We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abercelyn Country House, Bala” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abercelyn Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Abercelyn Country House to your Saves list
Abercelyn Country House
Llanycil | Bala, Llanycil, Snowdonia National Park, Bala LL23 7YF, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Llanycil B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Peterboprough
1 review
“Abercelyn Country House, Bala”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

First visit to North Wales for 40 years.
Lindsat & Ray provided wonderfull accommodation, excellent food and a very friendly atmosphere. What more could you ask for.
The location, next to Bala lake and the village, makes it very accessable.

Val & Graham Priest

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
87
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pulborough
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We only stayed for one night at Abercelyn but the welcome from Lindsay & Ray was very warm and we were delighted with the room. Tea and scones on arrival was very welcome after a long drive from West Sussex. It was an easy walk into Bala for dinner and the location is ideal.

Breakfast the next morning was tremendous with a great choice and really good home baked bread; it would be hard to find better.

Overall an excellent place to stay; highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We chose Abercelyn Country House due to its location,price and reviews.Our instincts were totally correct. Ray and Lindsay are excellent hosts.We were met with a cup of tea and a piece of delicious home made cake . Our room was spotless and there was a wide choice for breakfast including fresh fruit and porridge with raisins which was wonderful. Definitely one of the best Bed and Breakfasts we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We chose to stay at Abercelyn due to reviews and their excellent informative website after looking for a base in the Bala area. What a find!!!. We had the Berwyn room which was very light, spacious, comfortable and spotless. The ensuite is particularly good being spacious and having a superb shower/bath.The attention to detail and all the little extras was very impressive. The breakfast was superb wonderfully fresh with excellent produce and fuelled us for the day. Ray and Lindsay could not be more welcoming making us feel more like friends than guests, with helpful ideas and information on things to do. I would recommend a stay here for anyone wishing to explore the area and will definitely look to return.

Room Tip: I would choose the Berwyn room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here for the weekend and really enjoyed it. Very friendly and warm welcome from Ray and Lindsay. Our room was very nice, spotlessly clean with a very comfy bed that had really good quality linen/pillows and a great shower.
The breakfast was fantastic, plentiful and delicious. It would be a mistake to say "no" to the homemade bread! They even offered to serve brekkie super early on the sunday so my husband could eat before racing his Triathlon.
We would definitely stay here again, probably for the triathlon next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

A wonderful place, we would thoroughly recommend it. Wonderful breakfast, very warm welcome. Our room was on the road side, but was really quiet. Lindsay was an excellent host, always there if needed, and made us feel like friends, not guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

other reviews have summed up the Abercelyn, we would definately return next time we visit the Bala area, well done, congratulations to Lindsay and Ray for an excellent relaxing atmosphere. Breakfast was excellent, very tasty and freshly prepared. Room was comfortable and clean. Bed very comfy. Room facilities where all we needed. Hosts very welcoming but not intrusive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abercelyn Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abercelyn Country House

Address: Llanycil | Bala, Llanycil, Snowdonia National Park, Bala LL23 7YF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Bala > Llanycil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Llanycil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abercelyn Country House is an 18th-century, Grade II-listed, former rectory set in award-winning, landscaped, mature gardens overlooking Lake Bala in the Snowdonia National Park. The bright, spacious bedrooms are furnished with individual period pieces and all have en-suite luxury bathrooms (all have power-showers, one has a whirlpool bath). There is a relaxing drawing room with library and log fire for guest's use. Excellent home-cooking (inc. special diets) with local produce and choice of breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Abercelyn Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abercelyn Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.