We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired hotel-no longer a DeVere!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Daresbury Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Daresbury Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Daresbury Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chester Road, Daresbury WA4 4BB, England (Formerly De Vere Daresbury Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Daresbury
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Tired hotel-no longer a DeVere!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I have stayed at the Daresbury Park four times now and just experienced our first stay now the hotel is no longer part of the DeVere group. I can only describe it as tired.....all our bathrooms were shabby with dirty grout, mouldy silicone and yellow staining in the bath. There was broken glass in the hallway doors, stains on the carpets. The whole place needs a revamp.
We stayed on a groupon offer which was fabulous value for money. The afternoon tea was great with really lovely scones and selection of cakes. The house wine was drinkable. The evening meal was a carvery, nice honest food but could have done with being a lot hotter. Similarly with breakfast, nice food but a bit cold. We also had access to the spa facilities. Unfortunately the hotel had not left any towels, robes or slippers in our rooms so we had to visit the leisure club and wait around for 15 minutes while they provided eight of us with a robe and towel. No slippers! The pool was clean and quiet which was nice but not very warm. The hot tub was warmer but made the pool feel even colder when you came out!
Overall our experience was great value for money but the hotel does need a facelift.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    301
    321
    253
    343
See reviews for
211
495
47
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
timnhien
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel was not what I expected. The staff was friendly, but overall the hotel was in poor shape. It is definitely showing age. The room itself had a small tube TV, a lumpy bed, and worst, mold in the grout and on the ceiling in the toilet. Overall, would not stay here again. I have heard that it used to be very nice, but it is not any longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Daresbury hotels

St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I booked 7 rooms for 13 members of my family from all across the country to come and celebrate a 60th wedding anniversary and after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor, saying that I was concerned was an understatement!

Having now been to the hotel at the weekend and am able to provide my own views, I would like to assume that these other guests leaving negative reviews would not be happy having lunch at Buckingham Palace with the Queen providing waitress service! And most of you seem to have paid £69 for dinner, bed, breakfast, a bottle of wine and use of the spa facilities! We all agreed that we would easily have paid at least double and have done so at some other less than satisfactory hotels, for the excellent hotel and service we received.

Anyway... we absolutely loved it! My whole family had an absolute ball. Right through from an easy straightforward check-in, to a lovely clean room with a huge comfy bed, carvery style 3 course dinner with plenty of choice and all was excellent. The chef even went off and prepared a meal especially for my vegetarian brother. The waitress on the evening - Corrin (sorry about the spelling?!) was fantastic and could not have done enough for us. Breakfast was lovely - we went down at about 10:15 so it was nice and quiet and the food was all fresh and lovely and staff were available for anything we needed.

A couple of the party used the pool, jacuzzi and gym and were pleased with the facilities.

The hotel is very modern looking and not 'tired' as other guests seem to have stated. All staff were chatty, friendly and helpful and we have no complaints whatsoever. Already looking at taking another trip.

Our rooms were 111 and 201-207 excluding 205.

Thank you to the manager and the rest of the hotel.

Room Tip: Our rooms were 111 and 201-207 excluding 205 and all were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The staff were young and inexperienced. The first bedroom had scuffs on the wall, writing on the walls, lots of cobwebs all over the room and was gerneraslly very dirty. The second room, the bedding had wholes in it and was too hot. The third room the door was very stiff and needed a lot of force to open it. It was cleaner than the previous rooms. On the first morning the bacon was greasy and hardfly cooked, on the second day the bacon was better, but the staff were busy talking to each other rather than working.

Room Tip: I think the rooms nearest the leisure centre might be better serviced than other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank L, General Manager at Daresbury Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Please accept my sincere apologies for the short comings that you encountered.
I will of course speak directly to the food & beverage teams as well as the housekeeping team.

The issues you have raised will be addressed immediately.

Thank you for bringing them to my attention.

