We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Inn

Britannia Inn
Llanmadoc | Swansea, Llanmadoc SA3 1DB, Wales
+44 1792 386624
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Llanmadoc
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Britannia Inn is an 18th Century Restaurant set in the village of Llanmadoc. The award winning restaurant has an excellent reputation for the quality of its food. The decor in the restaurant provides a pleasant atmosphere in which to enjoy meal. There is also a bar menu which can enjoyed in the small friendly bar along with a choice of real ales.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Superb lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Just come back from a delicious three course lunch at The Brittannia all freshly cooked and very tasty at £14.95 for three courses was excellent value. We've been before and we weren't disappointed then either. We'll definitely be back! See you soon!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megan2010_11, Manager at Britannia Inn, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to give a positive review following your visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    58
    14
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Customer Service second to none.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Out of season, the pub was quiet at lunch time . Menu very good and our quick sandwich idea soon turned into Mussels in white wine and chilli sauce !!!! Barman was exceptionally on the ball and very friendly which i feel makes all the difference these days .

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megan2010_11, Manager at Britannia Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
thank you for your comments on your visit to the Britannia. We are glad that you were pleased with the service you received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were recommended this pub by Daffyd at the Blas Gwyr B&B and it was super. Really lovely staff and an excellent menu.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megan2010_11, Manager at Britannia Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We are very grateful that you took time to write a review following your visit. Glad you enjoyed your meal with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberaman
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my meals at the Britannia inn. The menu has a good choice of meals with friendly locals.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megan2010_11, Manager at Britannia Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review of your visit. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanmadoc, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best pub food on Gower”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

A hidden gem in the heart of North Gower. The Brittania Inn has an a la carte restaurant supported by a "gastro" pub menu. The staff are very friendly and efficient. We have visited several times and service and food is always consistent. We have now tried the pub menu - freshly made each dish with a "twist" on the usual version, the a la carte is superb, with the deserts a definite specialty. The winter "theme" nights once per month - we attended the fish night, are varied with each course containing a special touch, with homemade sorbet between the courses, we had the gin&tonic sorbet which was amazing. The only criticism would be the wine list which could be improved. The coffee is also particularly good - with a home made truffle added to each cup in the restaurant or biscuit in the pub! We have noticed a difference from summer to winter, summer gets very busy so best to book, but always advise booking the restaurant on a fri/sat night. Have eaten at all the pubs on Gower and the Britannia definitely has the edge at present.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megan2010_11, Manager at Britannia Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Many thanks for your review. We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your visits to the Britannia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Britannia Inn also viewed

Oldwalls, Swansea County
Llangennith, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to Britannia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.