We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome; the only positive about this pub with rooms.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Goat Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanfair Caereinion
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Goat Hotel
Save
You added The Goat Hotel to your Saves list
High Street | Nr Welshpool, Llanfair Caereinion SY21 0QS, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A warm welcome; the only positive about this pub with rooms.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed at this pub for 2 nights in April 2013 with 3 colleagues. The staff were very pleasant and friendly, 10/10, but the accommodation was dirty and poorly maintained. So poor, that my 3 colleagues would not stay for the second night and checked themselves into another hotel.

As you'll see from the pictures I've uploaded along with this review, a lot of the issues could be easily resolved.

The wall directly behind the bed above the pillows was stained a yellowy/brown colour from where people heads had been resting, the wallpaper was peeling in a number of places, the light pull-cord was probably once white but had turned a nasty shade of brown, the carpet had all kinds of stains and filth on it, and the lightshades were thick with dust like I've never seen.

If you match the standard of the rooms with your high standard of hospitality I'm sure you'll be on to a winner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alysonargument, Owner at The Goat Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
We are very sorry to read that you were disappointed with your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments and agree that room 5 is in need of redecoration and you will have noticed that we have started this process as the room has new furniture, a new flat screen T.V. and a new bathroom adjoining. The remainder of the redecoration had been planned but we were not able to complete it before your stay. Following your comments we will not use this room again until the redecoration is completed. We thank you for your comments on the hospitality offered by our staff and assure you that we do take note of all reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    14
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
10
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice central location in the village, real fire friendly staff and real ales.
We had food one evening and it was nicely cooked and reasonable value.
We had the Queen Anne suite which was a bigger room with en-suite and bags of character. However, if you plan on sleeping before the bar closes, then avoid this room - it is immediately above the bar and very noisy. Not worth paying the extra for this room unless you are deaf !

Room Tip: Avoid the Queen Anne suite unless you are prepared to stay up drinking till the bar closes - just to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Goat is a cozy local pub, restaurant, hotel that always has a frienly atmosphere. I have spent many nights enjoying to local company sitting in front of the lovely fireplace. Great food and drink!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Wales
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

As my local I've been using the Goat for years and thought I should write a review. Living in the area I've never stayed there myself but friends who have always seem happy especially with the welcome.
As a pub the beer quality is excellent (in the Good Beer Guide) and the restaurant provides simple but very good food - I can highly recommend the antipaso starter, the home made pies and the cheese board, but having said that I've enjoyed almost everything I've had.
The main bar has very comfortable leather sofas a real fire and great atmosphere, I can't think of may better places to nurse a pint with friends on a winters Sunday afternoon

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanbedr, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Making our way west to Llanbedr we were beaten by the snow. Fortunately we came across The Goat. After initially being told they were fully booked we setup to sleep in the car. Then after about half an hour we had a tap on the window inviting us in as a room had been specially made available.
A great pub, great welcome from everyone. Will definitely call again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Greeted by very friendly and helpful young staff who were serving behind the bar. This is an old and subsequently quirky hotel with a good atmosphere. A popular restaurant as well as people having drinks at the bar. The premises is very clean. However it is not so good as a place to stay as the fixtures, fittings, beds and pillows are poor. The floors are uneven and everything shakes and rattles. There was a lot of noise until around midnight. Again breakfast was average.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We paid £60 for B&B which was a bit overpriced for the room. It needs a coat of paint. Some of the wallpaper pealing off the walls. Having said that the hosts were very welcoming and friendly. In a quiet location. An update to the room we stayed in and this would be a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Goat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goat Hotel

Address: High Street | Nr Welshpool, Llanfair Caereinion SY21 0QS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanfair Caereinion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llanfair Caereinion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pub/Inn (Licensed, Offering Real Ales) in village location. With car parking. Casual dress for meals. Vegetarians, Children, Special Diets catered for. Eating outside is possible. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Goat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.