the hotel are average for the location and surrounding area. Approximately 500mtrs outside of the hotel is a small supermarket selling a good range of products. The weather was good for the time of year although quite windy as are all the islands in this part of the world. Overall, the hotel was lovely. I would recommend a visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear family

Thank you for having chosen The Lopesan Baobab resort for your recent holidays and also for sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor

We are glad that you had a good time here in our hotel and we would be delighted to welcome you again soon.

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,551
    573
    218
    70
    68
See reviews for
1,002
1,055
35
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Wow- what a hotel 9 pools and 4 restaurants.....this hotel certainly ticks all the boxes for excellence....Accommodation brillant....shower/large bath (wet-room),separate toilet, vanity area..mini-bar...Food absolutely out of this world...you will die for their choices of desserts...got sick of caviar and champagne....Entertainment was varied and what you would expect for a 5 star resort...Children have plenty to keep them occupied during the day..with the animation team..at night kids and teenagers maybe would get a little bored....After my all exclusive experience at the Los Allios hotel in Tennerif (read review on Trip Advisor)...I needed something good to restore my faith in tour operators....Thompson were brillant in area respects on this holiday compared to Thomas Cook at the Los Allios in Tennerife.

Room Tip: The hotel was quiet every night ....this hotel did not really cater for the bingo and larger birgade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear guest

First of all we would like to thank you for your flattering review and that you have taken the time to recommend our hotel to other travelers.

We are pleased that your services and installations met your expectations and would be happy to welcome you again on your next trip to Gran Canaria.

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was our first holiday in a hotel resort we usually prefer a cottage in the middle of nowhere - however, some winter sun and rest and relaxation was our priority. We were mightily impressed! As it was the week before Christmas occupancy was at about a quarter capacity which made for lots of space, no need to rush for anything and excellent service.

Our rooms overlooked the lighthouse, pools and gardens and were great - spotlessly clean. There was a generous wetroom with a powerful shower and double bath! The only tiny niggle was that the bed was two singles pushed together rather than a double (it didn't bother us enough to ask for a move). The balcony was great, a couple of days it was a quite windy, so the shelter it gave for just sitting and reading was very welcome. As it was so sheltered it meant that we sat out fairly late each night. We weren't bothered at all by noise from the bars.

A few people have mentioned problems with the wifi - it was a bit hit and miss, (but the couple of times it disappeared completely reception were so helpful. We had excellent reception on the balcony where we propped the i-pad to listen to the radio.

We also wanted to stay in our room for a couple of hours after actual check-out time on our departure day and the cost for this was waved which I thought was a lovely gesture.

We were holidaying bed and breakfast which was fantastic - breakfast was excellent - everything that we could have asked for was there and in huge quantities. Cocktails and drinks in the bars were also excellent value. There are lots of great eateries within a few minutes walk - we're vegetarian and had no problems, we ate at a different restaurant every night.

The grounds and pools were immaculately kept and had great flowers and trees including a wonderfully fragranced tree just outside our balcony. Our 'local' pool had the lazy river attached which is a brilliant idea, it felt like a swim with a purpose and was lovely and quiet.

A must is a visit to the Moonlight cinema about five minutes walk away. We also hired a car and took off to explore the island for a couple of days - all very reasonable cost.

Would we go again? Absolutely, probably at the same time of year though - this is in no way a negative reflection on the hotel - we just don't like crowds.

Room Tip: Just describe to reception what your needs are and they will help to find a most suitable room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear guest

It is great to hear that your first stay in a Resort has been a pleasant one and we are proud that you have chosen the Lopesan Baobab Resort for this experience.

We also would like to thank you for recommending our hotel and are very much looking forward to your next stay with us.

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Great attention to detail. The staff were always polite and helpful, The resort is particularly impressive with African themed rooms, bars and grounds. There was a great selection at the buffets and the variety of entertainment was to a good standard.

