We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant at Ynyshir Hall

Restaurant at Ynyshir Hall
Eglwys Fach, Eglwys Fach SY20 8TA, Wales
+44 1654 781209
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $43 - $129
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a restaurant of international standard both in terms of quality of food and of service. The setting in Queen Victoria's hunting lodge is sumptuous and staff and owners pull a neat trick by making you feel at once part of the family and royalty.
The chefs are superb and understand their ingredients very well. Slight adaptations to suit the individual will always work.
I can't praise Ynys Hir highly enough. Although prices are relatively high (for the area) this place represents the best value for money for perhaps 100 miles!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    23
    6
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
north wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dinner with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

On the whole good food, some of the savouries were considered too sweet.
Lunches were better.
We went too early in the season, no atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull uk
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Loverly setting but large portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The food was very good but rather large portions especially after the canapes and extra courses provided.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The best food you will find in this area by a mile!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Ynyshir Hall is an oasis of calm and tranquility offering excellent service and some of the best food I have experienced anywhere. We always look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lunch at your leisure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The setting and the service is formal, but friendly and the food is imaginative with beautiful flavours. Went out there for a special lunch treat and that is exactly what we got. I had pheasant terrine and then mallard finishing with cheeses. My wife had a cauliflower veloute, then salmon finishing with a wonderful chocolate dessert. Extensive wine list, which will assist in blowing any budget. All in all we had a great lunch and a great day out

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at Ynyshir Hall also viewed

Machynlleth, Powys
Pennal, Snowdonia National Park
 
Aberaeron, Ceredigion
Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Restaurant at Ynyshir Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant at Ynyshir Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.