We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd time lucky :)))” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lopesan Villa Del Conde Resort And Thalasso

Save Saved
You added Lopesan Villa Del Conde Resort And Thalasso to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lopesan Villa Del Conde Resort And Thalasso
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mar Mediterraneo, 7, 35100 Costa Meloneras, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Costa Meloneras
Durham UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“3rd time lucky :)))”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Returned in November 2012 to the Villa Del Conde and enjoyed yet another visit. Wanted to upgrade to Block G but the hotel was fully booked. Allocated room however was fine. Fidel & his staff do an excellent job & go out of their way to ensure you have an enjoyable holiday. Can't wait till June when our next trip is booked.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Lopesan Villa Del Conde Resort And Thalasso, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you that you have chosen our hotel and also for sharing your opinion with other travelers on the website Trip Advisor.

We are very happy to know that you had such a good time with us and we are especially glad about your positive valuation of our service.

Once more, we wish to thank you for your feedback and would be delighted to welcome you back at our hotel.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    903
    357
    107
    38
    21
See reviews for
347
736
30
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Overall we had a great holiday at this resort and as many people have said before, it is mainly down to the fantastic staff, as well as the beautiful surroundings and great facilities:

Best bits about the hotel:
- The Ocean Suite experience: the brochure in no way does justice to the incredible Ocean Suites in the hotel's spa. We booked the suite for an hour at 6pm for the sunset and it was magical and romantic. We had total privacy to look out from a lovely warm jacuzzi and watch the sun set over the sea, then you could order food and drinks to lie on sun loungers and watch the waves from inside as it got darker.
- Facilities: tennis courts can be booked for next to nothing at short notice and include use of rackets and tennis balls, there is a different swimming pool seemingly at every turn of the hotel, there is an amazing outdoor rooftop cinema down the road as well as an arcade with pool tables, plenty of restaurants and a couple of bars. There is also some serious high-end shopping for the fashion-concious.
Aesthetics: our hotel was lit up in several colours so it looked like St Basil's Cathedral as we approached it for the first time on the evening of our arrival. The cathedral-like vaulted ceilings of the hotel were breathtaking. Also every window appears to have been designed to capture a different postcard view. The large terraced bar where we sat to read our books during the day had beautiful sea views.
Staff: The employees of the hotel make it what it is, from the receptionist through to the cleaning lady, everyone was charming and eager to help.

Just a couple of things which might have improved our stay:
- on the occasional evening when we wanted to stay in to watch a film or something entertaining, we note that although there are plentiful tv channels in Spanish and German, the only English-speaking channels were news-related
- we would probably book a sea view rather than garden view room in future
- a wider selection in the room service menu

Other than that, a great hotel where we hope to enjoy some more winter sun next year!

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room - garden view room misses the point of being right next to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Lopesan Villa Del Conde Resort And Thalasso, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel Lopesan Villa del Conde and also for the nice words you published in the website Tripadvisor.

We forwarded your comments to all the department managers and they also want to thank you for your words. Regarding your comment about English channels we have taken note of this in order to improve this point in the future.

We hope to welcome you again in our Holiday Resort and remain at your disposal for anything you might need.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I arrived home from this hotel yesterday firstly I'm going to start with any negatives I had about the hotel you have to pay for safe no coffee making facilities no iron or ironing board and you have to pay for mini bar beds well we had three rooms and we all had single beds which were pushed together to look like a double bed food struggled finding anything to eat of an evening I often ended up eating crackers and cheese thinking of spending christmas here don't really make christmas special couple of candles on the table don't expect anything more pools all pools were freezing I think apart from the adult pool which is a bit silly when you have a lot of children who can't go in the pool which was supposed to be heated but it was extremely cold ,you can hear every noise from other rooms even people coughing and sneezing and that was without hearing people walking around moving furniture and people banging doors shut make sure you take head phones you will need them .
Now for some positives I have stayed in many top hotels I have to say the staff make this hotel they really are a credit me and my son both fell ill and the staff were all extremely helpful and couldn't do enough for us ,breakfast is fab everything you need and more I would say if your staying here go bed n breakfast as there are lots of restraunts outside the hotel all good prices too .our room although you could hear other rooms and a lot of noise the rooms were kept spotlessly clean if you like sunsets you will see the most amazing ones here ,I wouldn't put this hotel as a 5 star maybe if it had free safe coffee making facilities and ironing facilities it could be on the way to being 5 I think it's possibly 4 star with 5 star staff the hotel itself is quite stunning and looks even more beautiful of a night ,as I said earlier xmas day didn't seem very special however New Year's Eve table were dressed with balloons the gala meal again though was a bit hit n miss but the fireworks were fantastic right across the island as well as our hotel .would I go back probably not however I did fall in love with gran canaria and the people are lovely too .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Villa Del Conde Resort And Thalasso, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we thank you for your comments published on the website Tripadvisor. We appreciate your trust in us by choosing our hotel for your holiday stay.
We would like inform you that we have taken note of your comments and we will work hard to improve them.
Regarding the rent for the safe, we would like inform you that this is a company´s rule but we have forwarded your comment to the manager to take it into consideration. We do offer our guests iron and ironingboard for free ( at request).
About the noise and the temperature of the swimming pools, the manager works to solve it in futures projects.

