We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a second trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Surf Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Maderas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buena Vista Surf Club
Playa Maderas | San Juan Del Sur, Playa Maderas, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Playa Maderas
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
“Worth a second trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

I have spent two New Years at the Buena Vista Surf Club with a group of friends and loved it both times. Just up the hill from Playa Maderas, BVSC has surf boards to rent, serves up delicious breakfasts and dinners and has a lovely deck for lounging. The owners, Marc and Marielle, are fantastic and friendly. The BVSC is a very special place.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaSurfClub, Owner at Buena Vista Surf Club, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Hola,

Thanks for the cool review. It was really cool to see you and the rest of the group back for New Years!

Everybody was a few years older, but we still had the same fun! We did however miss the 'coin in the bucket' and limbo contest...(-:

Hopefully we'll get to see you again in the near future!

Marc, Marielle, Jack, Hustle & Flow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    13
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
5
147
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Words dont justify how great it was. Loved every moment of it.
Go there and experience the BVSC yourself!

The very best,
Jens

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaSurfClub, Owner at Buena Vista Surf Club, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Hola,

Thanks for the cool review. You needed few words to express your feelings...(-:
It was great having the two of you here! A lot of fun, good conversations, some drinks and dancing!
A fun group!

Hopefully we'll get to see you guys again somewhere in the near future!

Marc, Marielle, Jack, Hustle & Flow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We are a couple from Switzerland and stayed at Buena Vista in August 2011 for 18 days. We were almost part of the furniture ;-) We both love to travel and had already the possibility to visit different beautiful places in the world - Nicaragua and BVSC definitely belong to the most special and beautiful ones!! The architecture of the main building and the tree houses is unique! We loved to chill in the tree house with the amazing view over the trees and the ocean! We can tell you, the pictures on the homepage are great - the reality blows you away!! The amazing food (I’m vegetarian and they made extra delicious dishes for me!), the beach and the waves are just great! We had to travel more than 24 hours to reach BVSC and it was totally worth it! When we were there Jack was just a few weeks old. Marielle and Marc made such a great job of being a new family and hosts for us. We wish them all the best for BVSC and their future in Nica and hope we can come back once!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaSurfClub, Owner at Buena Vista Surf Club, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Hola,

Thanks for the cool review! It was great having you guys here and yes you were part of the furniture...(-:

It was fun to get to know you guys better during your stay and we'll also remember the days filled with a few games of settlers...Hopefully you guys have been working on your strategy... We tried to be good hosts, but couldn't avoid winning...(-:

Hopefully we can welcome you another time in the near future!

Hasta luego,
Marc, Marielle, Jack, Hustle & Flow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012 via mobile

Mark and Mirelle exceeded our expectations. Was like family you wish lived closer. Location was perfect, food amazing and hospitality was beyond dreams. Recommend it if you like food, conversation and an easy surf experience. A bit of a walk to the beach but worth it.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaSurfClub, Owner at Buena Vista Surf Club, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Hola,

Thanks for the review! It was great having you guys here. Lots of cool stories!Good luck with the empty bottles in the trunk..(-:

Hopefully we can welcome you another time in the near future!

Hasta luego,
Marc, Marielle, Jack, Hustle & Flow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

If you're staying anywhere near San Juan or Playa Maderas, you'd be mad not to stay at BVSC. Having travelled for two years, it's the most stunning place we've ever stayed. From the 'infinity deck' to the gorgeous cabins looking out across to the forest to the Pacific, to the delicious food and the brilliants hosts, what's not to love?

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaSurfClub, Owner at Buena Vista Surf Club, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Hola,

Thank you for your nice review! It was a pleasure having you guys here and we always enjoy the British humor!

We hope to welcome you back someday!
Marc, Marielle, Jack, Hustle & Flow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

I stayed at the bvsc in early november and had a great experience. The property was incredible....very well designed, amazing views, monkeys in the trees, jungle sounds all around and a short walk to a sold break and deserted beaches.

I stayed in a couple of different rooms while I was there, one was in the main lodge the other was one of the tree houses. Both were great, though the tree house was truly incredible. A large window opening to the jungle with an ocean view. One morning we had a large monkey in the tree just outside our window, pretty cool. Really comfortable bed, good shower (no hot water, but good pressure and never cold) and clean. This is a treehouse and the windows open to the jungle so you may find bugs in your rooms, but they have a mosquito net so we never got bit once while we slept. The property was run off grid (solar powered/ well water), so the electricity was turned off during the day. The rooms can get a bit warm if taking a nap during the day, but other wise a nice breeze and the fans kept the room very comfortable.

