We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to get acclimated to Argentine customs and language” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finca Ogawa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Finca Ogawa to your Saves list
Finca Ogawa
3.5 of 5 Ranch   |   Bascunan s/n | Tunuyan, Valle de Uco, Los Sauces, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Boise
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great place to get acclimated to Argentine customs and language”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

This was our first trip to Argentina, and I’m glad we chose to stay at Finca Ogawa for the first part of the trip. We stayed the first week of a three-week trip. After the rather long flight from LAX to Mendosa through Santiago, the finca allowed us relax in the beautiful wine-growing countryside. I have to agree with the other reviews listed here so I’ll focus on what I liked best.

When I left for our vacation at the end of January, it was snowing at home. When we stepped off the plane in Mendoza, the temperature was about 90 degrees Fahrenheit and toward the end of summer. We really enjoyed relaxing in summer temperatures again.

This is a working farm so you get a different experience than you get at a more expensive resort. We had free access to the main garden and chicken coop. We started each day with fresh raspberries and eggs and used the parilla to grill a variety of vegetables at night. I can’t say enough about the tomatoes! We were able to buy excellent meat at nearby Hector’s. Hector’s was definitely small, but we heard that his family butchers their own meat. We also cut up fresh fruits to have as dessert. All this while enjoying a glass (or two) of Finca Ogawa-label malbec wine.

The hosts, John and Barbara, were a great resource for getting acclimated to Argentine customs and language. The accommodations are excellent and having free rein of the hen house and extensive garden was a unique experience with lodging. We traveled with another couple and rented both casitas. We can’t wait to visit again. I would recommend a rental car to give you a little more flexibility to visit the local towns.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rochester, ny
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We spent two very relaxing days at the Finca during early January, 2012. The Casa Martha is a clean and quiet unit with a completely equipped kitchen. The location is delightfully rural yet is not far from the major wineries. Barbara and John were both very, very helpful and welcoming. John helped us to arrange a full day of fly-fishing that turned out to be one of the major highlights of our trip. We'd happily return!

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

If you are looking for the perfect relaxing and tranquil country side accommodations outside Mendoza, Finca Ogawa is the place. Two casa's are available Casa Barbara and casa Martha both fully efficient accommodations. We stayed at casa Martha and we were absolutely delighted with the place. The bed and linens make for a perfect nights sleep. Fresh eggs from the hens start your day off at breakfast. There is a wide assortment of vegetables from the massive garden which can compliment all your lunches and dinners. There is an amazing raspberry patch (so big its like there is an unlimited supply) apple trees, peach trees and pear trees are so ripe and fresh you will feel like picking fruit every moment of the day. To top it all off there is homemade wine made from the malbec vines of the farm. The farm has a laundry facility, plenty of friendly dogs, and a Parilla (to test your hand at the Argentine asado). Furthermore John and Barbara are excellent hosts and will make your stay as comfortable as possible.
Suggestions:
- rental car is likely required for access to the Finca roughly 1 hour from Mendoza city.
- visit Andeluna winery for wine tour and lunch.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

This place is far from the hustle and bustle of the big cities, but it certainly is in the heart of wine country. If you want to really experience the Argentinian wine country, you can't really do any better than Finca Ogawa.

First, the hosts, John and Marta, know pretty much everyone in the area and can help you to arrange meetings, tastings or other activities. That service was far more valuable than we could have imagined, as having nice websites and answering emails isn't really the strong suit of most Argentinian wine producers. John and Marta were prompt with emails and made sure to help us set up some fantastic tastings. They helped us figure out our way around the area and were all in all a pleasure to be around. Luckily for us, Barbara was also in town for our visit. She was a lovely host, kept us stocked on breakfast supplies and made us feel as welcome as can be.

Next, the accommodations. We stayed in Casa de Barbara (me, my wife, and my parents). There was plenty of room, a lovely bathroom and a full sized kitchen. Being there for a whole week, we cooked most of our dinners. To help us with that, the Finca has a garden that they let their guests use! It is beautiful, with tomatoes, onions, hot peppers, zucchini and more.

