We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thanksgiving Buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JR's Family Restaurant

JR's Family Restaurant
385 Ottawa Street, Almonte, Ontario, Canada
613-256-2031
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 24 Restaurants in Almonte
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Tel 613 256 2031
ottawa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Thanksgiving Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Our family hasn't been to JR's for quite a while. Despite the recent reviews, we decided to return on Thanksgiving Sunday. We were pleasantly surprised! The buffet was fine, the place was clean, the waitress was attentive and the turkey and trimmings were absolutely delicious. We are planning to have our Christmas dinner at JR's.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    3
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, ON
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Change of management = changed review”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Since my 2011 review, I have changed my view. The restaurant now seems to be operated by friendly but inexperienced people. The food was not very good, no matter what we tried, and we had to wait a long time for it. The remark about oily french fries was right. It is too bad that this place went downhill so abruptly and thoroughly. Maybe with time and an experienced chef, things will improve.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“You Gotta Not Eat Here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Lunch was dismal. Cheeseburger tasted old and dried out. Soft, oily fries. Chicken in the chicken caesar wrap was gnarly. Not very clean tables and carpet. Almost empty too. We had watched the "You Gotta Eat Here" episode on Food Network and thought this restaurant would be much, much better. Would definitely not go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Changed Hands - A Changed JR's”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

In a short 3 months, JR's "Sunday Brunch Buffet" has gone from great to pathetic. Over the years, we have enjoyed the brunch and would recommend it as the place to go. After this past Sunday however, (our first visit since mid-May) I would tend to discourage anyone from going there. The selection of items from salads through to desserts is about one half of what was available previously.
The scrambled eggs, fried potatoes, bacon, sausage, and the single selection meat choice were cold and not freshly prepared. Most, if not all of the desserts, appeared to be from commercial sources (the previous owner's desserts had usually been freshly made on site). Also, no cheese available for the apple pie, a Canadian standard, nor toppings or other enhancement for the selection of puddings and jellies as there were none. Further, the special desserts such as trifle or hot apple crisp, were missing.
We visit several different restaurants in Smiths Falls, Perth, Carleton Place and Almonte nearly every Sunday and up until yesterday JR's, for us, was ranked # one out of the 10 or so we have been to. Yesterday saw it plummet to the bottom and we likely won't be back.
The only saving grace in the whole experience was our waitress, Moira, who kept it from being a complete disaster. The fact that the restaurant, on our arrival, was not busy should have been an indication that the status had changed. It's unfortunate that the excellent reputation historically attached to JR's own name will be lost.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
370 reviews 370 reviews
353 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“you gotta eat here? NOT”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

after recent showing on the tv show "You gotta eat here" I decided to try it for lunch. not impressed.
you roll onto the traingle parking lot..try figure what door to use lol..once inside I stood an eternity waiting to get seated..it was empty at lunch..was seated in the lower server area..man the carpet was filthy, the floor had not been vacummed, there werre crumbs on many seats and tables..the servers more interested in that than serving me. finally I got served ...ordered a turkey sandwich..it was GOOD.at lweast the cooks seem to knwo what they are doing. no water refill..service sorry sucked. won't be back

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JR's Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to JR's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JR's Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.