We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great people, fantastic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Ulrich

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pearl Lagoon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Ulrich
Save
You added Hotel Casa Ulrich to your Saves list
Barrio Ivan Dixon, Pearl Lagoon, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great people, fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Casa Ulrich run by Fred and his wife is a great place to stay in Pearl Lagoon.

You will get to know his daughter and 2 granddaughters- a really nice family.

The rooms are very comfortable and have all the basics you need - private bathroom & AC.

Fred is a great chef and takes great pride in what he serves - you won't be disappointed.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    8
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
10
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Great views, the most amazing lobster I've ever had, every meal was brilliant but Mr Fred made it for us. He went out of his way to see we had what we needed, solved our transport challenges with his local contacts and kept us well fed and watered when ever we showed our faces. Great place.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at pearl lagoon with no reservation,and to be honest out jaws dropped a bit when we saw the place.

We found casa UrlichWe and booked in. Rooms are clean but I imagine for pearl lagoon they are spotless air con works but no hot water.

But the owners are lovely and the bar resturant thu have is very cool. The steak was amazing!

They made us. Greg packed lunch for our trip!

Mr UrlichWe speaks perfect English and happy to share his knowledge.

Definetly reccomens staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposa, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent 3 nights here in February 2012 and left very happy! The rooms are nothing fancy, but very clean and include A/C and a very nice/comfortable bed. The food, while definately not authentic Nica cooking, is incredible! A nice change from the typical. The owner/chef has amazing tast and talent! The restaurant and bar have a great view! The Queen Lobster is a restraunt/bar down the road that can take care of you cravings for local food, they can also arange epic outing trips to the Pearl Keys! We were recomended to Casa Ulrich by some folks in Bluefields that run a B&B called Casa Rosa and a top notch sport fishing outfitter, also not to be missed! I would definately recomend some of the pasta dished at Casa Ulrich... the sauces he makes are amazing!
Directions:
Don't let yourself get hastled coming off the dock like we did, tell the local "guides" that want to walk you to your hotel that you know where you are going and to leave you alone, dont tell them where you are going or they will try to walk you there anyway and ask for money.... turn right on the first street with your back to the water and walk till you get there... pretty simple, and if you get lost, the Queen Lobster is about half way there and they will sell you a cold beer and tell you where to go!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed at Casa Ulrich in Pearl Lagoon for 2 nights. Fred and Reyna are excellent hosts and made sure we enjoyed our stay. We drove across the country, and the road between El Rama and Pearl Lagoon is an unforgiving 3-hr trek. We had some tire issues that we had to deal with once we arrived, and Fred helped us out by locating a tire we could purchase and then get another one patched up. Thankfully he handled the issue for us, so we were able to go out and enjoy a very relaxing and beautiful day in the Pearl Keys. Rooms have A/C (a plus) and the food is top-notch. We had excellent breakfast and dinner at their place!

Room Tip: Pearl Lagoon is pretty small and remote. Definitely arrange a trip to the Pearl Keys for the day to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I came to Pearl Lagoon for a couple of nights and ended up staying 5! I loved this hotel. It's not luxurious, but relative to Pearl Lagoon it is. Spacious rooms, air conditioning, private bathrooms. However, what makes this place, are the fabulous owners. I was travelling solo and once I arrived I went straight to the bar/restaurant which has amazing views over the lagoon and was warmly welcomed by Mr Fred and his wife Reyna. I really felt looked after whilst I was there and would spend time chatting away with Mr Fred whilst he cooked his delicious meals - Fish in a coconut spicy sauce, fried breadfruit and plantain and his new creation, a Mr Fred Egg McMuffin! Even though I was travelling alone, the place was such that you could easily meet other travellers. I was really made to feel at home here and the day I left, I genuinely felt sad to be leaving such a great hotel and warm people. My favourite hotel in the whole of Nicaragua!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Pearl Lagoon is at first sight pretty run down and the journey there can be arduous - but it's definitely worth a visit! The atmosphere of the place is quite unique and incredibly relaxing, Casa Ulriche is one of the best options for accomodation. The rooms are basic, but clean and safe. The food is fantastic - especially if you like seafood. Mr Fred (the owner) is very friendly and will help you make the most of your trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Ulrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Ulrich

Address: Barrio Ivan Dixon, Pearl Lagoon, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Pearl Lagoon
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Pearl Lagoon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Ulrich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.