We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Springwood Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Springwood Cottages
Save
You added Springwood Cottages to your Saves list
1018 Blue Heron Ridge Road | PO Box #59, Arden, Ontario K0H-1B0 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
“What an amazing time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

First off, I have to say Thank you to Cezar and Jola for the amazing time we had! I went up with 3 other adults in mid December and had the time of our lives. This place is not only beautiful but the cottages are fantastic and very clean i must add!!
As first timers getting out in the "sticks" we were a little new at all the things we wanted to try and do, upon arriving we were welcomed by Jola who showed us to our cottage, she told us about what activities were available and pointed out to us some of the signs around the cottage and the rules of of the resort, she then invited us to the big bon fire that night and said if we need anything else they were just a few steps away and she left us to settle in.
Within an hour we were all ready to go explore and decided we want to do a snowmobile tour. We were all given a driving and safety course and then off we went, The sites were beautiful the trails were smooth and we got some great pictures. after arriving back we cooked a great dinner then headed down to the fire ending our night in the perfect way.
The next day we decided we were gonna try even more and went ice fishing and snow shoeing I must say Thank you to Cezar for really showing us the ropes in these areas and for me catching MY FIRST FISH EVER!! and for Jola being there at the right moment to take a picture for my bragging rights. (gotta have picture proof as i am told lol)
After a long cold day of fun we got ourselves into the hot tub at our cottage, there is nothing more relaxing then this and it is a must do when you visit!
After a great night of sleep we woke up to see that it had snowed A LOT over the night and as it was our day to leave we were drawing straws at who would go out and clean the van off, BUT to our surprise Cezar and Jola had already done this for us and shovelled a path.
We will never forget the weekend we had and have already booked again for next year! so we can try all the other great activities they have. A huge THANK YOU to the most amazing hosts and resort!! and i will never forget the joy of catching my first fish!!

Room Tip: no matter where you stay on this resort you will enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    9
    1
    7
    1
See reviews for
48
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This place is so relaxing ! Love coming up and going on hikes and ice fishing . The cottages have everything you need to cook so i felt right at home . Cezar is so great , showed us all around the cottage and property and is always available to help you if you need something . Excited to spend some time here in the summer ! Great value very clean.

Room Tip: The main house is awesome for big groups to stay together and it has a hot tub and sauna!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Our experience at Springwood cottages was mixed, with both positive and negative experiences. We visited as part of a group of 8 people and stayed at cottages 2A and 2B during December. Although the scenery and location deserve an A+, the service we received from Cezar and Jola was poor and many events occurred throughout the weekend that led us to leave with a bad taste in our mouth. They said this was the first time they opened the cottages during the winter, so this may be why many of the services they claimed to offer (such as snowshoes, horseback riding etc.) were not available.

For me, usually when I read a review about a cottage or destination I do not care that the service is not good, as I am going for the scenery and nature. However, the thing that really upset my group and myself was that many of the activities that were advertised were not available, which I felt was extremely misleading. We had chosen this location because of the many outdoor activities they provided: snowmobile rentals (which were unavailable from the external company they partner with, and we only had the option of renting from Cezar who did not have enough for a group of 8), snowshoes (only had 4 pairs available and we were the only group staying on the resort for the weekend, so I can't imagine what they would do if all the other cottages were actually filled with people), and horseback riding (not available until January). We had called prior to booking (about 2 weeks before coming) to check what activities were available and were told that all of the above were there for us to enjoy. Very misleading. We ended up renting out the 4 pairs of snowshoes and traded them amongst ourselves throughout our hike, but it would have been nice if the whole group could keep their feet dry and enjoy the experience together!

Pros:
- fairly large living/dining area in cottage
- large flat screen in top cottage with DVD player (small tube TV with no channels in downstairs cottage though)
- clean rooms with bedding provided
- beautiful lake and scenery - perfect for hiking & ice fishing
- nice grounds that are well maintained
- cottages are panelled with wood on the inside and provide for a nice "cottagey" feel
- hot tubs are available (for additional cost)
- 2 dogs on the grounds that are super cute

