We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic All Round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Una faccia Una razza

Una faccia Una razza
Plaka Apokoronou, Plaka, Crete 73008, Greece
+30 2825 032274
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Plaka
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: "Una faccia una razza" risto-bar is a small corner of Italy in Crete. It is run by a young Italian couple, Giulia and Matteo, who will make sure you have enjoyable moments in a cosy and friendly atmosphere, savouring authentic Italian dishes or simply sipping a good glass of Italian wine. The speciality is fresh home-made pasta, made according to traditional Italian recipes and served with wholesome sauces, which are made daily. On the " Specials " board, which changes everyday, you can choose among delicious pasta dishes, Italian style meat dishes, risottos and mouth-watering home-made desserts. All dishes are prepared and cooked upon order, using high-quality Italian products, therefore maintaining the real Italian cooking style. A perfect change from Greek food!
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic All Round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Booked in advance to guarantee us a table. On arrival greeted by friendly staff who informed us that there was a daily specials board which they promptly bought round. We had a meat and cheese platter to share for starters, it was probably the best starter I have ever had - it was wonderful, fresh meat and delightful cheeses. Main course I had the sausage and pasta - lovely! The best part of this fantastic meal had to be the Tiramasu - it was to die for. Definately visiting this place again when we are there next. 10 out of 10

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    8
    0
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian food, but with some room for improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We went to Una Fazza Una Razza during our stay in the Apokoronas area on August/September 2013. By daylight (when the restaurant is closed), the location does not look appealing since it is located by the road. But, at night it boasts of a very romantic atmosphere as the road is not lit and has scarce traffic. The interiors are lovely as well!
We had a bruschetta, a spaghetti and a tagliata - one of the specials. The bruschetta was excellent, with quality melting cheese, a delicious tomato sauce and fresh bread. I was very glad that my zucchini & salmon spaggheti were not creamed, the fresh pasta was excellently cooked but the sauce was salty because of the large quantity of smoked salmon added - I would suggest the use of poached salmon that will not cover the zucchini aroma.
My husband had the tagliata, but that was really dissapointing. The presentation was beautiful, but he had to add much salt and pepper, as the beef was blunt and tasteless. The rosemary oil where it has fried smelled delicious, but did not add much taste to the meat.
The service was very friendly, but I would suggest fabric tablecloths instead of plastic that did not match the otherwise contemporary decoration and new glassware - you cannot serve water in small taverna wine glasses!

But, I would certainly visit Una Fazza Una Razza again in the future!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian food, served with style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

The reviews are reliable - this is a very good Italian restaurant with imaginative food and very pleasant service. The wine list has some good, affordable Italian wines. We had the mixed meat and cheese starter plate - highly recommended - then risotto, ciabatta, a very good lasagne, a bruschetta and a lovely fresh salad with walnuts and cheese, ice creams to finish - there were four of us, if this sounds greedy....All the dishes were very good - fresh, tasty. At first I thought: maybe I really wanted a break from Greek food. But it's more than that - this would have been excellent wherever it had been.

Do book: it is small and understandably popular, so gets full quickly - we went on a Tuesday night and there wasn't a spare table.

Don't expect typical taverna prices - this could easily be €15-20+ per head and they don't take credit cards - but you are not getting typical taverna food and it is well worth the cost.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Wow, this really is a gem of a place...... it makes a really nice change from Greek food and boy do they no how to cook! It was so good we visited for a second time in the week we were in Plaka.

Its well priced for the quality of food and the owners and waitress were so friendly and welcoming. I would have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this restaurant.

One point to remember is check what days they close as they don't open 7 days a week.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Made us feel so welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Dont miss is, pass the square and head for this little italian which you hardly see during the day, but at night you see all the candles and the people sitting outside. Very nice, good,excellent...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Una faccia Una razza also viewed

Plaka, Chania Prefecture
Plaka, Chania Prefecture
 
Plaka, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Una faccia Una razza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Una faccia Una razza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.