We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Mountian biking trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club to your Saves list
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Llangattock, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1PH, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangattock
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Return Mountian biking trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

2nd visit in 2 years and still a great place to stay, really friendly and great food. 24 of us cyclinsts stayed over 2 nights and had a fantasitic time with the welsh hospitality being spot on....thanks Sean (owner). Also good food can be had in the town (The Bear Hotel)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    47
    18
    8
    7
See reviews for
34
112
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just stayed for a weekend at this excellent hotel. Such a warm welcome from Sean and excellent service from John. Nothing was too much trouble to arrange. So we departed with joyful spirits and rather heavier from the superb meals!!

Room Tip: Downstairs room noisy from footsteps overhead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We decided to have a night away as we visited the Old Rectory last year for an evening drink while staying on a canal boat (canal nearby) and decided to return.

The Old Rectory is in beautiful surroundings and is a very attractive building, with mountains near by visible from the garden / some rooms.

On arrival check in was prompt and we were give the key to our room. We had room 17, which was £110 Dinner, Bed and Breakfast. The room was pleasant, with a view over the golf course, the bed was comfy and there was a nice fire place. However the bed was broken and a make shift wooden support was sticking out, this had been here a while (looking at the dirt on the wooden support). This was disappointing. The room also had Sky tv and Wifi was available.

The bathroom was ok, but could do with TLC, the shower was not very good as all of a sudden the water would turn scolding hot.

The Dinner was outstanding, service was excellent and the waitresses were attentive. The breakfast too was excellent and all that you needed was available. Great dinning room too, with stunning views over the mountains.

We would stay here again, but would want another room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We bought 4 friends to Llangattock for the first time - my wife and I have stayed many times before. Our stay was up to the usual standard excellent in every way - we will be back soon. Great buzz in the hotel all weekend but everyone taken care of by Sean - a fantastic host
Trevor and Kate - Northamptonshire

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

A friend organised a walking weekend and booked this hotel for a large group of us and it was a very pleasant surprise! The room and ensuite were beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The breakfast was one of the best I've had in a hotel - fresh berries, a choice of pastries and cereals, plus a fully cooked breakfast. Our afternoon tea and dinner were also excellent, but we didn't spend the entire weekend eating; we went for a hike in the hills around the hotel, and the countryside is stunning. Our group is definitely going to return for another weekend, and I would recommend it for a quiet getaway weekend. The staff were very welcoming, and to top it all, it was great value for money.

Room Tip: I think we had a newly renovated room, so definitely ask for one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We hosted our annual dinner at the Old Rectory for a second time this last weekend. The food, service and accommodation was excellent. The event went like clock work and was enjoyed by everyone in our group.
I would recommend the Old Rectory to any of my friends and family.

Helen Farr

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Glamorgan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Another wonderful stay at this beautiful hotel. The hotel was extremely busy but this made no difference to the excellent standard of service provided by Shaun and his staff. We had lunch and evening meal, both of which were beautifully presented. Just wish I could move in permanently and eat here every day! The room was stunning with views across the golf course to the countryside beyond. Breakfast was delicious, they obviously use the best quality ingredients. Can't wait to go again. And again and again!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 15 which is a suite and you have to climb a few flights to get there but boy is it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club

Address: Llangattock, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1PH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell > Llangattock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangattock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently refurbished hotel is located in quiet grounds in the picturesque village of Llangattock, one mile from Crickhowell. The hotel boasts its own on-site, 9 hole, par 3 golf course, and is perfectly situated to enjoy local pursuits of walking, pony trekking, cycling, caving or boat rides on the Monmouth to Brecon canal, which adjoins the hotel. The hotel dates back to the 16th century and was once home to Welsh poet Henry Vaughan. Large car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.