We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go out of my way to stay here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White River Motel

White River Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in White River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White River Motel
210 Highway 17 | White River, White River, Ontario P0M 3G0, Canada   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in White River
White River, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Go out of my way to stay here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I would never stay anywhere else along this stretch of highway. The owners are so kind and thoughtful. The rooms/suites have always been clean as a whistle, and the property maintained to the standard that you would for your own home. I've travelled from coast to coast and back again a couple of times. Believe me, this level of facility and service in a roadside motel is not common! Best of all, they treat you like a returning friend.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
12
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

White River Motel was not too bad for a roadside motel in the middle of Northern Wilderness. The price was good and people at the check-in were very friendly. To be honest, I have never stayed in a roadside motel, but my husband and I needed a one night sleep on our way back to Southern ON from out West. Rooms on the first floor have fans, rooms on the second floor have room air conditioners. The bed was fairly comfortable and the room was clean.....2 major factors when seeking accommodation. Across the street is another motel that has a restaurant (didn't eat there) and next door is Robin's Donuts. Also, across the street is a park dedicated to Winnie the Pooh (the bear the story is based on was purchased here in White River - interesting trivia....).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Very clean place for a motel on the side of the highway in the middle of nowhere. Nothing lavish or modern here aside from the LCD TV in the room, but very clean, which is important for a motel like this. Right across the street from the Winnie The Pooh statue.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

traveling to calgary and back decided to stay at this motel on july 22 on the way to calgary because of the reviews here. the motel was super clean well maintained, stayed around back up stairs. did not want to leave the room was great . fairly large, microwave ,coffee maker with real coffee mugs. great shower and great staff. on our way back we stayed again july 31. when i called to book a room they informed me that they had one room left and it was a smoking room, it was getting late and i was driving for 13 hours so we decided to take it. it was downstairs at the front not as nice as our other room no ac no table but it was a large room with great comfortable beds, i slept so well i ended up leaving late the next morning. if i am in the area again i will stay here again and i would recoment this motel it is well worth the price they charge(very reasonable rates) thank you with river motel you added to a great vacation

Room Tip: try up stairs at the back for air conditioned rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanwood, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stay at the White River Motel at least twice a year before our fly-in fishing and hunting trips with White River Air. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the hospitality is second to none. We are always greeted with a warm smile and friendly conversation at the front desk and with the beds as comfortable as they are, we return year after year. I would highly recommend this motel to anyone traveling to or through this beautiful part of Ontario.

Rod Young

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlington
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

They stole 100 dollars off our credit card. Can't stand people that think they can rip people off just because they have our credit card number. They had no issues with us when we checked out it wasn't untill a few days later that they took the liberty of over charging us. Totally rude and dishonest.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathroy, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed at White River Motel 11 March 2012 for one night. Reception treated us very well with a good exchange of warmth and laughter. Our room was very warm and free of draughts; it is especially important at this time of the year! White River Motel has myriad amenities, is very clean and appealing, and we think that the value is excellent for this motel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Still looking for a hotel?
Travelers also viewed these White River hotels
Continental Motel 3.5 of 5 stars 6 reviews
View all 1 hotels in White River, ranked by popularity

Been to White River Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White River Motel

Address: 210 Highway 17 | White River, White River, Ontario P0M 3G0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > White River
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in White River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
White River Hotel Ontario
White River Motel Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White River Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added White River Motel to your Saves list