Anything you can't find in the garden, you can probably find in Hector's country store, less than a mile away on the gravel road.

The atmosphere out in the country is quiet and tranquil. It really is out there, so make sure you get GPS coordinates from John before you drive in, and do your best to make sure it is daytime when you first arrive.

We had a wonderful time in Argentina in no small part because of John, Marta and Barbara. We will most certainly return.

Room Tip: If there are two of you, go with the smaller Casa de Marta. If there are 3 or 4, go with Casa de Ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetis Island, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

After several frenetic days in Buenos Aires staying at Finca Ogawa was a soul refreshing experience. The original farm house now converted into a guest house was delightful.It included a full kitchen and dining room, a first class bathroom,roomy bedroom and comfy living room. The grapevine covered veranda was perfect for sipping a good glass of Finca Ogawa reserve (compliments of the house). John and Martha were terrific hosts....providing tours to various wineries in the Tunyuan area, bicyles for your own road trips; food from their wonderful vegetable garden and a real Argentinian asado ( if you want).It is not easy to get to but John is more than willing to do what it takes to get you to the farm.Once there you will be glad for this opportunity to experience life in this incredibly beautiful landscape sitting at the foot of the Andes under the milky way like you've never seen before. A great place to enjoy great wines ,relax and be happy.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guschelmuth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

we were travelling with our bicycles and found a cosy, relaxing, clean finca. The rooms are all very spacious, the kitchen is equiped with everything we needed and the bathroom with its extra large shower was a dream for us biker.
we also appreciated the nearby shop, where we could buy almost everything we needed for our stay. (we did not have a car, only bicycles)

Room Tip: sitting under the pergola is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

John and Marta, who run Finca Ogawa, are the quintessential hosts of this lovely, small retreat, which is conveniently located in the midst of some of the most beautiful and best-producing wineries in the Mendoza-area wine country of western Argentina. Within a half hour of Finca Ogawa are superb modern restaurants, wineries (often with space-age design) featuring great Malbecs and other local varietals, and many scenic vistas. In addition, Finca Ogawa often offers fresh eggs from their own chicken coop and fresh vegetables and herbs from their garden plot. A great place to relax, enjoy the sights of the nearby Andes, and to take in the offerings of this increasingly well-regarded wine-growing locale.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Finca Ogawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Ogawa

Address: Bascunan s/n | Tunuyan, Valle de Uco, Los Sauces, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Los Sauces
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Los Sauces
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finca Ogawa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some of the accommodations that we offer were originally constructed some 80 years ago for the owners of the finca. Our home is a Spanish style house with thick walls, high ceiling and traditional wooden windows. We have lovingly restored and recycled it into a charming little home or casita: CASA DE MARTHA is a 40 m2 one bedroom home / casita. This bedroom has a king size bed and a private bathroom. There is also a living room, dining room, full kitchen to cook and a 280 sq. feet veranda with outdoor parrilla. The house has Central Air Conditioning and heat, Internet WiFi and Direct TV, Sheets and towels. There are also other new Villas in the Finca, for 4 and 6 people! Please write to us with your inquire!! The advantage to choosing Finca Ogawa for your stay is that all lodgings include complete country gourmet kitchens, queen and king sommiers, private bathrooms, wonderful living and fireplaces, comfortable dining areas, private patios, access to the finca community, 40 m2 swimming pools, housekeeping services, mountain bikes, vegetable garden, and perfect Andes's views. Only minutes away from the best of the best wineries in Valle de Uco. Finca Ogawa is about 1,30 hs from the airport. 1 Hour from Mendoza City. Location Coordinates: 33° 35' 02.0"S 69° 09' 02.0"W. We are close to the most famous wineries like Clos de Los Siete (Monteviejo, Rolland, DiamAndes, Cuvellier Los Andes), Gimenez Riili, Salentein, Andeluna, Domaine Bousquet, Sophenia, The Vine of Mendoza, Piedra Negra, and more! This area offers a lot of options in adventure activities like Horseback ridings in the mountains, Bike tours around the wineries, Rafting, Trekkings and more.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Finca Ogawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finca Ogawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.