We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Celebration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Emerald

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Emerald to your Saves list
Hotel Emerald
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaka Apokoronou, Plaka, Crete 730 08, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Plaka
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Don't miss the culinary creations from Christos which made our holiday. We had the almost impossible mix of normal, piscatarian and vegetarian but the challenge was overcome easily and with a shy smile. Very imaginative with fusion influences from all over the globe topped by the most awesome 5 layer birthday cake. Fantastic support team from Stella and Katriana; always helpful, kind, friendly, knowledgeable with service beyond compare.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a beautiful location on the cliff above Almirida in the village of Plaka. Our room was very adequate, only gripes were water could be a bit hotter and maybe time to refresh the decor/ bathroom- having said that the pool is lovely- clean , plenty of room for guests, with a nice intimate feel. The view from our balcony was stunning- we were in room 2, possibly the room above has even better views! We opted to have breakfast each day ( some other guests just self catered) and thought the breakfast was very good value- eggs ( scrambled, boiled etc) cheese/ham, bread jam /croissant/ home baked cake, yogurt, fruit, tea/coffee. Sit on the lovely terrace and enjoy . We had dinner one night and it was very good quality though my partner thought portions could be more generous though that was maybe just his choice- prawns. Mine was lamb and was really good. The house white is very nice, and the staff are absolutely lovely! Other than that we went in to Plaka. There is a quiz night on a Monday night if you walk up towards Plaka, take the left fork in the road and it's there on the right, starts at 8 but no food so eat before you go!
Also if you like walking get hold of the Walking in Almirida photocopy and walk up to Douliana (and if you are intrepid or at least a good sense of direction go on to Gavalohori, down into an overgrown valley with a chapel in the rock see the gate in a wall- very atmospheric) . Nice little cafe in Douliana staff are really helpful- place is like a ghost town ( village!) Gavalohori has a lovely Taverna- we have been a couple of times and had superb food- Arismari- just up from the museum.

Room Tip: Room with a view is an imperative!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We first heard of this hotel/restaurant via an email from a friend who lives locally. As we know the area quite well, we just couldn't imagine where it could be. Our friend took us to dinner at the restaurant the other night and we were in shock. The service, the food, the wine and the fantastic cocktails were incredible. You would have thought that you were in a large city like Athens or even London the standard was so high. I especially liked the sardines and the desserts were just heaven on a plate. Finished off with an espresso martini - wonderful. Took lots of cards to hand out to friends, it won't remain secret for very long.
Haven't stayed in the hotel but it looks very nice - one to recommend to friends then we can come and eat in the restaurant!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My wife and stayed a few doors away and soon discovered the beautiful vine-covered terrace with wonderful views over the bay and Almarida beach, cooled by sea-breezes even in the hottest days. In the evenings you can dine watching the sun set over the bay. But what will live in our memories longest is the amazing food we had during our stay, where we sampled almost everything on the menu. Just to take a couple of examples. On our first visit we had "grilled octopus with humus and star anise vinaigrette". Never have we had octopus so succulent and full of flavour! Stella explained that the chef (her husband) pre-cooks the octopus for several hours in some kind of vacuum cooking process, which removes the rubbery texture octopus usually has and the herbs add the flavour. Then it is grilled on a wood-fired barbeque, adding a perfect subtle char-grilled taste. Much the same process is used to achieve similar results with the "slow-cooked lamb with potatoes in the fire". This is cordon bleu cooking, which would cost you a lot in France of Italy, but here in this amazing setting, these dishes as main courses cost 8 and 12 Euros respectively! There is so much of similar quality and value on the menu to sample at your leisure, but I'll just mention one more thing -- the perfect salads (Greek or Cretan Caprese), we always started with. As always, the best restaurants somehow manage to do the simplest things best! The service was always perfect, attentive but unhurried, so that lunch or dinner was always a relaxing experience. Whether you are staying at the Emerald of just happen to staying at Plaka or Almarida, the Emerald terrace is most definitely a place you come for lunch or dinner!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I have been visiting this gem of a place for approx. 10 years now and it just gets better and better. This year it has a new management team although you will still see Spiros around and about. Their prices are more expensive now but in fairness they do have a new chef and an extensive menu, which to date we havnt tested. However, the cocktails are very good. I would thoroughly recommend visiting Emerald even if its just for a drink as the view is the best in Crete.

Room Tip: Not stayed as a resident so cant comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingley
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We arrived at the Emerald Hotel to a warm welcome from the Hotel staff. Our room was lovely, very clean with the most amazing ocean views to Almyrida and the mountains from a lovely balcony where we liked to play backgammon over an ice cold mythos! The room was very spacious and kitchenette was very well equipped. You could easily cook a full meal if you needed to but we mainly prepared lunchtime salads and breakfasts. The hotel is reached by going up the hill from Almyrida, which is a gentle 15 minutes walk, or 20 if going uphill. No problem as long as you are an able walker! The hotel has a lovely restaurant that serves freshly made food that is a bit different to the norm. There are some very tasty dishes on offer all presented really nicely and you can tell they have been made with love! They also offer some lovely craft beers along with a good wine list - expertly served by Stella and Christos.

The village of Plaka is 5 minutes away on foot and can be reached by going straight over the road at the junction by the school. Here there are 4 lovely tavernas, our favourite of which was O Xarokopos, very traditional and good value with really friendly hosts. We also liked the Italian restaurant 'Una faccia Una razza' which served lovely pasta and pizza. We visited Chania one day via taxi/bus but have to admit is was hard to tear ourselves away from the lovely Emerald. We also ate in Almyrida and our favourite was the traditional Lagos restaurant at the far end of the resort away from the seafront. Also enjoyed cold beers and pizza at Patisserie Françoise on the front which was friendly and welcoming. All in all a superb relaxing holiday at a lovely hotel with amazing gardens, rooms and staff! Keep up the good work, we would love to return soon!

Room Tip: Top Tip: We had room 12, lovely - and take a mozzie killer as they are evil!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

we were staying locally and came up here three times for wine and the sunset- absolutely stunning- looked at one bedroom- with self catering facilities and decided we will come back and stay here! staff were really helpful. didn't eat ( wished we could have! but saw others and heard their comments and they seemed pretty happy!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Emerald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emerald

Address: Plaka Apokoronou, Plaka, Crete 730 08, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Plaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Emerald 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emerald Hotel is set high up on the cliffside of Plaka village of Apokoronas in Chania – just a 25 minute drive from Chania centre and its must see old Venetian harbor. With 11 spacious apartments (each with a separate bedroom), a snack / cafe-bar-restaurant open terrace area with cretan creative cuisine and a large swimming pool (80sqm), Emerald Hotel is just the place to relax and unwind; open each year from 1 April to 31 October. The views from Emerald Hotel are both to the sea (to the village of Almyrida and beyond) and to the White Mountains – simply breathtaking. These same views can be enjoyed from the comfort of your own self-catering apartment. Equipped with a kitchen, the apartments are spacious, practical and perfectly functional. The large swimming pool also has a shallow section for children (0.80cm -2.4m depth). Trees, plants and flowers surround the hotel and give it a home-like feel to it. Focusing on families with children, Emerald Hotel has also a children’s playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Emerald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Emerald Crete/Plaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Emerald, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.