The owners and the staff were also great, very helpful and friendly. They even let you win at cribbage, almost every time. The food was also great, super fresh and healthy. The main lodge was a great place to hang out at night with other guests and the owners.

The property is pretty isolated and takes about 40 minutes or so to get into san juan del sur. There are a few beach bars within walking distance but most everything closes pretty early. But if you're looking for a spot to get away from it all, this is it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaSurfClub, Owner at Buena Vista Surf Club, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Hola Jay.

Thanks for the cool review! It was great having you here and you both were a really great addition to the great group of guests we had staying those days! Great stories...

We're glad that we could make your holiday perfect by letting you win at cribbage...(-:

Looking forward seeing you again,
Marc, Marielle, Jack, Hustle & Flow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Where do I start? My friends' and me stay at the Buena Vista Surf Club was everything we dreamed of and more. I had heard about BVSC from a friend who had found out about it from a well traveled relative. My friend couldn't find the vacation days to travel to Nica, but I didn't let that stop me! 5 friends and I flew to Nica from across the US for a week of surfing, relaxing, eating, relaxing, yoga, oh yeah, and more relaxing. 4 of us stayed in the surf room, which worked out perfectly for our needs. My 2 other friends, a couple, stayed in one of the very romantic cabanas/tree houses. The owners, Marc and Marielle, arranged for all of our transportation to/from the airport and our surf lessons with an ex-pat originally from Florida. While we paid a little bit more for these things, it was well worth the extra money. I'd highly recommend letting them take care of those things if you have an extra $15-$40 in your budget.

The infinite deck and the main room was the perfect place to lounge, read, stare at the stars, chat, nap, do some yoga, etc. We had breath-taking sunsets every night right before dinner. 2 of the sunsets we spent on the beach, which was gorgeous. Just a tip: bring a flashlight for the trip back to BVSC.

The food was delicious! Breakfast was by far everyone's favorite. Be sure to try the Dutch pancakes and drink lots of fresh coffee! Dinner always hit the spot. Here's hoping that Marielle makes her fish cakes for you. Our group had lots of different dietary restrictions, but M+M were very accommodating, making sure that there was something for everyone. One of the members of our party needed a little extra protein boost for breakfast, so she purchased peanut butter in San Juan for the table, which everyone seemed ok with.

Couple of tips for your trip:
-the taco stand on the beach makes fantastic fish tacos--perfect for lunch and a break from surfing
-bring lots of sun screen--the sun is strong in Nica!
-if you are staying in the surf room, anticipate that you will wake up early. You will be directly under the infinite deck, so as soon as people start to walk around "up there", you'll hear them
-don't let the "eco-lodge" label scare you--BVSC is very comfortable! There wasn't hot water, but we never missed it since we were so hot from the beach. And there are fans in all the bedrooms
-pack flip flops for the walk to/from the beach. BVSC is part way up a pretty steep, rocky hill. But don't worry, you can handle it :)
-if it works out, sign up to see the sea turtles at night. It was incredible and well worth the bumpy ride
-the surf at Playa Maderas is very beginner friendly--so give it a try! You won't regret it.

Lastly, enjoy! BVSC is incredible, Marc and Marielle are amazing hosts, and be prepared to never want to leave.

Room Tip: Couple? Stay in one of the romantic cabanas. Group of 3-4? Stay in the surf room. It's a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaSurfClub, Owner at Buena Vista Surf Club, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Hola,

Thanks for the cool and detailled review! It was a real pleasure having all of you here. A really great group!

We hope to see all of you back someday!
Marc, Marielle, Jack, Hustle & Flow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buena Vista Surf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Surf Club

Address: Playa Maderas | San Juan Del Sur, Playa Maderas, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur > Playa Maderas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Playa Maderas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Surf Club is an intimate design eco-lodge at Playa Maderas, San Juan Del Sur. A unique place for both surfers and non-surfers! Surf or learn how to surf or just enjoy the amazing beaches. Enjoy great home cooked, family style dinners with new friends, do yoga or relax at the 'infinity' sundeck and watch the wildlife from your ‘treehouse’! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Surf Club Hotel Playa Maderas
Buena Vista Surf Hotel
Hotel Buena Vista Surf
Buena Vista Surf Club Nicaragua/Playa Maderas, San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Surf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Buena Vista Surf Club to your Saves list