We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Vacation!! Can't wait to go back!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ghivizzano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Loc. Camparlese 6 | Lucca, 55025 Ghivizzano, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Week Long Discount
Ranked #1 of 2 Ghivizzano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blountstown, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Vacation!! Can't wait to go back!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

A visit to the bed and breakfast “Casa La Pace” in Ghivizzano, Italy is more than just a vacation, it is a life changing adventure. Rusty and Pepper, have taken a circa 1740 home in the “new part” of the village and turned it into a magically amazing destination. Over spring break we and our 16 year old nephew took our first trip to this remote area in the mountains of Tuscany. Not only did Rusty and Pepper function as our hosts, but provided the services of tour guides, chauffeurs, history professors, travel agents and close friends. They both made the trip seamless and gave us a home away from home. They introduced us to their neighbors and the close friends in their lives as well as the characters that make the town so interesting. We were even greeted by the mayor of Ghivizzano when we arrived at Casa La Pace!
The countryside was of indescribable beauty. From our bedroom window we viewed the “old part” of town dating back to 923 A.D. Even though it was a cold, wet spring for this area, the mountains were breath taking and the scenery as a whole was magnificent.
One of the most impressive aspects of this small community was the residents. So happy and vibrant, these non-English speaking people treated us as long, lost friends. Frequently, we were invited upon introduction in for something to drink or eat. But what fascinated us the most was their love for the United States. The under 65 generation could tell us more about American TV shows, celebrities and movies than we knew and their ultimate dream often was to visit the U.S. The over 65 population had a different appreciation that was repeated many times. During WW II, this area was occupied by Germans and was liberated by U.S. troops. Many U.S. Buffalo Soldiers gave their lives in this endeavor. The residents’ appreciation for the sacrifice of U.S. lives for a country that was not their own was heartfelt, genuine and ran very deep. As one gentleman in his 80’s exclaimed “If it wasn’t for the US, there would be no Italy. If Italy called me to fight, I would say ‘No!’ If the US called me to fight, I would be on the front lines!”
The food in the area was fantastic. This community has embraced the concept of “Slow Food” which represents the opposite of fast food. All restaurants used fresh produce created by and bought from local producers. From vegetables and fruits, to breads, cheeses and meats, the flavors were remarkable and the pride in their products palpable. One sad aspect that we saw repeated was very few patrons in most of the restaurants. Italy’s economy has taken a major hit and small businesses are struggling much like the U.S.
As a part of our trip we did visit Florence and Pisa which held their own places of interest. But by far, experiencing the small town life in this quiet, out of the way community with good friends was the best escape we could have asked for. We encourage everyone who is able to make a trip to Casa La Pace which means “House of Peace”. We promise that it will be a trip of a life time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaLaPace, Owner at Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear RitaP405,

Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast would like to thank you for your remarkable review. You've covered all the bases, from the valley to the village to our home. We are really pleased that you provided such a complete description of Casa La Pace and its environs. You have captured in words the 'indescribable beauty' of the Serchio Valley.

We always hope that our guests will make great memories during their time with us. From your descriptions, we feel confident that you did so and that your time here was emotionally and intellectually satisfying.

We enjoy meeting new people and spending time with our guests. More importantly, we feel like you're old friends now.

We look forward to your next visit to Casa La Pace.

Your hosts, Rusty and Pepper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
56
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I returned to Orlando in October and missed Casa La Pace, Rusty and Pepper so much, I booked a flight in January to return in March!

I don't know what I can say that I didn't say in my last review. It is just AMAZING! Rusty and Pepper take care of every little detail, you want for nothing and they truly care about their guests! By the time you leave you feel like family.

Casa La Pace is in the perfect place to set up your home base if you are travelling in Tuscany. It is such a quick train trip from here to Lucca, Pisa and even Florence. Honestly, after just spending a few days at Casa La Pace, you won't want to even leave Ghivizzano!

I can't recommed Casa La Pace enough. I truly hope you consider staying and if you do, you won't regret it, I promise!

