We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llangattock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Save
You added The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club to your Saves list
Llangattock, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1PH, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangattock
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We just had our wedding there and all I can say is WOW, they helped make our day so special. The venue was so beautiful, staff were very friendly and very helpful, the food well everyone of our guests including us loved it all. Our honeymoon suite was lovely my only disappointment was the Jacuzzi was not working. overall all I can say is we can never thank everyone there enough....please visit you won't be disappointed....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    43
    17
    7
    7
See reviews for
33
105
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Been here a few times now. Brilliant service, stunning food at reasonable prices for the quality you get! Its not your basic pub grub which is nice to see. Good effort on presentation.

Friendly staff, nice surroundings and plenty of places to sit. Whether your there to talk or to sit out in the lounges by the old fires.

Love this place! So much so that I booked my wedding here!!! :D

Also has a small onsite 9 hole golf course

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Staff did not have time to show us our room despite poor signage to rooms and got lost. Two requests went unactioned for bedding to sofa bed. Lighting in bathroom not working and so couldn't use bathroom mirror. Jacuzzi didn't work. Staff friendly but inneffective. Smell of fat from kitchen permeated whole building. Fire escapes did not inspire confidence.

Room Tip: Check out room first and change if things don't work
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I went here for a birthday meal back in December, the food was beautiful and the building is really lovely. It is definitely worth a visit, the only problem I had was the one staff member was rude. But overall, it is a lovely place to go.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Went here for our niece`s wedding on 10th May 2014. It was a shame about the weather as this hotel is in a beautiful part of the countryside. Not far from the Monmouth Canal, it has a 9 hole golf course alongside. The ceremony took place in the conservatory and after upstairs in the function room. All went very well, food excellent, very professional. Our room was no. 27. Although in the attic it was very comfortable and the bathroom was even bigger than the bedroom. Check in and out smooth as silk. I recommend this hotel for a short break and weddings.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Recently stopped at the Old Rectory Hotel over the weekend for a gate away break. Had to say the whole stay was amazing, the food was without a doubt the best we have had in a long time. Beautifully presented and tasted just as exceptional as it looked.

We were also impressed with the staff. There was a chap called Dan who looked to be in charge, he looked after us the whole weekend and was very attentive when we were dining there. We also found the waitresses pleasant and well mannered.

Both myself and my partner have agreed that we would like to return in the near future.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I had a pleasure to stsy for 3 nights .It was the best place I have stayed.The staff were freindly very eager to help , accomodating and helpfull.
The room was great and we been with a baby were welcomed all over the hotel with smile.A special thank you to the girls at the bar specially Gorgina. She was fantastic very hard working amd good.
Tha k you again once again

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club

Address: Llangattock, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1PH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell > Llangattock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangattock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently refurbished hotel is located in quiet grounds in the picturesque village of Llangattock, one mile from Crickhowell. The hotel boasts its own on-site, 9 hole, par 3 golf course, and is perfectly situated to enjoy local pursuits of walking, pony trekking, cycling, caving or boat rides on the Monmouth to Brecon canal, which adjoins the hotel. The hotel dates back to the 16th century and was once home to Welsh poet Henry Vaughan. Large car park. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.