We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Almonte Riverside Inn & Kitchen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Almonte Riverside Inn & Kitchen to your Saves list
Almonte Riverside Inn & Kitchen
81 Queen Street, Almonte, Mississippi Mills, Ontario, Canada (Formerly Almonte Riverside Boutique Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Almonte B&B and Inns
Kanata, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect weekend escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in December 2013 and didn't want to leave! The Judge's Chambers were lovely. Beautiful design, lovely view, great privacy. No noise from other rooms or the corridor. Extremely comfortable bed. Delicious breakfast, great hospitality. Perfect location for meandering to the shops in Almonte. Can't wait to return!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
23
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed in Almonte for a wedding in September 2013.

The place was great, the service was fantastic and the food was even better. Will be back.

Though its an older building, many of the finishes have been upgraded, including the washrooms.

Try the poached pear pancakes. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had a great stay at the Riverside Inn last week. We had some great weather and spent a couple of days, shopping in town, hanging out on the dock and relaxing. We wanted to getaway and recharge our batteries and got to do just that. A couple of gems in town are Heirloom Cafe and the Bistro at the Inn itself! We'll be back the next time we need to get out of the city. Breakfast that was included was also quite good, loved the coffee service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

An excellent inn. Everything was perfect: from the bath towels, 100% cotton linens to the spacious well appointed room. Breakfast was included and it was excellent. Room service for morning tea and coffee was a nice touch. Lovely to sit by the river on the small dock or on the lawn. There is swimming but the water wasn't too inviting. LGBT friendly. Would definitely stay again. Perfect for a short getaway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

After consuming a few too many delicious drinks, we asked the owner Rob if he had an extra room at the inn and we managed to luck out. The service we got at the last minute was exceptional with Rob going out of his way to pick us up some necessities and prepping the room quickly.

We also had a fantastic dinner out on the patio, and were well looked after by the rest of the staff.

We will come back to Almonte again...with at least a little more planning...and we will definitely stay at the Almonte Riverside Inn & Kitchen.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almonte
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Almonte is growing small town just west of Ottawa. The Almonte Riverside Inn and Kitchen is a newly renovated stone house situated alongside the Mississippi River. It is great place to stay if you are looking to relocating to Almonte. Although we live in Almonte my wife and I decided to celebrate our wedding anniversary by having a meal and staying at the Inn. What a wonderful experience, The dinner was absolutely superb (we had eaten there before and keep going back) and the room we had was very comfortable with a very modern ensuite bathroom. The room had a door to a deck so that one could sit outside, watch the ducks and geese and listen to the river running by. We had a wonderful stay and highly recommend the establishment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile


My husband & I were very eager for our experience at the Riverside Inn & kitchen after reading other people's reviews. We are used to very upscale hotels but the reviews on this Inn really peaked my interest. We stayed in the Judges Chambers which is quaint and by no means equipped with everything we are used to having in hotel accommodations but we still really enjoyed it as well as the balcony we had which had a beautiful view of the River. Oh and the beds are soooo comfortable!
So our first night we had dinner in their dining room and it is a really neat concept. It looks like a home country style kitchen with a very small but but elegant dining area attached. Our server for dinner was great. Chef Trisha was adorable and it was neat to watch her working in the kitchen. The menu and food are Excellent, presentation of food is wonderful.
The Saturday night we had reviewed the Heirloom restaurant which had great reviews. My husband and I didn't fancy it, service was bad, food was bad and the menu doesn't offer much. BUT the Barley Mow Pub was great, right on the water and surprisingly they have a new menu, went their for lunch and the food was really good!
On the Saturday night of our stay my husband & I were exhausted from walking around town most of the day. It just so happened that just before 10am a party started taking place on the main floor. I'm not sure how many people were there but they may as well have been in our room with us. It was noisy and hard to sleep. When I talked to the owner about it he said he had moved the party into the dining area. He truly cared about the noise inconveniencing us, and asked us what he could do to make it up to us. Just the offer made it better and I understood this was not a regular occurrence at his Inn, it was a last minute on account of another couple staying there.
Also the breakfast is awesome!
Rob is the owner and he and all of his staff were eager to accommodate all of our needs during our stay.
I look forward to returning and enjoying all that this Inn and the town of Almonte has to offer.
P.S~ if you like Antique stores this town has a lot!
Janet & Barry Embrun, ON

Sent from my iPad

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Almonte Riverside Inn & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almonte Riverside Inn & Kitchen

Address: 81 Queen Street, Almonte, Mississippi Mills, Ontario, Canada (Formerly Almonte Riverside Boutique Inn)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Mississippi Mills > Almonte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Almonte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our boutique Inn, the Almonte Riverside Inn & Kitchen, a landmark heritage estate in the heart of Almonte. We are located on the Mississippi River at the bridge on Queen St. The property is beautifully landscaped and offers the perfect setting to take in the area. Getting here is a breeze as we are about 15 minute west of Scotiabank Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Almonte Riverside Inn & Kitchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almonte Riverside Inn & Kitchen Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Almonte Riverside Inn & Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.