We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and Welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ynyshir Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ynyshir Hall to your Saves list
Ynyshir Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eglwys Fach, Eglwys Fach SY20 8TA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eglwys Fach
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Relaxed and Welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We had an idyllic weekend, we enjoyed the food and style of the hotel with its huge benefit of only 9 rooms. This means the atmosphere is intimate and friendly. The hotel is centred on its food and it is wonderful cooking, I agree about the choices, which are a bit limited. I could I'm sure have asked for a vegetarian option on the second night, but it would have been nicer had it been on the menu and therefore considered as much as the other dishes on offer. I didn't want a off the cuff, more cobbled together "asked for" option which might miss out on this, but by the second night I was looking for a lighter option. That said, the food was balanced, and the eight courses very small (fortunately) and it was a very enjoyable culinary experience. Perhaps the exception would be the continental breakfast we had in our room, very boring, indifferent toast, uninteresting porridge, poor jam,no juice, no little elegant touches we'd come to expect ! Regarding the rooms, some of the criticisms are fair, for the money the room was small, but you notice details that wouldn't matter in a cheaper room. The window frames needed painting, the grout around the bath was black and peeling, the shower was a dribble, the mattress was past its sell by date..all this however doesn't really detrack from a lovely weekend. The staff were so lovely, gentle attention.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    21
    8
    3
    8
See reviews for
18
71
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
all over Europe
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

A nice property as such, in a scenic location. However, the management by the owner is very "special": cheap foreign staff with limited English, stained carpets, stains in the bathroom. Drinks and wine are hugely expensive (GBP 17 for a glass of Champagne). The owner/manager very much likes to be the centre of attention and complain about other guests who are "soo much trouble" - only expecting the service and amenities of a 5 star R&C establishment that expensive. Out of all the R&C hotels, this is by far the worst, particularly regarding value for money.

Room Tip: Do not take the Monet Suite: it's a converted conservatory, smells of damp, you need to cross th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011 via mobile

Lovely setting with nice grounds, but £20 for 3 coffee,s with biscuits ??? In my opinion just too expensive ?

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We had lunch here. Its an elegant and charming place, tucked away from the main road.
Very high standard of food, though the options were a bit limited. Personable staff.
Am unsure about the michelin star though.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abersoch
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the hotel last week in August

The location is wonderful and the food fab

I would say they need to install wi fi and internet connection as I am sure I was not the only visitor needing to stay in touch

Having said that it was a wonderful and restful experience and the food and ambience is really every bit as good as you are led to believe in the various guides

We enjoyed it

Chris and Jean, Abersoch

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

The Hotel is remote but set in beautiful grounds so great if you want to escape from it all. The room was excellent and spacious but let down by small bathroom which had carpet on the floor (have not seen that in many years and doesn't feel very hygenic!). It is the sort of place you probably just spend a night in en route to somewhere else, and for that it would be recommended if you have deep pockets. The food was great, although breakfast took too long to be prepared given there was only one other couple, and could do with a little background music to break the atmosphere as it was so quiet.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011 via mobile

Immaculately turned out helpful and friendly staff. Exceptional location with superb large gardens bordering the RSPB reserve so lots of fascinating bird activity. Gourmet menu could do with some simpler options for those who prefer plainer dishes. Studio wing rooms need refurbishment especially the bathrooms and plumbing which were well below expected standard

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ynyshir Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ynyshir Hall

Address: Eglwys Fach, Eglwys Fach SY20 8TA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Eglwys Fach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eglwys Fach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ynyshir Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant candle-lit restaurant sparkles with its crystal glassware and polished cutlery. Its calm atmosphere against a scenic backdrop make it a very soothing room to enjoy the pleasures of the fine food. Our chef, Gareth Ward is one of Britain's rising stars. Formerly of Sat Bains in Nottingham and Hambleton Hall, he and his enthusiastic young team are dedicated to producing the best of Modern British Cuisine. They have a wealth of superb local ingredients to work with - Cardigan Bay teems with succulent seafood - There is wild salmon in the local rivers - There is Venison and Game in abundance - Welsh Black Beef is second to none - and of course we have tender sweet Welsh Mountain Lamb. The surrounding area is so unpolluted it is the perfect location for foraging the wonderful wild food available to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ynyshir Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ynyshir Hall Hotel Eglwys Fach
Ynyshir Hall Machynlleth
Ynyshir Hall Hotel Machynlleth
Hall Ynyshir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ynyshir Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.