Regarding your comment about the dinner and the christmas gala dinner, we would like to inform you that we have taken note in order to improve this point in the future.

We are very happy for the nice words regarding the staff, we are working very hard to satisfy all our clients.

If you want to inform us about anything else, please contact we us per mail and we can go deeper in your comments.

Once again we thank you for your comments and we remain at your disposal.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Just got back from the Villa Conde, Grande Canaria, from a one week stay (Dec. 24th-Jan 2nd). It was a fabulous experience, as I enjoyed the benefits of the AMAZING Thallaso spa: was so relaxed yet energized all over.

Hotel: Grounds/Rooms:
Absolutely beautiful! The well-kept grounds, with the many variant trees and flowers and lovely architecture are inspirational! Rooms are very large, clean and spacious. Kind of funny that you pay thousands of dollars to stay, but are charged 2.50 Euros/day for the safe (poor optics: this should just be folded into the cost, as it leaves a bad impression)

Staff/Service:
Beyond superb! They were among the most professional, well-trained and exceptional staff I have ever encountered anywhere in the world. This unbelievable level of excellence was most evident at the reception desk, and reflected in the kind and caring approach of the staff in the restaurants and housekeeping. BRAVO!!!!

Food (Half-board):
Excellent quality, range and variety in the buffet. You may, however, opt to just do the breakfast and try out various other local venues for dinners if you are not a buffet person (some nights felt like it was a repeat of the same food). There are both high-end and economy food alternative establishments close by. Food was always fresh and in great quantity at the buffet.

Nightlife:
If you are gay, you are within an 8 minute taxi ride (6 Euro) away from the Yumbo Centre! OMG, there is everything under the sun. So put on your dancin' shoes and paint the town in rainbow colours!!! There's also good shows after dinner at the hotel.

Beach/Pools:
Was here in end of December, and found everything water-related to be coooooooooooooooold. The much touted dunes were difficult to navigate,and there are strong winds most of the time. It's a good 15 minute walk to the dunes (and about 10 minutes to a quieter beach west of the hotel). The beaches were much to cold for me to use, as were the pools. The hotel shoudl really warm up their pools. So if you have a beach destination, this is NOT the place. If you are a pool person and don't care for really warm pool water, you're in pool heaven. Visit Las Palmas for a lovely beach expeirence (Playa Canteras).

Overall, the expereince was quite relaxing. Most of the guests were German, either older couples or younger families. I find that Germans, in general, are very well-dressed, so if you don't want to feel out of place, take some nice clothes with you (definitely not the kind of beach hotel where you'd let your hair down), but more of an elegant establishment. The cool windy weather aside, the hotel went above and beyond my expectations. Bravo, especially, to all the staff for their superlative efforts in making my trip a great experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Overall the resort has a superb location and is one of the best in gran canaria considering the infrastructure
Many things can improve to become a real good hotel
1/at arrival they do not acompany you to your room
2/internet is a real issue,first you have to pay which is nowadays incredible in such a hotel,second it does not work well !You can have it free on the plaza but there so many people are connected that you have very low signal
3/paying for a safe in your room: even in a 2 star hotel you have this service free ,it is ridiculous!
4/the buffet restaurant: we booked half board
The choice is big but the quality is poor and absolutely not a 5 star ! The service is lousy
They are friendly but process driven and not clientfriendly
They pass with dirty trolleys during the service they put the dirty dishes at the end of the restaurant!
Even on new years eve it was not great: lobster was ok but the rest was just like everyday.
The venison was dried and cold under the lamps ,the deserts awfull!
so In fact good location nice surrounding but please book BB
We tried the ova restaurant: was ok but you are obliged to go twice other wise you you have to pay the full menu instead of the supplement

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Villa Del Conde Resort And Thalasso, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

The whole Villa del Conde Team wishes you all the best for 2013!

