We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Of The Year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llangattock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Save
You added The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club to your Saves list
Llangattock, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1PH, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangattock
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wedding Of The Year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Me and my now wife booked the Rectory for our wedding venue, and could not have been happier. The overall cost of the wedding was far cheaper than other venues in the area, however the quality of service and food that we received far out done any of its rivals. From the out set the team were extremley flewable and catered for our specific needs. The settings around the hotel contributed to some wonderful photos and the rooms all recently furnished were to all our guests tatse.
We had a Marquee for the reception which was conected to the front of the building with added to the grandure of the setting once people arrive.
The service was carried out in a special room upstairs and our guests had full run of the venue and surrounding areas. The food quality was fantastic and this was commented on by every single guest. For the food that we had against the price that we paid the Rectory simply blew all it's rivals (and our guests) away.
The team provided us with a specific wedding organiser for the day (which we were not expecting) and John simply ensured that our day was everything that we wanted. Simply no job was too small for the team.
The real quality in the team was seen prior to the wedding when the grounds and Marquee were flooded the day before the wedding. Shaun (owner) and his team quickly swung into action with no expense or workforce spared. Sofia(wedding planner) rearranged all the deliveries due to dress the venue and took everything on herself. Expecting the worst we had a call at 10pm the same evening to say that everything was as we wanted it.
This proved the quality of everyone at the Rectory and the simply burning desire to make sure that everything was perfect for our big day.
I have already recommended the Old Rectory Hotel to many friends and family and to use the comments of many of our guests - 'The best wedding they had ever been to'.

Thankyou Shaun / Sophie and Team

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    43
    17
    7
    7
See reviews for
33
105
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

Unfortunately only spent one night at this wonderful spot & wished we could have stayed longer. Wonderful location & beatiful building. Rooms were well decorated & comfortable with modern bathrooms. Staff were very accomodating & friendly & we had wonderful meals at dinner at breakfast. Don't hesitate to book...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

We stayed as part of a celebration having found the hotel whilst travelling on the canal in June. Standard room had nice touches such as refrigerated bottled water and magnifying mirror available. It was fairly peaceful in spite of a wedding going on in another area although the smokers tended to congregate outside the windows which had to, therefore, be closed. The only disappointment was the evening meal which was not of the standard which the rest of the hotel definitely aspires to. The staff were very efficient and pleasant and, although the hotel was busy, they were able to give excellent atention.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

This is a pretty spectacular old building with well kept grounds in the quaint village of Llangattock. We arrived just as a wedding party was about to go up to the function room. Despite all this going on the staff were superb. There was nowhere to park our car but, within minutes, the manager had found a space right nect to our room. Although the room was small, it had everything we needed for a night's stay. We asked if we could eat there that evening and nothing was too much trouble at the bar (with a huge selection of drinks and decent real ales) and in the restaurant (where the food was excellent - steak cooked exactly as asked for my wife and a wonderful rack of lamb, crisoy outside and pink and succulaent inside, for me and the view across the valley to the mountains was a bonus). Breakfast was cooked to order and exactly how it should be. Every member of staff was cheerful, welcoming and helpful and definitely not just "going through the motions". We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemyock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

We telephoned the hotel 2 days before to book up a deluxe room but they offered us £20 off a suite which we accepted. The Hotel is on the outskirts of Crickhowell a stones throw away from the Monmouthshire & Brecon canal and on the edge of the Brecon Beacons National Park. Its location is very quite. I guess they only had about half a dozen rooms occupied on the one night we stayed. There is attached a 9 hole golf course, haven't got a clue how to play the game, so gave that a miss. The suite room was of good size with a dressing room and a large bathroom with walk in shower and jacuzzi bath. The water pressure did not seem that great so it was a slow shower! Partial Sky TV in the room with hot drink facility and biscuits. Our room, 14 was on the 2nd floor, there is no lift so that could be a problem to some who find it difficult to carry luggage up stairs.
The well stocked bar is adjacent to the restaurant and has several local beers on offer.
The restaurant has a good menu with several specials available at reasonable prices. There is also a bar menu available at very good prices (I suppose £7 for an average meal). The food served in the bar was of excellant quality and it was served in good time. There is a large flat screen TV in the bar useful as it was world cup final evening. Breakfast was inclusive and served in the bar area.
The staff were very attentive with good attention to detail and friendly.
Would absolutely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

I stayed with my Husband we had a suite which was wonderful kingsize sleigh bed which was very comfortable large jacuzzi bath for two and walk in shower, heaven.
The staff were all great very welcoming warm and friendly, nothing was to much trouble,very knowlegable about the local area and places of intrest.We decided to stay an extra night but the room was booked so they moved our belongings to another for us. the food in the hotel was excellent all fresh and locally sourced and amazing valaue, a choice of al a carte, early bird, and bar meals we didn't eat any where else. the hotel has recently been refurbished everything was prisitne and spotless. We will definitly be going back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

My daughter and I had a wonderful stay at this hotel, first impressions are of a lovely old building full of history and charm, the reception and bar areas are just how they should be for a building of this age, full of old world charm with a few modern twists. On arrival we were welcomed by a very lovely young lady who turned out to be the daughter of the owner, she personally introduced herself and as well as being extremely professional, had a great friendly manner - thank you for your hospitality Sophie, this also extends to your family.

We were informed that the hotel had recently gone through extensive refurbishment and were offered a newly decorated twin room, this was truly beautiful with 2 double beds, luxurious fluffy bedding and original wooden beams running through it. The jacuzzi bath was an added bonus, and the little thoughtful extra's that made it were the huge basket of towels and complimentary products. The decor and workmanship was of a high standard.

I originally had reservations about booking a 3 star hotel but this perfect little retreat had so much to offer, including the price which was £65 BB with laterooms - I've stayed in 5 star hotel rooms that are no where near as plush and as beautifully decorated!!

The hotel is also in a great location for walking the hiils, we managed table mountain - reaching the top was just brilliant! There are many other walks in the area and I would highly recommend visiting the information centre for maps etc, the ladies here are very helpful.

I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club

Address: Llangattock, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1PH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell > Llangattock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangattock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently refurbished hotel is located in quiet grounds in the picturesque village of Llangattock, one mile from Crickhowell. The hotel boasts its own on-site, 9 hole, par 3 golf course, and is perfectly situated to enjoy local pursuits of walking, pony trekking, cycling, caving or boat rides on the Monmouth to Brecon canal, which adjoins the hotel. The hotel dates back to the 16th century and was once home to Welsh poet Henry Vaughan. Large car park. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.