We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Night Out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Nicolas Fish Tavern Restaurant

Captain Nicolas Fish Tavern Restaurant
Plaka, Crete, Greece
+30 28410 41838
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Plaka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Night Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We ate in Captain Nicolas Fish Tavern one night during our stay in Elounda. Really enjoyed the evening. The food was good but the atmosphere was great. They have a singer who has a very wide range of songs, we could sing along to most of them, and the waiter got patrons up to dance at one stage. (That might sound off putting, but they wanted to dance and they loved it) It was great fun, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and I would definitely recommend this Tavern for an enjoyable evening out. This taverna overlooks the bay and Spinalonga, lovely setting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    11
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“lovely restaurant looking over the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We decided when we visited Agios Nickolas that we would explore the outer villages, and we had been recommend by the hotel St Nickolas Bay this place. The food was delicious and atmosphere great. We did have a lot of fun. When we said we were New Zealanders , (kiwis) we were made even more welcome. As we kiwis helped Crete in the Battle of Crete, in the wartime.
It was about a 20min taxi ride, but well worth while

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had eaten at this restaurant a few years ago and had a wonderful meal then , so we thought we would like to return . We were not disappointed . The winter was really nice and actually brought the fish to our table to show us. He later proceeded to fillet it in front of us . It was delicious . We sat below the restaurant on a table a few feet from the sea with breathtaking views of spinalonga. He recommended a delicious bottle of wine or us too. We followed up with a yummy cake made by the chef which was also wonderful . All in all a magical evening . We will be back hopefully next year .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Possibly the best lunch I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful lunch here, the location is unbeatable and I had the freshest most perfectly cooked fish served by helpful lovely staff _ a delight!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

A really good place to dine , the food was great , the atmosphere was brilliant especially if you go on the live music night , and you will never see a better view of spinalonga at night

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Nicolas Fish Tavern Restaurant also viewed

Plaka, Chania Prefecture
Plaka, Chania Prefecture
 
Plaka, Chania Prefecture
Plaka, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Captain Nicolas Fish Tavern Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Nicolas Fish Tavern Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.