We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"What do you want? we have everything!"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Nicolas Fish Tavern Restaurant

Captain Nicolas Fish Tavern Restaurant
Plaka, Crete, Greece
+30 28410 41838
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 10 Restaurants in Plaka
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“"What do you want? we have everything!"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

First class and really fresh seafood right on the shore.

Good salads and plentiful local wine with grappa to offset your Greek coffee.

Charming and foxy waitress but her personal hygiene needs some attention.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    11
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Plaka !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have visited Captain Nicolas quite a few times and I have been amazed by their food. They have the best seafood I have ever tried not to mention the most tasty zucchini sticks ever ! I love these zucchini sticks !
Service is great, thank you Alex for taking care of us.
Recommend 100%

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

the food was lovely,fish dishes so tasty,plenty of it.well worth visiting can get very busy at times so go early.you wont be dissapointed im sure.the restaurant is done out really well,the waiters look after you really well nothings too much trouble so friendly.will definitely go back if ever we go again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very nice food in a lovely setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed at the Blue Palace and decided to eat here on our first night.

We had a water side table and was served by an extremely friendly and knowledgeable waiter - what a difference good service makes! He showed us what had been caught that day and we were taken to the kitchen to see how the fish that we had chosen would be cooked.

The food was very good and the Grouper for 2 was cooked simply and perfectly moist; as fresh fish should be and with a selection of very well cooked and seasoned vegetables.

I would definitely recommend this restaurant for well cooked fish in a friendly and picturesque setting.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire Scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food and Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is a lovely located restaurant sits on the water looking over to Spinalonga, food excellent and the owners are lovely, food very reasonably priced and service excellent. Loved the parrot that sits at the entrance and whistles and speaks to you when you pass.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Nicolas Fish Tavern Restaurant also viewed

Plaka, Chania Prefecture
Plaka, Chania Prefecture
 
Plaka, Chania Prefecture
Plaka, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Captain Nicolas Fish Tavern Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Nicolas Fish Tavern Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.