We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food out of this world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ynyshir Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ynyshir Hall to your Saves list
Ynyshir Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eglwys Fach, Eglwys Fach SY20 8TA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eglwys Fach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“food out of this world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed her for 2 nights recently. Very Friendly staff , comfortable room and little niggles were dealt with promptly. Lovely quiet place and the food is to die for! I've eaten in many 1 star ( and one 2 star) Michelin places and this is up there with them all!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    21
    8
    3
    8
See reviews for
18
76
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I recently had the good fortune to be taken to Ynyshir Hall for a weekend and was amazed at how delightful and decadent it was. The hotel is beautiful, immaculate, and managed by a lovely discreet staff. Joan and Beth were delightful hosts, and Gareth Ward's magical 8 course taster menu was the most amazing meal I have ever had.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Studio suite which was lovely, only slightly marred by the occasional noise of vehi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This may not be everyone's cup of tea, but if you want to be spoilt and indulged with great food and wines it is hard to beat. We recently stayed for 3 nights following a 1 week visit a few years ago. We rarely return to hotels but had absolutley no regrets on this occasion and will almost certainly return again in the near future. The atmosphere is very much one of the country house, and guests are made to feel at home. Although the hotel does not have a Michelin Star at present I thought the food was better than when we stayed the last time, with a Michelin Star. Gareth's consistent high standard was quite remarkable. The food is accompanied by an excellent wine list to meet all tastes, with some very expensive options, but also with a good range of sensibly priced wines.


It is an ideal place for relaxing in luxury and suits people who are seeking peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Look at the website and discuss with hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

we stayed here last week. Our first visit but it will not be the last. The rooms are fantastic, the service impeccable and we tasted the finest food that we have eaten anywhere in the world.Gareth Ward is a genius in the kitchen,very innovative and deserves at least one michelin star.We had the 8 course tasting menu one evening and the 12 another.Unfortunately we stayed during the worst power cut that the hotel has experienced so Gareth could not provide us with his usual menus on the last 2 nights of our stay.However he still fed us well with his limited resources and the hotel coped admirably with a difficult situation We look forward to going back to this piece of heaven on earth It really is stunning

Room Tip: all the rooms are super. we stayed in the studio suite which had a gas fire. very welcome in view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
1,094 reviews 1,094 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 165 cities Reviews in 165 cities
607 helpful votes 607 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

My noble friend is a chef at Ynyshir Hall so in response to his pleading to visit him and sample their newly upgraded hotel we decided to drive the 4 hour journey from Newcastle and boy was it worth it. Wind down the drive into spectacular 360 scenery in any weather, pristine decor inside and out. High quality workmanship everywhere you look bursting with colours the artist owners perceptive eye and an unsurpassed service level from the professional and friendly staff. Their wonderful restaurant should have at least one Michelin star but read my separate review.

Room Tip: Allocate extra room time every room is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Ynyshir Hall is simply the perfect place for a luxurious break .

My wife and I stayed at the hotel over the New Year period 2013-14. This was not the first time we have stayed at Ynyshir so know the hotel well from visits made over a number of years.

The location is beautiful. The rooms are of a high standard being well decorated and tastefully presented. The staff are friendly, helpful and professional and nothing you ask is too much trouble for them.

The highlight of this, as with our other stays was not only the service we received but the food.
The Head Chef Gareth Ward was appointed in 2013 and had some hard acts to follow.
In the past Ynyshir has been served well by two Chefs who were awarded Michelin Stars and others of a high calibre. Gareth's food has,if anything, improved upon the previous high standards - simply wonderful.

The New Years Eve Menu, for example, comprised of some twelve courses in "taster menu" form with suggested wines to perfectly complement each course. The meal was spread over some three hours of fine dining at its best.

Anyone who is used to and appreciates first class hotels and restaurants will not be disappointed in staying and eating at Ynyshir. It is simply a heavenly experience.

Many thanks to owners Joan and Rob Reen for making it all possible.

Stuart C.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I recently stayed at Ynyshir hall for a weekend getaway with my partner. We wanted to go walking in the mountains and see the sea and looking for hotels found Ynyshir near Machynlleth. The website looked beautiful and when I called the lady that took the booking was very friendly so we had high expectations. These were met when we arrived, and shown up to our room. The bathroom had been newly refurbished and was perfect for when we came back from our mountain walk shower.

In the evening we ate in the restaurant, the 10 course tasting menu was beautiful. When booking I made sure to tell the hotel that I was a vegetarian and the chef, Gareth, made up a lovely alternative for me. I am a desert person and the tirimisu was incredible! My partner also loved her tasting menu, saying that the deer was the best dish she had ever had. This was the first time we had had proper tasting menus and will definitely be trying them again!

Overall, the hotel is in a beautiful location and the food was incredible, something unexpected so far from any big city. Would love to go back.

Room Tip: If you want a bit extra the garden suites are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ynyshir Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ynyshir Hall

Address: Eglwys Fach, Eglwys Fach SY20 8TA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Eglwys Fach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eglwys Fach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ynyshir Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to the 15th century, Ynyshir Hall sits in the beautiful Dyfi Valley, a designated UNESCO Biosphere Reserve and is the perfect base to explore the Snowdonia National Park. Ynyshir Hall is the winner of the AA Hotel of the Year in Wales 2015 and double Gold award winner in the National Tourism Awards for Wales 2015 for best Hotel and Best Small Restaurant. Owners Joan Reen and husband Rob have extended a warm and friendly welcome to guests since they located to the area in 1989. Each of the ten beautifully appointed bedrooms offer understated elegance, luxurious comfort and original artwork by Rob. Michelin Star Chef Gareth Ward and his team specialise in tasting menus that are innovative, fresh and light and use the wonderful fruit, vegetables, herbs and salads grown in the kitchen garden. Relax and revive at the hotel's Wellness Centre offering a variety bespoke of holistic treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ynyshir Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ynyshir Hall Hotel Eglwys Fach
Ynyshir Hall Machynlleth
Ynyshir Hall Hotel Machynlleth
Hall Ynyshir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ynyshir Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.