We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overcharged!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Springwood Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Springwood Cottages
Save
You added Springwood Cottages to your Saves list
1018 Blue Heron Ridge Road | PO Box #59, Arden, Ontario K0H-1B0 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Overcharged!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

While the cabins were nice we were charged $50 a person for having 3 of our friends that live in the area over for a BBQ, they were there for roughly 1.5hrs!! While it says in the regulations night/day visitors $50 fee we thought this to be a little outrageous. Not to mention we were stalked with "drive-bys" from the staff once they noticed 7 people in the deck (3 o which where there for the BBQ) when the cabin only sleeps 4. We were enjoying a nice Saturday afternoon BBQ that quickly ended when we felt umcomfortable, like we were doing something wrong??? Needless to say we will not be returning to springwood cottages and I recommend if you do bring lots of money if your the social type....
Plenty of other cottages in the area that we will be trying in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springwoodcottages, General Manager at Springwood Cottages, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Judy, we are very sorry you feel this way, in our explanation we would like to point out that you reserved a small two bedroom cottage for up to 4 people for your husband. Your husband was arriving on July 5th very late at night; therefore we kindly left his cottage open for him.
Upon check in the next morning your husband confirmed that there would be 4 people in total staying and using cottage facilities.
In your booking confirmation which we send to you one and half months prior to your husbands’ arrival, we informed you about the allowed amount of people and additional fee for any extra day or night visitors.
When we were bringing the new guests to their cottage, we noticed that there were more than four people staying at the cottage you reserved.
We contacted you directly to inform you about the extra charges that will be added to your account for 3 extra people; you did agree to pay the additional fee.
Our prices, rules and regulations are also posted on our website for everyone to view.
We value our guests very much and we want everyone to have a good and pleasant experience during their holiday at Springwood Cottages Resort.

Warm regards,
Jola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    9
    1
    7
    1
See reviews for
48
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was our 4th visit to Springwood! Cottages are consistently clean and well supplied . Our rental boat was ready & gassed up on arrival. The fishing was excellent. Any and all requests were immediately addressed by our hosts Cezar or Jola. Cezar provided pointers as to where we could maximize our fishing opportunities. Details throughout the premises confirm the pride and joy they exhibit in their facility. It is always welcoming to be treated as guests rather than customers... we'll be back
Ian

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beallsville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have been on many fishing excursions in our lifetime and many have involved going out of the USA and into Canada. We have stayed in places that were down right dirty, owners were greedy and lied about the fishing. Let me tell you about our recent trip. My brother found this paradise on a whim. He was searching the net one evening and came across this place called Springwood Cottages. All I can say is WOW!!! What a place...super clean cottages, great fishing(over 100 Bass & Pike) and very friendly owners. We rented Pontoon Boats that performed magnificently. We are going back next spring. Simply the best!!! Can't wait until June, 2014. Cezar made sure that we were taken care of...gave us a great price and we were very elated with everything. It was just perfect!!!
Chip B, Beallsville, PA, USA

Room Tip: all the rooms are just super.....we stayed on the lake and it was really great!!! Took a tour of ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississauga
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I had to really think about what i wanted to write seeing as i have so many wonderful things to write about Springwood Cottages. I will start with the hard stuff...the wonderful owner Cesar and his power partner Yola. There dedication, endless hours of hard work, and love for their customers has made them a force that is quite remarkable. They both strive to make Springwood the ultimate staycation. There compassion and care towards the customer and their needs is unlimited and unconditional. They really strive to make the stay at Springwood very pleasant and professional, yet comfy, cozy,and heartfelt. The cottages are very immaculate and decorated with earthy warm and cool tones, the surroundings of the resort is so private that you feel you are in another country.... the mood and atmosphere ...peaceful, safe, and relaxing.
On a family aspect...i have four children and two grandchildren... all have at some point have vacationed here at Springwood ...they have only great memories...my son (who Cesar treated as his own) was taught many great outdoors activities by Cesar...one that he treats with much love and repect for is dirt bike riding...he also learned fishing and the outdoor living at its best..all because this owner took the time to spend it with the children there...finding ways to keep all the cottagers children happy. My children cant wait for two more weeks so we can visit Springwwod again....
On a personal level...Springwood is a hidden enchanted resort...it is privately hidden amongst the earths finest escarpment of beauty and private beach area...its timeless pines and cottages are sprawled unevenly yet uniquely ... so each carries its own beauty, charm, and memories within...the clean air and its stunning naturalistic sights are breathtaking...and you can feel the calm peace of this place and the laughter that has come and gone and the romance of lovers and its secret little places where you can escape to read a great book...or listen to music on a hammock while you watch the mighty cross river ...or just simply smile at whoever walks by you...Springwood is enchanted... in its feelings that it leaves with you..forever...like its great landmark ...the lighthouse, as it shines the greatness of Springwood...for all those who are willing and need at great place to really get away and relax and feel like your millions of miles away...you came to the right place...enjoy your stay...we did ...we will...forever Springwood....Thank you Cesar and Yola for making Springwood...SPRINGWOOD EXTRAORDINAIRE....

Room Tip: big familys..quite the huge homes to choose from...top of the hill is very private... if your looki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Look no further, this is exactly the cottage rental you have been looking for!

We chose Springwood for our May long weekend and invited two other couples. We booked cabin 9 which was right on the water. The deck is huge and has stairs going right down to the water with your own private fire pit.

The cottage was very big and considering we had 3 big and tall men plus 3 ladies we never felt like we were stepping on each other to get around. When we arrived the cottage was absolutely spotless. There was a dinner table with extra chairs for us to dine-in and a huge patio set on the deck for outdoor dinning also.

Every night there was a huge beach bonfire which was a great way to meet other renters and make new friends.

The owners were running a business and made it their full-time job to make sure we were all happy. I even bought a brand new fishing rod which was delivered to my cottage with the line already set and bait! I felt like royalty!

Every morning they stocked our firewood so we never found ourselves searching for dead tree limbs.

The owners were such nice, easy going people and made it feel like this was our cottage not theirs. I felt very comfortable and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorold, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have been coming to springwood cottages for 5 yrs for our family and friends yearly summer vacation. We have vacationed at many resorts throughout Ontario in the past, we have never experienced hosts as friendly and accommodating as Cezar &Yola They always go above and beyond to make sure our stay is great. The cottages and the resort are always clean and well kept. I brought 6 other friends up for a weekend in June. They all commented that they had never caught as many fish, on any other lake that they had fished on, in Northern Ontario, and how great the place was.
We recommend this resort to anybody looking for great place to spend their Vacation
Randy&Tammy H

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The cottages were nice...but, that's about it. Once you get there be ready to starting paying. Extra fees for hot tubs, soap, fish fry, etc. Also, in terms of fish all I saw was all the fish Cezar catches on his phone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Springwood Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springwood Cottages

Address: 1018 Blue Heron Ridge Road | PO Box #59, Arden, Ontario K0H-1B0 , Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Arden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Arden
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Springwood Cottages Arden, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springwood Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.