We appreciate your trust in us by choosing our hotel for your holiday stay.
Hereby we would like to thank you for your comments you posted on Tripadvisor, we would like inform you that we have taken note of your comments and we will work hard to improve them.We forwarded your comments to all the department managers and they also want to thank you.

Regarding the rent for the safe and the costs for internet, we would like inform you that this is a company´s rule but we have forwarded your comment to the manager to take it into consideration.

Once again we would like to thank you for your comments, we are working very hard to satisfy our clients.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Fantastic place for a quiet week of relaxation about 30 mins (40 euros) taxi ride from the airport. Pleasant, cheerful staff. Good activities programme and entertaining shows in the evening. Gym rather small (only two treadmills and two bikes and couple of weights machines). Lovely ocean view suites in spa - i highly recommend a treatment in the spa in these suites which look out onto the ocean and have a private seawater jacuzzi - very romantic at sunset. Breakfast is plentiful with cava, omelettes made to order, etc. Buffet dinner food is ok - not gourmet stuff but varied, hot and you will find something you like. There is usually sirloin, chicken and fish grilled to order and one theatre cooking plate per night. Room was very spacious with lovely view of pool, ocean and a walk in wardrobe and large bathroom. Ten mins walk either way to parade of shops including supermarket or restaurants. Would definitely return for purposes of relaxation. Would not suit those who want an exploring holiday. Weather 23-25 degrees celcius everyday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Villa Del Conde Resort And Thalasso, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We wish you first of all the best wishes for 2013!

We highly appreciate your comments published on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at our Hotel Lopesan Villa del Conde.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and we appreciate the nice words that you have posted.

We would be delighted to welcome you again soon and remain at your disposal.

With our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

I was looking for a place to relax but to have a chance to be with people when I choose to. This prooved to be a prefect destination. People is nice, friendly and the entertainment, sport activities and shows will not let you remember the word "boredom". The qualities of the performances could be better though but I know that this is not a show for a public with high expectations. The personnel is of a higher level, they take care of the status of their hotel and freedom and joy of their guests! Thalasso experience is reeeaally wonderful! Treat yourself with nice massages, facials and you will be renewed with your body and soul. The animation team is nice, very positive. If you like to get involved into sports this is also a good destination for you. Yoga and pilates classes proved to be effective even for men :-) thank you and hope to come back soon

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Villa Del Conde Resort And Thalasso, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all we woudl like to send you our best wishes for 2013.

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and also for the nice words you wrote on Tripadvisor.
We forwarded your comments to all the department managers and they also want to thank you for the commendation. Regarding your comment about the shows , we would inform you that we have taken note in order to improve in this point.

We hope to welcome you back here soon and stay at your disposal for anything you might need

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lopesan Villa Del Conde Resort And Thalasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lopesan Villa Del Conde Resort And Thalasso

Address: Mar Mediterraneo, 7, 35100 Costa Meloneras, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Costa Meloneras
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Costa Meloneras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lopesan Villa Del Conde Resort And Thalasso 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Thalasso is excellently situated on the sea front on the south part of Gran Canaria, very close to Meloneras beach (300m) and just a few minutes on foot to the lighthouse and the dunes of Maspalomas Nature Preserve (800m). The 56,340m2, 5 star hotel construction reflects some of the most common characteristics from the canary Island traditional architecture and presents a similar structure to that of a welcoming town on the island, with a central square, gardens and charming stately homes with hanging wooden balconies. The spectacular reception is an authentic adaptation of one of the oldest churches on Gran Canaria, with two maintowers, a bell tower and central dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Lopesan Villa Del Conde Resort And Thalasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lopesan Villa Del Conde Resort And Thalasso Hotel Maspalomas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lopesan Villa Del Conde Resort And Thalasso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.