We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic dive centre and accommodation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agulhas House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Umkomaas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agulhas House
30 Barrow Road, Umkomaas 4170, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Umkomaas B&B and Inns
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic dive centre and accommodation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We took a PADI open water dive course with Agulhas House and would recommend both the hotel and dive centre to everyone! The staff treated us like family and made us feel at home. The rooms, facilities, and grounds were always spotless.The staff were always friendly, accommodating, and helpful! Our PADI instructor (Vegard) and DMT (Alex) were both very knowledgeable, informative, and made us feel comfortable with the new sport. I was very nervous at the start and almost quit but with their reassuring assistance continued and was totally glad I finished the course! During the open water dives they were always looking out for us while showing us the amazing marine life Aliwal Shoal has to offer! We really appreciated the fresh baked muffins for those early mornings, the hot chocolate and sandwiches during the open water dives, and the hardy breakfasts after the dives!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
10
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Agulhas house and dive centre is a fantastic spot to stay while diving aliwal. The rooms are comfy and large - and beautiful wooden floors and windows make it feel more homely and less sterile than many dive places - while great staff and service ensure everything is clean and dry. The diving is very relaxed - no 50bar, 50min stuff - rather than rushing everything it was relaxed but efficient. The house a short drive to the dive launch site and every effort is made to get you and your gear to and from the boat as comfortably as possible. you are driven right onto the beach so no carrying dive gear around at all - mostly its put on the boat at the house. Light breakfast is provided before hand and the brunch after diving is just awesome. WOW. Tea and coffee in the rooms and available in the lounge as well as the ability to bring your own drinks and have braais around the lovely pools makes for an all round amazing place to spend a weekend or more. Organising rugby tickets for the weekend game was also a really nice touch.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Took a 4 day holiday to stay & dive Aliwal Shoals, and would definitely recommend this as the best accommodation and dive centre in the area (visited the other centres out of curiosity and took local diver feedback). Agulhas House is a great place to stay, rooms are top notch, house grounds are secluded, comfortable and very stylish. Works well as a dive centre, and as a great place to stay. You dont get a seaview, but this is easily outweighed by the quality of everything (incl breakfast), ambiance, proximity to village amenities and the welcome. Highly impressed by the experience of the rib drivers (very important here) and dive guides (I have done over 2000 dives). You will not have as good a dive or stay if you go elsewhere, Mikey is a great character and his team cannot do enough for you.

Room Tip: Pool side with Terrace was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FR
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Staying at Agulhas House was lovely! The rooms are very comfortable, clean and fully equipped: coffee and tea, safe, hairdryer and aircon. The beds are comfortable which is very good after the "sporty" dives. I had a very nice bedroom by the pool, thank you Mickey!
Mickey and his whole team are always around to answer questions and pamper you! A nice tea and a freshly baked muffin just before the first dive, hmmm... After the dives, Mickey would prepare yummy continental or English breakfast. We really wanted to try the famous braai and had the opportunity to share it with the whole team and other guests: we felt at home! It was so good to stay around the pool area, chatting, reading or checking each others' pictures.
As far as diving is concerned, five stars are also well deserved! Everything is prepared by the diving team: gathering all your equipment, preparing the cylinders, taking you very safely to the diving spots, washing everything when we were back...
I really look forward to going back there!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

A warm, freindly & totally professional establishment. No request too big or too demanding - every need from food, laundry, relaxing & especially diving was met with the utmost professionalism & with a big smile by all. Absolutely fabulous everything - thank you & hope to be there again soon!

Room Tip: Family rooms are available. Only a few have airconditioning otherwise there are ceiling fans in all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhb
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

we had a warm friendly experience at Agulhas house. We are a family of 5, with small children and were accommodated for our needs. we have been to Agulhas house a few times and they have always been very hospitable. Breakfast was freshly made to our request and the host was prepared to cater for all our dietary requirments. overall the experience at AGulhas house was pleasant and we'll definitely return for more of this relaxed and friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herentals, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Great and relaxing guest house in Umkomaas. We were there to dive Aliwal shoal. Nice rooms, great breakfast, good dive masters,,,,, the place to go to!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Agulhas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agulhas House

Address: 30 Barrow Road, Umkomaas 4170, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umkomaas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Umkomaas
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set back from the road in tranquil grounds the renovated building offers 10 en-suite rooms and 2 en-suite family rooms, all finished to a high quality standard All rooms have their own entrance from the main entrance hallway, 7 of which have private patio areas. All rooms have fridges, TV (M-Net), and tea/coffee making. The property is security fenced, has an automated gate with secure parking and each room has an independent alarm system. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agulhas House Umkomaas, Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agulhas House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Agulhas House to your Saves list