We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location, lovely house, welcoming hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forge Cottage B&B

Forge Cottage B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanmadoc
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forge Cottage B&B
Save
You added Forge Cottage B&B to your Saves list
Frog Lane, Llanmadoc SA3 1DB, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Llanmadoc B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous location, lovely house, welcoming hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I just spent three nights at Forge Cottage with my two kids. Had a great time there with Mike and Pearl being warm and welcoming and tolerant of the young ones. Great walks and beaches nearby and somehow central for the whole Gower peninsular. Proximity to pub won't give you a chance to fall over on the way back. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Just spent 4 nights at Forge Cottage. Mike and Pearl made us feel very welcome when we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Breakfasts were extremely delicious with wonderful choice. Breakfast can be taken out on the terrace overlooking the fantastic views if weather permits. . The en-suite room we had was very clean and well furnished with a very comfortable bed. Tea and coffee making facilities were also very welcome. We would highly recommend Forge Cottage and look forward to going again soon. Mike and Pearl were superb hosts and made us feel like family. Cannot speak highly enough of this B & B

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

If only all bed and breakfasts were this good.. Mike and Pearl are just lovely hosts. Big tasty English breakfast. Beautiful views out across the salt marshes,if it's warm enough to sit out. This is a great area for a walking holiday,or a bit of surfing at nearby Llangennith.Had a lovely few days there. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have just spent a lovely weekend,with friends,at Forge Cottage.We were made to feel very welcome by Mike and Pearl and nothing was too much trouble.The rooms were very comfortable and the breakfasts delicious.Situated in a superb position with outstanding views and a pub over the road! Can recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My family (wife and toddler with 18 months of age) and I booked four nights at the Forge Cottage B&B. Already during the booking process we understood that our stay would be very convenient: the booking was easily carried out by mail, some special arrangements for our son could already be made before our arrival.

With us not owning a car, we took a regular bus from Swansea. The bus stop was right in front of the cottage, where we then received a very warm welcome from our hosts, Mike and Pearl. The en-suite room was clean, well-furnished and spacious, the only drawback were quite thin walls.

During our stay we enjoyed going for hikes in the absolutely stunning and diverse countryside of the Gower Peninsula. The lunch packages prepared by our hosts were filling, well-balanced and according to our special needs. Supper was taken in one of the public houses in and around Llanmadoc, among which the Britannia Inn, just right across the street from Forge Cottage, became our favourite place offering hearty meals and a great selection of local ales.

The breakfast was taken on a terrace overlooking the stunning estuary towards Llanelli. We had a good Full English (with the eggs coming from the host's own chicken) and every special required was catered for by our hosts. During breakfast time we met as well other guests staying and we had the chance to meet some really friendly people.

We enjoyed as well the regular chats with our hosts who showed an interest in our acitivities. Additionally, they recommended us on what places to visit and where to eat. This lead to us discovering idyllic places we would not have found withouth the help of our hosts (among others "Our Shop" in Llanmadoc and King Arthur Hotel in Reynoldston),

Upon leaving, we happened to forget a couple of personal belongings in our room. As a solution to the problem, Mike drove 40 miles by car (!) in order to make sure that we would get hold of those items before leaving the country. This is more than just customer service, it made us feel as if we were part of the family.

We are already now looking forward to visiting again Forge Cottage with its lovely hosts.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

July 2013. We have just returned from a lovely 3 day break at Forge Cottage. We received a very warm welcome from Mike and Pearl and felt at home immediately. Situated in a very picturesque part of Gower, superb restaurant over the road! The breakfasts are scrummy with a great selection to choose from. Our room was very clean with a lovely view, we will certainly go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband and I visited Forge Cottage for a weekend break in February. We had a very warm welcome and Mike and Pearl were superb hosts and accommodated all our needs. The Cottage is situated in a beautiful part of Gower, on the North Coast. There was plenty of parking for our car within the grounds of the Cottage and we were even able to store our bikes securely (a godsend for my husband as his bike is his pride and joy). Our room was well furnished, very cosy, spotlessly clean and with beautiful views across the Estuary. The sunset was to die for!! We had an ensuite bathroom, and also tea and coffee making facilities. We also had a television in our room and wifi facilities for our laptops.

The breakfast was delicious and again all our needs were catered for. There wasn’t anything that was too much trouble and with cereals, toast, fruit, a full cooked breakfast, tea, coffee and juice, we were certainly well catered for.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Forge Cottage, the hospitality was outstanding and we shall certainly look forward to visiting again, which is the best recommendation we can give.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forge Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forge Cottage B&B

Address: Frog Lane, Llanmadoc SA3 1DB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Llanmadoc
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llanmadoc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forge Cottage, which is about 250 years old, has recently been refurbished to a very high standard and has been awarded 4 stars. It sits in three quarters of an acre of gardens & orchard. The accommodation consists of just two en-suite bedrooms, so your personal attention is guaranteed. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forge Cottage B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.