We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere, food a bit basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buck House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Buck House Hotel to your Saves list
Buck House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Buck House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   High Street, Bangor On Dee, Wrexham LL13 0BU, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, food a bit basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

We popped in for a family meal as the kids wanted to see the teapots ( see a previous review ). It was busy - the races had been on - so we were directed to a large restaurant area at the back.
Choice of food was as expected, service was prompt and the portions were large, just a shame it was overcooked and not particularly nice!
Other members of our party had been previously and had no complaints, so I can only assume it was due to the number of people that night.
Needless to say we ate further up the road, the next evening.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lincolnshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

we arrived very late on a friday night and were greeted by a friendly bar man who when we rang to say we were running late asked if we would like a sandwich making up for us when we did arrive,we declined as it would have been way to late to eat.the next morning myself my partner and my 2 year old grandson went for breakfast we were greeted by a very friendly lady who asked us what we wanted to eat,then she checked we were happy with what we had making sure everything was satisfactory which it was.The shower was loose so i reported this and it was rectified by the time we came back that night.On our second morning it was the same we booked into the restaurant that night and the meal was satisfactory .we would stop again as it was value for money .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Booked through hotel.com, where it had a 4.5 overall rating. I wonder if I stayed in the same place! I arrived late, driving from Kent and being stuck on the M 25, and asked if a meal was available. I was told that service stopped at 9pm. When I asked if there was anywhere else to eat in the village a table was suddenly found! The door leading to the hotel rooms was kept locked, for insurance reasons, meaning you have to access the stairs via either the door from the car park or through the bar. Either way there is a very narrow corridor to navigate. Lights come on automatically, but unfortunately a little late, a little dangerous when coming down stairs.
I was in a room with a view over the very pretty church. The church clock striking was lovely, to begin with. Unfortunately it continued through the night, on every hour and quarter hour. With the window open it was disturbingly loud and I’m not a light sleeper. The room was very small and the bathroom even smaller. The towel rail was broken and there was only 1 loo roll. The shower is electric. It took ages to come warm and the temperature varied depending on whether other people were running water. The room was quite dated and although clean wasn’t very inviting, the door had to be really shoved to open. On Saturday night the noise from downstairs was unacceptably loud.
The bed was comfortable enough.
The Menu was acceptable. Breakfast was no more than average. One day came with black pudding and mushrooms, another day without. Unexpectedly it came with beautifully poached eggs! Yes, in one bar there are very, very many teapots! The decor is very dated; the ceiling in the main restaurant should be a listed version of 1970’s kitch!
Whether linked to the food or not I was quite ill one night.
After the rather unfriendly welcome on the Friday night the staff were friendly and chatty.
I need somewhere to stay while visting my Father, who is now in a local nursing home. This is always a stressful time and I want somewhere where I can relax for a few nights. Buck House wasn’t the place for me.
I feel that £60 a night was rather a lot compared to other hotels I’ve stayed at when dad was in another home.
I’m afraid Buck House will not be getting my repeat custom.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Unique....
Teapots galore.
( hung from the ceiling and in cabinets )
1200,
only one the same.( spot the one ),
We turned up very early.
All the staff were so welcoming
.It was one of the busiest days of the Bangor racing year.
Room was average,
Breakfast was lovely.
especially the sausages.
(The hardest place l have had to rate.)
Facilities 6/10
Staff; 10/10
Location; lovely.

Room Tip: l am sure if you avoid race days, you will have an even nicer experiance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buck House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buck House Hotel

Address: High Street, Bangor On Dee, Wrexham LL13 0BU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Wrexham County > Wrexham > Bangor On Dee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bangor On Dee
Hotel Class:3 star — Buck House Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Buck House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buck House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.