We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel thoroughly recommend it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lopesan Baobab Resort

Save Saved
You added Lopesan Baobab Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lopesan Baobab Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mar Adriatico, 1, 35100 Costa Meloneras, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Costa Meloneras
lutterworth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel thoroughly recommend it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The staff it this hotel where fantastic from the reception through to the cleaners. The pool are great with plenty of beds. Our room was superb. Food was great with plenty of choice. If I wanted to be very picky the only suggestion I would give to the hotel would be that the hot food could have been a little hotter and perhaps a Little more light in the hotel and rooms,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your kind and brief review and especially for mentioning our staff.

Human Resources are for us one of the most important aspects of a hotel and we are pleased that you mentioned that specific point.

We would be delighted to welcome you again and remain

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,376
    522
    196
    68
    64
See reviews for
888
944
31
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is a fine hotel. very helpful and friendly staff, good food, entertainment in the hotel, lots of swimming pools, lovely sun-beds etc. The room we had was very big and you could teach a child to swim in the bath!
I like all good music. Bach to The Boss, Mozart to Muse, Ella or Amy. I, like many people, find Musak irritating. having "Little Drummer Boy" and "I saw mummy kissing Santa Claus" coming from speakers all over the gardens and in the restaurant drove us out of the hotel.
Nobody likes it. The English ,who understand the words, are irritated. The Northern Europeans ignore it. The staff dislike it too. But someone took a management decision. And did not research the effects. If it was not playing how many requests for Noddy Holder would there be I wonder?
The manager responsible should have this noise piped into his office ( and home?) all day long.
The hotel would not put crumbs in the bed to irritate, or let bad smells float around the hotel, nor would they shine bright lights into our eyes,or put hot peppers into the food. Yet they pollute the air with sound pollution because "It is Christmas"!
All the Hotels in this chain play similar rubbish. We will l not be going to any of them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear guest

First of all we would like to thank you for your kind valuation of the hotel in general, our staff and the food quality but also for your constructive criticism about the music selection.

We understand your concerns about the music but, as you also commented in your review, as it is Christmas time, we tried to reflect this special season in the ambience of the hotel and an important part of this is the music.

We thought that we had an sufficient wide range of different Christmas Songs so that everybody would enjoy it and we are very sorry that you felt disturbed by it and that the selection didn´t met with your expectations.

Apart from that, we would be very pleased if you would visit us again and remain

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Third trip to Lopesan Baobab and every reason we've returned has been realised innan excellent holiday the week before Christmas. Sat in hotel reception writing this review, the weather is sunny (not a cloud in the sky) and about 24 degrees. I emailed beforehand and asked for a quiet room and as before, Sonia, replied almost immediately and was happy to help. On arrival Eduardo spent nearly ten minutes talking us through our room options and asking what we were looking for and we opted for an excellent room, which is perfect. Ten minutes in our room and the phone rang from reception asking if the room was acceptable...what service! For those who are put off by the rare bad reviews, its worth noting that when the hotel is full, it caters for over 1500 guests and even now at 55% occupancy before christmas, it still has 700 people staying here so it seems churlish to complain that the extensive buffet is not catered for your tastes alone. I've also never understood those who complain that the hotel is dark, because I find the lighting suits the relaxed atmosphere. If I wanted to be blinded by bright lights...I'd look out of the window at the clear blue sky...:0)
From a family point of view, I asked my daughter if we could go anywhere next year, where would she like to go because we've been to the Lopesan three times in the last year and she replied that she wanted to come here again. On arrival, she couldn't stop jumping up and down shouting "we're here, we're he're" and believe me, she's a hard young lady to please!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a week at this hotel on a half-board basis. When we arrived the entrance blew us away! We were expecting a modern hotel with just a hint of Africa but the scale and attention to detail here is just amazing. Not only is this huge hotel well designed but it is very well run. The staff looked great in their African Safari suits and were very friendly and helpful without exception. We ate in the main restaurant and were very happy with the selection and quality of the food served at both breakfast and dinner. There are lots of bars and restaurants to choose from, all very modern and comfortable . Outside the 7 pools, 2 with beaches, are really impressive, with a lazy river around one of them. There is a really nice play area with it's own pool for small children tucked away in quiet area, complete with sunbeds for their parents. The gardens are wonderful with lots of palms and flowering tropical plants. There are flat footpaths all round the complex with several life-size models of African animals such as Zebra, Giraffe, Elephants etc hiding in the lush gardens. Overall we had a lovely weeks holiday in this very unusual hotel. The only negatives are 1, Our room 3192, had a lovely view of the sunset and the lighthouse but was overlooking some bars and restaurants. We didn't mind the loud music most nights but it didn't go off until 02:30am on Thursday night and 04:00am on Friday night! The reception staff did offer us a room change but we only had 2 days left of our holiday so didn't bother. 2, The room safe costs 17.5 Euro a week. 3, The wi-fi is free in the main bar near reception but it's 30.50 Euro a week for the more powerful All-Areas Router. 4, There were people from many European countries at the hotel but I had to go up to channel 55 before I found an English speaking T.V. programme in our room and that was Sky News! We would visit this hotel again but only for a Winter break as Meloneras is very biased towards the German visitors.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms overlooking the bars on the south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We took our 15month old this week, and it the first time in this hotel. We accept that this is low season for them so did not expect all of the kids things to be available, and we don't tend to use them much anyway as we explore the resort etc when we go away. We were pleased at the food (half board) and it was good quality and good choice. We have stayed in plenty of half board all over the world and this was one of the better ones. It is the equivalent to a good 4* in the UK and so I can see why they have said 5* as Spain tends to be on the generous side when giving out ratings. But don't be fooled this is well worth a visit if you want a nice relaxing holiday with plenty of pool space and things for the kids to do. We would definitely come back again at the right price, although the Thompson rep was poor and when we did not want to go on the excursions with them they were less than helpful when we asked about local markets