I can't wait to return in October! :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent 2 1/2 weeks at Casa la Pace during the holidays. It was one of the best holidays I have had. This is our third stay at Casa La Pace. It gets better every time. We lived the village life for those weeks. This has to be the friendliest village in Italy and what can I say about the hosts, Pepper and Rusty. They went above and beyond. They are fantastic people. Made us feel at home. They were very knowledgeable. Introduced us to the people in the village. We made a lot if new friends. Casa La Pace is near the train station. You can go on day trips and come back to this wonderful place.. We are already planning our next trip to Casa La Pace. If you want a home away from home this is the place to go. Thank you Rusty and Pepper for such a wonderful trip.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have lived in Germany and travelled Europe extensively, but my stay at Casa La Pace was by far the best experience I have had. If you want to live and learn the culture of Italy firsthand, I highly recommend an extended stay at the Casa La Pace. We felt as if we had stepped back in time with a view of the restored medieval city of Alto Ghivizzano on the hillside above and the lovely, energetic village of Ghivizzano below. We enjoyed viewing and listening to the beautiful small rippling river with its clear, pure water winding down the hillside. As we strolled down to the village each day, we were in awe of the beauty and peace of the countryside and of the joy and delight of its people. Each person we encountered seemed truly thrilled to have us visit their village and to share their pride in it. One need never leave Ghivizzano to experience all of the best that Italy has to offer. There is a bakery that will bake gluten free upon request, a local bar/café with homemade Gelato, delicious coffee, hot cocoa, and sandwiches. The local Pizzeria serves lip-smacking pizza, gluten free dishes upon request, and freshly cooked meats and veggies daily at the most affordable prices we found in Italy. There is also a fruit market, hairdresser, flower shop, gift shops, bank with ATM. It is amazing a village so small can offer so much.

You might not want to leave Casa La Pace once you arrive because we received the most incredible care and the highest quality of service one could hope for. Our rooms were spacious, clean, beautifully decorated and comfortable beyond compare, with views that took our breath away. We would wake to an incredible breakfast each morning with a full spread of Italian delights including freshly baked breads/pastries, eggs, local meats and cheeses, local teas, fresh coffee, local honey and much more. Rusty and Pepper use organic products and support the “slow movement” which means most of what they serve comes from farmers or merchants in the village or within a 20 mile radius. I eat gluten free and was overjoyed with the variety of foods and baked goods provided for me each day. Yum!!

If you should decide to venture out to visit some of the larger cities you can easily do so each day and be back to Ghivizzano in time for a good night’s rest. Do not pass up the opportunity to take the tours provided by Pepper and Rusty. Each tour was packed with an incredible amount of information rich with stories of the culture, architectural design, modern life and lives of the people who have occupied it. In every city, Rusty and Pepper know the best places to stop for meals and coffee along the way. We took the Lucca and Florence tour and felt like royalty as we were guided along with our own private tour guide. Rusty and Pepper delight in sharing the country they love so much, and their love for it is contagious. I will be back. Thank you Pepper and Rusty!

Room Tip: Every room is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaLaPace, Owner at Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear TrishltheTravelling1 ,

Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast wants to thank you for your terrific review. Your submission was sheer poetry, full of the sights and sounds of the valley. You captured so beautifully the generous spirit of our neighbors and friends; we felt proud reading it.

There are benefits to travelling late in the season, long after the masses of tourists have returned home. While the weather may not have been optimal, you made the best of each day. We are happy that you enjoyed your time here so much, in spite of the rain. We hope to see you again very soon at Casa La Pace.

With appreciation, your hosts – Rusty and Pepper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I recently went to Italy. My second trip and his first. We had heard about Casa La Pace- Rusty and Pepper- from a friend who had recently stayed and loved it. We started our trip in Florence, then to Rome, and finally ended in Ghivizzano. Much to our surprise the best part of our entire trip was staying at Casa La Pace. Rusty and Pepper really make you feel at home immediately. Its incredible to be in another country and feel so comfortable and like you've been friends your whole life. Casa La Pace was the best place we stayed by far, not just because of the beautiful view, comfortable rooms, or the real Italian breakfasts every morning. Rusty and Pepper really seal the deal. They are so kind, helpful, and fun! We were looking for flights to come back before we even left. We will always stay at Casa La Pace every trip to Italy, and are looking forward to bringing friends and family back with us!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautifully updated. The Victoria Room has an incredible view of the valley. But y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaLaPace, Owner at Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Lindsey S,

Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast thanks you for your wonderful review. Firenze and Roma are vibrant cities and Ghivizzano can't offer similar touristic stimulation. But our valley is tranquil and offers a chance to catch your breath and unwind. We love Ghivizzano and we are happy when others enjoy it, too.