Cons:
-cedar sauna only for the main cottage and is an extra fee for other cottages to use
-activities that are not available are advertised prior to booking
-we asked what check-out time was and if 5pm would be ok. We were told that it was fine. The next day we get a text from jola at 11:57am saying we have to leave at 12.
-there are "WARNING" signs posted all over the cottages about everything you can't do. Using 2-ply toilet paper, touching the heating, touching the hot tub settings, not adequately washing your dishes, smoking (understandable), not sweeping before leaving, all will either result in a fee of $50, or loss of your damage deposit. There are also manuals to the cottage. In these manuals are all the things you can't do, as well as all the activities that we were unable to enjoy because they were unavailable. I would have enjoyed the manuals ... if they weren't full of activities that weren't available.
- a coat rack was screwed into the wall above a heating vent and burned a hole through my friends expensive coat, singeing his train ticket in his pocket to ash!! When we mentioned this to Cezar, he did not apologize and instead said that he "didn't know someone put a coat rack there", then "that people usually don't hang their coats there" (what else do you use a giant coat rack right beside the door for??), and finally "I guess I should put up another sign" (um, NO - you should unscrew the coat rack from the wall and move it because it is a FIRE HAZARD that can set a wood-paneled cottage into flames!!!)

Overall, it is a nice location but we will not be returning next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is the second time that me and my fiancee have been to Springwood Cottages. The first time we came up we did it last minute on a Travelzoo deal. We called to book on the Thursday for arrival on the Friday and they arranged for everything for us. We did a full group visit this year with a party of 10. Once again Cezar blew us away with his generosity and his personality. We brought up 8 people that had never been there before and each and every one of them said the same thing at the end of the weekend- "Can't wait to come back, and can't believe how amazing the owner is". Would recommend this resort for anyone looking for either a family, romantic or friends getaway. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Arrived Tuesday afternoon and was greeted by the owners Jola and Cesar. Both were extremely friendly and nice. Jola gave us a tour of the Main Cottage (we booked a Regular Cottage but they had ready for us the Main Cottage complete with hot tub at no extra charge - I guess it being the slow season and there was only one other couple on site besides us. Anyways it was a nice treat and much appreciated. Yola had our cottage ready and gave us a brief tour and explained all activities that were available for us to do. She gave us her cell number and encouraged us to text or call her if we needed anything throughout our stay. The cottage was clean and cozy, complete with big screen TV and cable on demand! The scenery at Springwood is indescribable - words don't do it justice. Absolutely beautiful and stunning. We did our own nature hiking and got some fabulous pictures. Some friendly advice - if you don't have a 4x4 or winter tires you will get stuck on the grounds lol!! Cezar had to pull our car out twice from the slightly inclined driveway that leads into the grounds (it didn't help that I had semi bald all season tires and only Front wheel drive - thanks again Cezar!). On our last day we did the ATV trail tour and was the highlight of our stay. Cezar guided us on a 2 hour tour of the most breathtaking and scenic trail ride that I'll remember for years to come. We went on a two hour trail ride and we only got charged for one! Cezar allowed us to stop and take photos as well. Overall, it was a great 2 day mini vacation that was priced reasonably and good value for our dollar. Oh ya, don't be afraid of Yola and Cezar's two dogs, they are super friendly and greeted us every morning at our porch wanting us to play with them :) Thanks again guys and definitely will be back this summer!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

First visit to Springwood and loved the place, lots to do in all seasons and plenty to do to keep the kids busy if you have them. All cottages seem well equipped with everything you should need for your stay and if you think something is missing just ask your host Cezar he will get it sorted for you, he is such a great host always making sure everything is okay and if there is anything he can do. Grounds are nice and spacious with a nice little beach that you can go swimming from or have bonfires at night, in Winter month we were told it acts as an ice rink....perfect. There is a BBQ area with probably a BBQ for every cottage, great place to meet and great around dinner time with a nice glass of wine. We will almost certainly return, a great place for a long weekend or even a week or two with the kids especially if you like to fish. Not sure why it's not pet friendly as Cezar has a couple of dogs that wander the property. I would certainly recommend this resort to anyone, nice little bit of fresh air.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Came here recently in a party of about 20. Cottages were fantastic and clean. The grounds were impressive. Great beach area with a fire pit. The ATV Tour was amazing! Cezar was a great host and very understanding as we got a little carried one night down at the fire pit.
I 100% recommend this site to anyone and everyone... Great Value.

Room Tip: They are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Springwood Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springwood Cottages

Address: 1018 Blue Heron Ridge Road | PO Box #59, Arden, Ontario K0H-1B0 , Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Arden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Arden
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Springwood Cottages Arden, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springwood Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.