We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fortini is Queen of the oven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harokopos Tavern

Harokopos Tavern
Plaka, Crete 73008, Greece
+30 2825 032089
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Plaka
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: If you are looking for a true insight into Cretan food, then you should really must visit our traditional "HAROKOPOS" taverna located on the main square of Plaka village. just two kilometers from Almyrida.We are open all year round. Our family taverna provides a true experience of local cuisine with all our family involvement.The igredients we use in cooking our specialties are from the region. Some of our specialties are made with fresh vegetables from our garden and meat from our small farm.Our chef, Mrs Argyro, cooks every day a new delicious plate.
Burgh le Marsh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fortini is Queen of the oven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

There is always a warm welcome and lots of laughter from Fortini and her husband Pandalis. Fast service, good red wine and great country food at reasonable prices.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    8
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“wonderful food wonderful people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

I am never disappointed except if they have run out of something but then I am simply forced to try something new and so far all has been excellent. Fresh organic and from what I can see the photographs of the food do not do justice to the plates in reality which serve food that is hot ( not always something even in highly rated restaurants do you get in Crete) with great flavours.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Banker says thank you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

We have enjoyed visiting this restaurant for many years. The food is excellent and extremely well priced, the wine is delicious, the atmosphere welcoming and Fortini and Pantelis very good hosts with excellent memories for returning diners. Thanks also to the waiter who is very hard working. We also look forward to dining here on our return to Crete next year. This year we have celebrated birthdays here and been very well looked after. Thank you is never enough to these hosts.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best food for miles!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

I first visited this restaurant in 2001 when it was run by the present owner's mother, again in 2006, and returned this year for the third time. Fotini and her husband are most welcoming, and the food does not disappoint. We visited five times in the space of a fortnight, trying different dishes each time, and were delighted with everything put in front of us. The hugely generous greek salad is fresh and delicious, and the variety of daily specials a real treat. What's more, its the best value for money of any restaurant I have eaten in Europe-wide over the last several years. Anyone staying within driving distance of this fabulous restaurant would be crazy not to try it. Absolutely outstanding!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Greece
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic family run restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

This is a typical family run taverna which provides great friendly service and good food. This restaurant is also popular with local Greek families, which is obviously a good endorsement for its cuisine. Look out for the daily specials as they add considerably to the set menu. The owners also have a great sense of humour and will also make you welcome. Plaka is becoming more and more a popular eating place so it may be advisable to reserve a table if you are a large group. The owner Fotinis also understands food allergies. My wife is a coeliac and is well catered for.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harokopos Tavern also viewed

Plaka, Chania Prefecture
Plaka, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Harokopos Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harokopos Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.