We are also honored that you appreciated our efforts to make you feel at home. We strive to create a welcoming environment, especially for first-time visitors to Italy.

Pepper and I sometimes don't get to know each guest as well as well as we'd like. Fortunately, we were able to spend ample time with you and your husband. We now count you as friends and we look forward to your next visit to Casa La Pace.

With appreciation, your hosts – Rusty and Pepper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had a fantastic time. The service and friendliness were phenomenal. Rusty and Pepper went above and beyond. They helped with information and suggestions for our stay and were fantastic guides when we needed assistance. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

What can I say? It was our 20th anniversary trip and I had high expectations. But, Rusty and Pepper with their Casa La Pace surpassed every expectation. Not only were they superb hosts, but they also shared tips to help us navigate Italian travel, food, culture and life. Plus, because of Pepper and Rusty’s relationships in the village and surrounding area, we were able to see places and to interact in close and personal ways with the people.

As for Casa La Pace itself, you can tell that it was lovingly restored with all the modern conveniences blending beautifully with an older Italian home.

I had never met them before this trip, but after two weeks at Casa La Pace, we felt like we had gained new family. My husband and I travel frequently, and have returned more than once to only one other location. However, we are already anticipating our next trip to Casa La Pace in Ghivizzano, Italy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaLaPace, Owner at Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Deborah W,

Thank you for your kind review of Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast. You and your husband took great interest in exploring our area and meeting the people of our little village. We are glad to know you enjoyed your time with us.

We feel privileged to share special moments with our guests, like your anniversary. Our several dinners together were always interesting and your visit flew by. Like you, we feel that we've expanded our family by two members. We look forward to your return visit.

With appreciation,

Your hosts – Rusty and Pepper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ghivizzano
3.7 mi away
Albergo Ristorante Corona
Albergo Ristorante Corona
#2 of 5 in Bagni di Lucca
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
11.3 mi away
Villa La Bianca
Villa La Bianca
#3 of 56 in Camaiore
5.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
4.6 mi away
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Re...
#1 of 1 in Castelvecchio Pascoli
4.5 of 5 stars 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
B&B Il Melograno
B&B Il Melograno
#1 of 5 in Gallicano
5.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
11.1 mi away
San Gennaro Castello B & B
San Gennaro Castello B & B
#1 of 1 in San Gennaro Collodi
5.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
3.6 mi away
B&B Villa Rosalena
B&B Villa Rosalena
#2 of 8 in Bagni di Lucca
5.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast

Address: Loc. Camparlese 6 | Lucca, 55025 Ghivizzano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Ghivizzano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ghivizzano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast is in Ghivizzano, nestled in the Serchio Valley between the Apuan Alps and the Apennines. Ghivizzano is a wonderful medieval village with an historical center. We offer accommodations in a friendly and relaxing atmosphere. Casa La Pace has been completely restored and tastefully decorated. We have several common rooms where guests can gather by the fireplace, watch TV, or quietly read a book. We also offer Internet and wireless access for your convenience. We are a short train ride from Lucca, Pisa, & Florence. Nearby are several restaurants offering a wide variety of Italian dishes. There is also a bakery, a pastry shop, post office, and bar within walking distance. If relaxation is your ideal vacation, there are thermal bathhouses and spas nearby. For those who enjoy the outdoors, the Serchio Valley and the Garfagnana offer hiking trails, scenic mountains and dramatic gorges. Scattered throughout the valley are many medieval villages to explore, each with its own history, architecture, and cuisine. Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast is perfect for exploring the beauty and history of northern Tuscany. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa La Pace Bed And Breakfast Italy/Ghivizzano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.