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the hotel between 1st and 8th December 2012 and had a wonderful time. The hotel ticked almost every box in terms of our requirements. The general quality of service throughout the hotel was very high, from the check in receptionists right through to the bar and dinner staff, all very polite and attentive. The daytime entertainers were bubbly and friendly characters and there were various activites to participate in during the day for those not content on sun soaking all day long! The rooms were pleasant and beautifully finished. My partner was especially keen on the jacuzzi style bath tub whilst I was content with the wall mounted shower! The only negative with the room experience was the lack of English speaking TV channels. Sky and BBC news were the only channels of note. The WIFI was inconsistent for those heavily reliant on the internet however for us it was fine to check social networking sites now and again. The location was only a short walk from the sea and close to an array of local shops, boutiques and restaurants. The El Churasco (typo) was a steak restaurant which we especially enjoyed and highly reccomend. As a young couple the hotel catered for all of our needs and had a well equipped gym for me to burn off some of those breakfast calories! There's was plenty going on for the kids too with daytime and evening entertainment. It's likely we will return to the hotel and this part of Gran Canaria in future!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel, even though it was huge, 4000 beds according to the Thomson rep, was far better than I was expecting from the reviews. We went for 3 weeks in November 2012 and even paying £ 9 each per night for a pool view it was the cheapest 5* hotel I've ever stayed in. And when I found out how cheap the child rates were I wasn't surprised to see more children than usual. Perhaps 5* is pushing it a bit but it is better than the last 2 5T hotels we were in.
I liked the way you were shown to your table and how quickly a waiter came to take your drinks order ( and how friendly they were ).
I don't know what people expect but the food was almost the best buffet we've had. It could get crowded around the cooking areas but the chefs were very friendly and spoke very good English.
I suppose the themes being repeated weekly might have upset some but we were there 3 weeks and found there was always lots of things to choose from. And it was clearly labled, which is not always the case.
As for the soundproofing of the rooms we had a baby next us for a few nights and if the patio door was closed we could hear nothing.
I asked for a high sunny room and that's exactly what we got. We could see the dunes ,the sea and the top of the lighthouse from our third floor room.
The staff were really friendly and chatty and tried to remember you, even though there were so many guests so I can understand why they get so many repeat bookings. We may even return which is something we very rarely do. We may try other hotels in the group in this area but people we spoke to said that the Baobab was the best value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lopesan Baobab Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lopesan Baobab Resort

Address: Mar Adriatico, 1, 35100 Costa Meloneras, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Costa Meloneras
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Costa Meloneras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lopesan Baobab Resort 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Prestigia, Otel, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Lopesan Baobab Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lopesan Baobab Hotel Maspalomas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lopesan Baobab Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.