Room Tip: The best rooms are those that get the sun and overlook the pools, rather than the road or car park a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear guest

We would like to use the opportunity to thank you for having chosen our hotel and also for your review on Tripadvisor.

We are also very pleased that you mentioned our attention to details – always a very important point for us.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us and remain

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lutterworth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The staff it this hotel where fantastic from the reception through to the cleaners. The pool are great with plenty of beds. Our room was superb. Food was great with plenty of choice. If I wanted to be very picky the only suggestion I would give to the hotel would be that the hot food could have been a little hotter and perhaps a Little more light in the hotel and rooms,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your kind and brief review and especially for mentioning our staff.

Human Resources are for us one of the most important aspects of a hotel and we are pleased that you mentioned that specific point.

We would be delighted to welcome you again and remain

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is a fine hotel. very helpful and friendly staff, good food, entertainment in the hotel, lots of swimming pools, lovely sun-beds etc. The room we had was very big and you could teach a child to swim in the bath!
I like all good music. Bach to The Boss, Mozart to Muse, Ella or Amy. I, like many people, find Musak irritating. having "Little Drummer Boy" and "I saw mummy kissing Santa Claus" coming from speakers all over the gardens and in the restaurant drove us out of the hotel.
Nobody likes it. The English ,who understand the words, are irritated. The Northern Europeans ignore it. The staff dislike it too. But someone took a management decision. And did not research the effects. If it was not playing how many requests for Noddy Holder would there be I wonder?
The manager responsible should have this noise piped into his office ( and home?) all day long.
The hotel would not put crumbs in the bed to irritate, or let bad smells float around the hotel, nor would they shine bright lights into our eyes,or put hot peppers into the food. Yet they pollute the air with sound pollution because "It is Christmas"!
All the Hotels in this chain play similar rubbish. We will l not be going to any of them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear guest

First of all we would like to thank you for your kind valuation of the hotel in general, our staff and the food quality but also for your constructive criticism about the music selection.

We understand your concerns about the music but, as you also commented in your review, as it is Christmas time, we tried to reflect this special season in the ambience of the hotel and an important part of this is the music.

We thought that we had an sufficient wide range of different Christmas Songs so that everybody would enjoy it and we are very sorry that you felt disturbed by it and that the selection didn´t met with your expectations.

Apart from that, we would be very pleased if you would visit us again and remain

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Third trip to Lopesan Baobab and every reason we've returned has been realised innan excellent holiday the week before Christmas. Sat in hotel reception writing this review, the weather is sunny (not a cloud in the sky) and about 24 degrees. I emailed beforehand and asked for a quiet room and as before, Sonia, replied almost immediately and was happy to help. On arrival Eduardo spent nearly ten minutes talking us through our room options and asking what we were looking for and we opted for an excellent room, which is perfect. Ten minutes in our room and the phone rang from reception asking if the room was acceptable...what service! For those who are put off by the rare bad reviews, its worth noting that when the hotel is full, it caters for over 1500 guests and even now at 55% occupancy before christmas, it still has 700 people staying here so it seems churlish to complain that the extensive buffet is not catered for your tastes alone. I've also never understood those who complain that the hotel is dark, because I find the lighting suits the relaxed atmosphere. If I wanted to be blinded by bright lights...I'd look out of the window at the clear blue sky...:0)
From a family point of view, I asked my daughter if we could go anywhere next year, where would she like to go because we've been to the Lopesan three times in the last year and she replied that she wanted to come here again. On arrival, she couldn't stop jumping up and down shouting "we're here, we're he're" and believe me, she's a hard young lady to please!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lopesan Baobab Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lopesan Baobab Resort

Address: Mar Adriatico, 1, 35100 Costa Meloneras, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Costa Meloneras
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Costa Meloneras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lopesan Baobab Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 677
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lopesan Baobab Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lopesan Baobab Hotel Maspalomas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lopesan Baobab Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.