We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa day at Daresbury Park Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Daresbury Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Daresbury Park Hotel to your Saves list
Daresbury Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chester Road, Daresbury WA4 4BB, England (Formerly De Vere Daresbury Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Daresbury
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Spa day at Daresbury Park Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Visited for my good lady treating me to a spa day. How did it go?
1. Our booked, 2 at a time massage became 1 at a time, due to staff shortages.
2. The changing rooms were a bit too warm. Similar I would imagine to the Serengeti.
3. The showers in the gents were very tired, rusty and unclean. Somebody's used razor was left in the cubicle I used.
4. The pool was so hot, it was like swimming in a hot bath.
5. The spa pool wasn't working.
6. The 'fun shower' only had cold, I mean ice cold water. The button for hot was broken. It was all mouldy too,
7. The steam room should come with a health warning, it was seriously too hot.
8. The massage (neck, shoulders and back) that we both had should have been 25 mins each. My girlfriend got 19 minutes and me 11!
We have complained, and I hopefully await a refund,

Fortunately we are the type to be able to laugh at it, but we will not be going back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    427
    433
    335
    505
See reviews for
268
704
56
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Upon arrival, we waited for a little while at reception before being attended too. However when a member of staff finally arrived we were very swiftly checked in and directed to our room.
We had a brilliant nights sleep, the bed was very comfortable and hotel peaceful however dust had gathered in various places within the room and the bath did not appear to have been cleaned and let the stay down somewhat.
Good stay though, all in all!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stopped here for the second time ,room was excellent very clean and well fitted we had a standard double very comfortable ,breakfast was excellent and well stocked, staff were very good quick and friendly ,we stay here when we visit Cheshire oaks designer outlet 15 minutes down the road well worth a visit.on talking to 2girls that had stopped in a twin room were saying it was dirty and scruffy this is probably a room they let out for tradesmen during the week this is the second time we heard this so beware!

Room Tip: Request a standard double room 2 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorks
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed here on the 29th may it was our 42 wedding anniversary our daughters bought this trip for us on KGB deals
On arrival we were give a room after reading some of the reviews we were a little wary well the room was nice clean and looked like it had been updated but on entering we heard a sound like a motor trying to get going coming from the bathroom ,when my husband went to look opened the door and it was flooded .
We went back to reception and given another room no problem receptionist said well the second room was disgusting it was shabby smelt damp and wanted a complete revamp ,the door on the TV cabinet was just about hanging on and was quite dangerous in our opinion.
We decided that we would have afternoon tea then have our spa treatment evening diner then get in the car and go home even though it was a 2 hour trip.
When we went to the java lounge to have afternoon tea the girl there (Stacey) was brilliant got us a lovely tea I asked for ham sandwich told ham was not ready (hotel and no ham got to be a joke) we told Stacy of our plans and she sorted us out with another room which went above and beyond we thought
The third room turned out to be in the same order as room 1 but smaller think it was for a single guest but did have a double bed so we decided we would stay
Went to the restaurant for evening meal and the only choose for meat was ham suprice suprice or curry but have to say overall meal was good but the girl who seated you was great very attentive and very professial
I have to stay I don't think I would stay at this hotel again but the staff were excellent and they hold the hotel together

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Once owned by De Vere and now owned by a different hotel group. Sadly not what I was expecting. room very tired, Mrs care has left and Mr. Passion has retired. I may joke but passion and care has completely disappeared. This used to be a fantastic classy 4* star hotel. Now it is a coach travel stop with poor service, lack of quality food and as for breakfast, well 10 people in for breakfast and chef has catered for 60 including fried eggs that were hard and over done, poor, very poor and very disappointed. Having spent 30 years in this hospitality industry really disappointed on what I found.

Room Tip: Sorry I can not think of why!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Daresbury hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Used a groupon voucher to stay and wouldnt pay the full price.
Spa facillities were good but that was about it.
Food was basic and no choice at all which again wasnt worth the full price it should of been.
Had an issue with room key card not letting me in but reception sorted it straight away

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Ample parking spaces, lovely rooms, with power showers and comfy bed.
Food was great for breakfast and evening meal. Spa was lovely too.

Overall give it 8/10. Great stop over if you are visiting Chester or the big citiies of the North. I will certainly be coming back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Daresbury Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daresbury Park Hotel

Address: Chester Road, Daresbury WA4 4BB, England (Formerly De Vere Daresbury Park)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Daresbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Daresbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Daresbury Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Daresbury Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Daresbury Park Hotel Daresbury
De Vere Daresbury Park Warrington
Daresbury Park Hotel Cheshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daresbury Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.