We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bell

The Bell
London Road, Aston Clinton, Aylesbury HP22 5HP, England
01296 632777
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Lovely Evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

My family (me, my husband and our son and daughter) came to eat here some time before Christmas after a friend recommended it to me. I was a bit unsure, as I won't usually take the family out to eat in a pub, but was pleasantly surprised as soon as we arrived.

As soon as you step inside, you realise this bar/restaurant is just that. It's a bar and a restaurant, that both happen to be in the same building. And a lovely building it is too.

We were seated at a nice little table shorty after arriving, and treated wonderfully all evening. The food itself was excellent, with a good variety and fairly reasonable prices. I ordered the pork belly to start and a shoulder of lamb for the main, while Mike had duck breast and the kids had burgers.

There was a bit of a wait, but when it arrived the food was delicious. The pork belly was beautifully cooked, as was the lamb, and the duck and burgers were juicy and delicious by all accounts.

Overall a good night, and great quality food for the price, but I've rated only 4 stars instead of five because its nature as a pub may not be suitable for families with younger children.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    71
    44
    32
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Ok food shame about the service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We arrived as a couple with 2 friends as they'd just moved to the village.We parked outside in a Disabled space & were immediately challenged by being asked 'which one of you can't walk?' They had seen my disabled husband behind us & immediately jumped to the conclusion we were parked inappropriately.
We asked to be seated at a table near the bar which caused a huge flurry since we hadn't booked however were shown to another table by a large family with noises children.
The food was ok but the mash potato had clearly been sitting under the lights and formed a skin.
The decor was good & overall the food was ok and portion size good.
As we left we noticed the table we had asked for was still empty.
We needed to eat and it was sufficient however as new people to the area we didn't find it friendly or inviting.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great all round experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We attended The Bell for New Year's Eve and it was an absolutely fantastic night. From the moment we arrived the atmosphere was fantastic and friendly. We had a drink in the bar before our meal and being New Year's Eve everyone was in high spirits and although the bar was busy we didn't wait long to be served. Upon sitting at our table there was a open log fire burning which just added to the whole ambiance of the evening. It was a three course set meal and the food was superb couldn't find fault at all. Our server (Jodi) was welcoming and nothing was too much trouble even though you could clearly see she was busy. She was professional and able to offer advice and clearly knew the menu very well. This is the second time we have been here recently and have been served by the same person and we shall definitely being going back in the near future. I highly recommend this restaurant and being an ex caterer myself I am usually overly critical when dining out but it was hard to find fault with either the food or the service.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A brief but pleasurable mid-journey break.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Thursday evening at about 6:15, on our way home we dropped into The Bell for a quick, light repast.
There is an adequate car park situated on the other side of the main road.
On entry what a pleasant surprise, a large 'snug' with a large, roaring fire surrounded by armchairs and sofas. Further along the corridor is a large 'bar area, which on this occasion was empty.
We turned into the dining area which, whilst not large, was delightful with period oak panelled walls and a very convivial ambience.
There was a small but varied menu available but as we were in a hurry we chose the butternut squash soup with bread and the duck and chicken pate with toast from the starters menu. It arrived quickly and both dishes were delicious.
The meal together with some red wine and a tonic water came to approximately £17 - quite reasonable.
We found the staff to be friendly, helpful and efficient.
So, although this is very much a snapshot review, we did like the accommodation, the staff and the food - we shall be returning, hopefully for a more leisurely meal next time.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Christmas lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Took the family for lunch couldnt have been better-fantastic food service and value would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bell also viewed

Aston Clinton, Aylesbury
Weston Turville, Aylesbury
 
Stoke Mandeville, Aylesbury
Stoke Mandeville, Aylesbury
 

Been to The Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.