We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Casa d' Arriba

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added A Casa d' Arriba to your Saves list
A Casa d' Arriba
Largo Nossa Senhora Da Consolacao 7-9 | Praia da Consolacao, Consolacao 2520, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Consolacao B&B and Inns
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at the Verde Apartment for two weeks in August. It was really paradise - the apartment itself with the nice and cosy furniture and decoration situated right at the ocean. The view is incredible and the balcony directly above the water with nice furniture and even a sunlounger is a luxury. Falling asleep and waking up with the sound of the sea and even the full view on the sea was perfect relax and we still miss it...
The breakfast is delicious with fresh orange juice, pasteis de nata and a daily changing variety of fresh fruit. And the best about it: you can have breakfast whenever you want, because the tray is put in front of the door and you can pick it up anytime. One very nice thing: as there are only 3 apartments and the owner and his wife live downstairs, it´s a personal atmosphere that you don´t normally get in a hotel. This is a plus as they are really kind and welcoming hosts The village Consolacao has everything you need and if you come out of the apartmen there is a super beach right there. Although a car is always a good thing in the area, to get to the lovely town of Peniche for example. Highly recommended, thanks again and we hope to return in the future

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just back after a great week in Portugal. We stayed at the Casa D'Arriba. Great accomodation, breakfast could not have been better. An ideal location to stay at , great balcony in the yellow apartment and ideal spot to travel about . We visited Obidos, Fatima, Sentra.. a must, Peniche etc . Phillipe and his wife were excellent hosts. We would strongly recommend this to anyone who wants a great apartment and a fab breakfast. The views from the balcony are spectacular and the beach one minute walk away. We walked teh beach at 8am every morning and returned to our fab breakfast. There is also a rustic restaurant on the rocks which is good and very cheap but great restaurnats in Peniche. I am now on a diet after the wonderful breakfasts ! Thnaks Philippe

Room Tip: Book the yellow room Best balcony and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed in Casa d'Arriba for two weeks (in the yellow studio, Amarelo). We had a fantastic time. The breakfast was hearty and tasty. The studio was very spacious with a beautiful bed-room. It was very smart and clean. We could lie in bed and hear the waves outside - fantastic! The balcony view of Consolacao headland is stunning. The location is perfect for surfers - right next to Supertubos and not far from Baleal or Ericeira. We were also able to have BBQ's on the balcony in the evening which was great. Filipe and his wife were wonderful relaxed hosts and we hope to come back one day! Jon and Carrie X

Room Tip: All the studio's are great - just have a look on-line at the photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

As a travel journalist, I travel extensively and stay in all manner of hotels, guesthouses and B&Bs worldwide. A Casa d'Arriba may be difficult to find initially, but it is without question one of the best guesthouses I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. The view is absolutely magnificent, the facilities clean and modern and the breakfast in a league of its own. The only reason I would come back to Consolacao in Peniche is to stay at this guesthouse. It's completely exceeded my expectations....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Casa d' Arriba is a beautiful house situated in Consolação, 5-6 km outside the city of Peniche. The house consists of three apartments. We stayed in the yellow one, Amarelo, for a week. Have stayed in a lot of different B&B's and guesthouses during our trips around southern Europe, but no place comes close to this - It is absolutely wonderful.

The rooms, the kitchen, the balcony (!), the bathroom, the kind and caring owners and the plentiful, delicious breakfast that is delivered outside your door every morning at 9.00... It's almost too good to be true.

There are a lot good places in the neighborhood if you surf. If you don't, you can always take a walk along the beach to the famous Supertubos to watch pro surfers ride the clashing waves. Rental bikes are also available in Consolação, and we really recommend a bike tour in the beautiful surrounding areas.

This place is, as we said when we arrived, simply far too good to be true and even better than in the pictures!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

This was a beautiful apartment. You couldn't ask for a more stunning view.
It is rated as 4 star accommodation. I would actually increase this to a 5 star. Everything was new, clean and trendy. I could live there year round!
The breakfast each morning was amazing.
There is a great restaurant around the corner (opposite the restaurant on the beach) that was open in the winter and offered amazing dinner to go at a great price.
You can surf right off the point below Casa d'Arriba. There is free wifi if needed.
This is a great find and I am recommending it to friends and my parents. Thanks for having us stay! We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padstow, Cornwall
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

I searched high & low on the internet to find accomodation for a surf break in this area for myself, 2 12 year old surf dudes & my 1 year old baby! When I first found Casa D'Arriba I thought it was a little on the pricey side, but now I'm so glad I booked! We are 3 nights into a 6 night stay & I cannot recommend this place highly enough! We arrived after midnight & Philipe waited up for us, then 9am the next morning the most delicious breakfast arrived: breads, cakes, fresh fruit, jam, fresh oj, coffee etc. The apartments (we stayed in Verde) are right above the waves and the sound of the sea is mesmerising! The views have to be seen to be believed. Everything is perfect - we have self catered every night and then just chilled on the balcony. During the day the boys have surfed wherever its up (including right under the balcony!) It is well worth the money - its a little diamond!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to A Casa d' Arriba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Casa d' Arriba

Address: Largo Nossa Senhora Da Consolacao 7-9 | Praia da Consolacao, Consolacao 2520, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Consolacao
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Consolacao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Beautiful and fully equipped suites with a wonderful view of the ocean and a 7 km sandy beach 50 meters away. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Casa d' Arriba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.