We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small hotel and handy location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Lodge Hotel

Save Saved
You added West Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
West Lodge Hotel
45 London Road, Aston Clinton, Aylesbury HP22 5HL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Last night half price!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aston Clinton
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Lovely small hotel and handy location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Its the second time we have stayed at West lodge Hotel and each occasion has been a delight. Julie and Mike are lovely people who can't do enough for you. When our plane to England was
held up on cold wet night it was wonderful to arrive to a hot roast dinner. Our rooms, in the old converted stables, were comfortable and cosy with lovely views over the garden. In the morning we were greeted by "Sparkie" the cat and then proceeded to a beautifully prepared cooked breakfast. The location is easy to drive to various sites of interest without getting caught up in traffic. Travelling with friends to discover the sites of Midsommer Murders, it was easy to find our way to various Buckinghamshire and Oxford villages and pubs from there. There are several eating places within walking distance. Lovely place to stay and will definely be back.

Room Tip: Stable rooms are our favourites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    29
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
41
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Used this hotel for a base with friends visiting attractions within the area, we received a very helpful and warm welcome.
The accomodation was of good quality with a high standard of cleanliness and comfort. The setting is delightful and we wished the English weather had been kind enough for us to enjoy the wonderful garden.
We had a very comprehensive breakfast each day and were rally spoilt for choice, food and service of a high standard. This is a delightful building and the owners could not have been more helpful with advice on local attractions.
Small English Hotel at its best.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeb29, Owner at West Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for the feedback - I think this is a perfect summary of what we are all about at West Lodge. Hope to see you again in the future. Very best regards Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Quebec
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Wed loved everything - from the delightful hosts to the charming dining room, to the outstanding breakfast, cleanliness, atmosphere etc. etc. The narrow steep stairs are not for the faint-hearted, and the hand rail is inadequate, but this is a very minor comment. Room #3 was a great combination of the old and the new - everything upgraded but maintaining the charm of yesteryear. We would love to come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeb29, Owner at West Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for the lovely comments and hope you had a safe trip back. Very best regards mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Attending a wedding in nearby Wendover, we chose West Lodge because it looked a little bit different. I'd often driven past it when I lived in the area, thought it looked lovely, but had no occasion to stay. Living further away now, I had my excuse.

On arrival, the owners were very warm and welcoming, we felt like we'd arrived to stay with old friends. First impressions in the reception were that the hotel was warm, bright, very clean with olde worlde quaintness. It's an historic building and it has kept its charm.

We were shown to room 7 up the winding stairs. It's a nice size, with a large bathroom. Bright and airy. There was an extension plug provided in the dresser drawer with a full sized hairdryer so no issues about lack of plug sockets for all your mobiles, tablets, gadgets etc. Free wifi is great too. Tea/coffee etc is provided - just ask if you need more or prefer fresh milk.

The shower was quite adequate. Plenty of hot water and not a bad rate of flow, but if you're used to a power shower, this won't suit.

We sat in the cosy comfortable reception reading the papers enjoying a well earned G&T whilst waiting for our taxi to the wedding, listening to some great blues on the musics system.

After the reception was over, we were glad to reach our comfy bed, we both slept very well.

The breakfast room was very nice, laid up with elegant china and silverware. There was a bit of a wait to be acknowledged and get a pot of tea as there appeared to be only one waitress on, but we weren't in a tearing hurry.

There was a decent selection of fruit, cereals, juices and yogurts on the buffet table. My other half is a vegetarian and there were veggie sausages on offer on the cooked menu.

The cooked breakfast, as others have said, was smallish, just one small rasher of bacon and one sausage (two veggie ones), one egg. All beautifully cooked and prepared with local produce.

There are some imperfections and quirks. Our bathroom window had some obscuring film added to it and the edges had gone black, but that was all I could find fault with. If you want to analyse everything, you will find fault, and if you want ultra modern and hi-tech, then don't book an historic lodge house.

If you want a peaceful, genteel experience then do choose West Lodge.

If we're ever in the area again and need somewhere to stay, I wouldn't hesitate to book.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeb29, Owner at West Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi, many thanks for the kind comments and so pleased you were able to appreciate what we are trying to do at West Lodge. Hope to see you again soon! Very best regards mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I was going to praise this Hotel for the Hospitality and quality of food.
Booked for B&B and also one evening meal. I thought the evening meal was a bit pricey for what we had.
However when we checked out I was surprised to find they had charged an extra £8.70 for my 2 night stay. When I queried this I was told that the cost of the evening meal was more than stated on the menu!
The owner then went away to check the menu and agreed I was correct and then said we had been shown an old menu and the price had gone up in the last 4 weeks.He did say that he had now reduced the cost. However it still came to more than I expected and the answer for this was they had charged a service fee!There was NO mention of a service fee on the menu.
I feel this an underhand tactic and completely spoiled my stay.others beware.

Room Tip: Downgraded service to terrible after my experience at the end of stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeb29, Owner at West Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We are very sorry that your lovely stay with us was marred by a small error on your bill of £2pp. As was explained at the time, our 2 course dinner menu has recently increased from £18 to £20 and unfortunately the old menu template was used in preparing the dinner menu specially for you that evening. We were very happy to reimburse this at check out. The service charge is clearly stated at the foot of the menu but again, we offered to remove it, although you were happy with the service you had received. Although invoice errors are highly unusual, we always run through the contents with guests and welcome the opportunity to resolve any issues at the time. We thank you for bringing it to our attention and do hope that, in time, you will reflect on the other aspects which we understand contributed to a very pleasant stay. Best regards Julie and Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

The owner was very friendly, helpful and I really enjoyed my stay. The room was clean, tidy, comfortable and had all essential amenities. Breakfast was served in the conservatory facing onto a pretty garden. The breakfast itself was delicious - they used eggs from the local free range chickens for the scrambled eggs. l would definitely stay here again over a chain hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeb29, Owner at West Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments - very much appreciated and hope we see you again!
Very best regards mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were attending my cousin's Ruby Wedding meal at a local restaurant so wanted somewhere just for one night. We found the West Lodge on Tripadvisor and were so glad we did. We were shown to one of the rooms in the beautiful garden which had everything you could want. It was a very warm weekend and as soon as I mentioned this the owner delivered a fan and asked if we would like a drink, which he delivered to our room - the hotel is licensed. Everything was spotlessly clean and the shower piping hot. Breakfast next morning was excellent with local bacon and free range eggs and any requests were met immediately. A shame we were only spending one night as the garden is lovely and well worth spending some time in. Any downsides? Only one, we are used to a 6' bed at home so found the double in our room rather small but this doesn't take anything away from what is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeb29, Owner at West Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi, thank you for your kind comments - we always appreciate the feedback. Hope to see you again! Very best regards mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Lodge Hotel

Address: 45 London Road, Aston Clinton, Aylesbury HP22 5HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury > Aston Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aston Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Lodge Hotel, near Aylesbury, was originally a 19th century Lodge House and part of the Rothschild Estate. Privately owned, West Lodge has been sympathetically restored with an eye for detail and comfort. An ideal location for small weddings, functions, private parties, business conferences or those guests attending local courses at ESRI, RAF Halton, Green Park, Aylesbury and Grendon Underwood Prison Training Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your West Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Hotel Aston Clinton
West Hotel Aylesbury
West Lodge Hotel Aston Clinton, Buckinghamshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.