We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iconic old hotel/restaurant enjoys revival” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bell

The Bell
London Road, Aston Clinton, Aylesbury HP22 5HP, England
01296 632777
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Whitchurch
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Iconic old hotel/restaurant enjoys revival”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was always a lovely old building but endured a chequered history in recent years. The pub group that now owns it has done a great job in the restyling saving many lovely features whilst offering a good and spacious blend of bars and restaurant.
Decent menu, not very innovative but safe and reliable. Big bar but not really welcoming and thereby hangs the key, nobody seems in charge. You can wander in and meander around and nobody will great you and ask what you want. Similar to the restaurant , tricky to catch attentiaon from staff who avoid eye contact at all costs.

It does all happen eventualy but you have to work hard for it,
So in summary the ambiance decor and style and the solid food delivers and makes people return despite the service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    59
    36
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, Bucks
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Interseting Menu - Traditional Venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Went for my birthday. Had a lovely meal, plenty to choose from on the menu, an interesting and eclectic mix, with something for everyone, whether you like fine dining or pie and chips.

Started with cocktails, a great menu to choose from, from sophisticated 'fizz' to longer, more colourful ones. Thoroughly recommended.

I had scallops followed by duck breast, perfectly cooked with a delicious orange sauce. My companions had pate and slow roast pork belly to start with, followed by Gammon and chips and Pie and chips. Fabulous chips! I had to steal one, they looked sooooo good!

In addition there is a very big wine list, which includes some interesting wines. But what I enjoyed most was the 'flight' of Rothschild wines. For a modest £6.00 you could enjoy 50ml each of different whites or reds. I chose the whites, delicious. Then I had a full glass of the wine I liked best. What an excellent idea.

We had a pudding 'sharing plate' For those who love their puds but can't make up your minds, then this is the perfect dish for you! We shared a cheese and biscuits board as well, nice selection of cheeses and a chutney. Perfect end to the meal.

The venue is a quaint 'olde English' inn, complete with springy floorboards. Perfect for entertaining visitors from abroad. A fine example of new 'British' cuisine in a traditional setting.

Service was excellent too. There is an outside eating area, lovely in the summer.

The only reason I'm not awarding an excellent is a number of little things. My cocktail glass was a little sticky where the peach purée for my Bellini had appeared to slop a little. We were a little late dining (finishing at 10.30 pm) and we were not really offered tea and coffee at the end of the meal. They were laying up for breakfast behind us as we finished our desserts, I felt we were rushed out a little.

But apart from that this was a great meal in a lovely setting and good value for money, I would definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Interesting and Varied Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Went for my birthday. Had a lovely meal, plenty to choose from on the menu, an interesting and eclectic mix, with something for everyone, whether you like fine dining or pie and chips.

Started with cocktails, a great menu to choose from, from sophisticated 'fizz' to longer, more colourful ones. Thoroughly recommended.

I had scallops followed by duck breast, perfectly cooked with a delicious orange sauce. My companions had pate and slow roast pork belly to start with, followed by Gammon and chips and Pie and chips. Fabulous chips! I had to steal one, they looked sooooo good!

In addition there is a very big wine list, which includes some interesting wines. But what I enjoyed most was the 'flight' of Rothschild wines. For a modest £6.00 you could enjoy 50ml each of different whites or reds. I chose the whites, delicious. Then I had a full glass of the wine I liked best. What an excellent idea.

We had a pudding 'sharing plate' For those who love their puds but can't make up your minds, then this is the perfect dish for you! We shared a cheese and biscuits board as well, nice selection of cheeses and a chutney. Perfect end to the meal.

The venue is a quaint 'olde English' inn, complete with springy floorboards. Perfect for entertaining visitors from abroad. A fine example of new 'British' cuisine in a traditional setting.

Service was excellent too. There is an outside eating area, lovely in the summer.

The only reason I'm not awarding an excellent is a number of little things. My cocktail glass was a little sticky where the peach purée for my Bellini had appeared to slop a little. We were a little late dining (finishing at 10.30 pm) and we were not really offered tea and coffee at the end of the meal. They were laying up for breakfast behind us as we finished our desserts, I felt we were rushed out a little.

But apart from that this was a great meal in a lovely setting and good value for money, I would definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“1st date lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Had a first date here recently. Very atmospheric and cosy. Welcoming staff and lovely food. Was treated to sharing fish mezze....lovely...bit over praised for 2. Definate return with or with out date!!!! Hope with
Great big car park over the road

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great pub!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic meal here last night the food is brilliant and nothing is too much trouble from the staff. Also came here for Christmas lunch which was very very nice. I have a three year old who we having been taking here for a couple of years and he has been very comfortable here from the first visit. A proper pub restaurant with great genuine character, great food and proper beer!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bell also viewed

Aston Clinton, Aylesbury
Weston Turville, Aylesbury
 
Stoke Mandeville, Aylesbury
Stoke Mandeville, Aylesbury
 

Been to The Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.