Frank Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had thirteen of our closest family to celebrate 60 years of marriage of our mum and dad and boy did all of the staff do their upmost to make sure we had a ball... Thank u.. Food drinks and accomadation first class thanks again. Mr mrs bell...
News
Help Us
Contact
Agencies
YCST History
Home > The Lord's Larder Food Bank
The Lord's Larder Food Bank



The Lord’s Larder Food Bank is a local ‘bank’ of non-perishable food operated by volunteers from churches in and around Yeovil.

It began in a small way in 1991 when a representative of Yeovil Citizens’ Advice Bureau spoke about the need for emergency food to members of one of the churches in Yeovil. It is now supplied by over 45 local churches, 25 schools and several community groups.

Last year in 2012, over 42,000 items of food were given out via 60 different agencies to help 1986 adults and 1116 children.


How the Larder Works

Food and money are donated throughout the year by local churches, businesses, schools and other charities.
Volunteers sort, & store all donations of food in a purpose built larder.
Requests for food are made by phone through recognized agencies, who then collect parcels to hand on to their clients.
Emergency food parcels are made up by the volunteers, according to need.
(Please note: We do not supply food to individuals on direct request to the Lord’s Larder Food Bank, only via an agency)




Printable Version
This website is powered by Church Edit

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank L, General Manager at Daresbury Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs Bell

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with the hotel.
It is always nice to receive such comments and I was delighted to read that all your family enjoyed the hotel through out.

I do hope you will be able to visit us again very soon.

Frank Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, Lancashire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

After reading all the mixed reviews on here for this hotel we were some what nervous about our stay!

Me and my friend booked a wowcher deal which included, afternoon tea, bottle of wine, dinner, bed & breakfast and use of pool & steam room! Too good to be true for £69.00 we thought, we booked it anyway.

We opted for a Sunday night stay. Check in was quiet. reception staff was extremely helpful when it came to advising us on all our wowcher offers, he made sure we were not going to miss out on anything.

Our room was clean, spacious, tele worked! Bathroom needed a little TLC.

Afternoon tea was a pleasant surprise, selection of sandwiches, scones, jam/cream & and a slab of cake of our choice plus tea or coffee

Spent 2 hours in the small but clean and cosy pool, steam room & jacuzzi.

Dinner options we knew the score before getting there so didn't expect Jamie Oliver in the Kitchen! Starters, buffet cold meat salad or soup. The main was carvery, meats included were beef, pork and turkey. The deserts were again help yourself, these included, cheesecake, carrot cake, gateaux with a big jug of pouring cream!

We enjoyed our free bottle of wine with our meal !! And slept really well in our room!!

Breakfast was again great. Fresh fruit (not tinned) fruit juices, tea, coffee. The tea & coffee wasn't nice however?? Cooked breakfast was lovely and the entertainment when the toaster set on fire was amazing. The man in charge of the restaurant was so cool and calm when he was dampening the flames in the toaster, he had a great sense of humour.

We found the staff at the Daresbury Park Hotel to be extremely helpful & polite, from reception, cafe, leisure to bar restaurant & cleaners!!


Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank L, General Manager at Daresbury Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It was good to read that you got good value for money including the free entertainment !

On a serious note the hotel spends alot of it's time on training through out including fire training and I was delighted that the manager in charge remained in control and dealt with the situation correctly and professionally.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again real soon.

Frank Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

I was really worried before we arrived having read reports on here. Yes it was a little dirty. Cobwebs in my room. The bedding and towels were clean. The food was satisfying and the staff friendly. Remember you get what you pay for!! Close enough to Chester and Liverpool. So you would need to venture out.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank L, General Manager at Daresbury Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and I was happy to read that over all you enjoyed your stay.

I will review the issues you had with the team and corrective action will take place to avoid future recurrence.

Frank Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Daresbury Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daresbury Park Hotel

Address: Chester Road, Daresbury WA4 4BB, England (Formerly De Vere Daresbury Park)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Daresbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Daresbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Daresbury Park Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Daresbury Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Daresbury Park Hotel Daresbury
De Vere Daresbury Park Warrington
Daresbury Park Hotel Cheshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daresbury Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.