We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great last minute find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverhead Brewery Tap and Dining Room

Riverhead Brewery Tap and Dining Room
2 Peel Street, Marsden, Huddersfield HD7 6BR, England
+44 1484 844324
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 8 Restaurants in Marsden
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $27
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great last minute find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We found this place after a short steep walk on the hills around Marsden, arriving just a few minutes before the kitchen closed. We couldn't have been made more welcome, & were not forced to rush our meal.

As soon as I saw triple chocolate..... on the desert menu, I was hooked! & I'm pleased to say, neither we were disappointed. The food was perfectly cooked - pork so tender it just fell off when the fork touched it. The triple chocolate desert is delicious, & they have a number of real cask ales brewed on site. We shall certainly be returning very soon!

The restaurant doesn't lend itself to intimate dining, it has quite a rustic feel & the tables are wide. As a couple we felt quite distanced from each other. But the quality of the food & service more than makes up for it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    35
    10
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Did the job, but plenty of room for improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We visited here on Saturday with a family group of 5 adults.

The dining room above the pub is a nice spot, but very busy, and particularly thanks to weekend ale -trailers, was very noisy.

We went for the set menu with most opting for the chicken liver pate starter and the Belly pork and Black pudding main.

The pate was nice, but served with an overly sweet onion jam and perplexedly the bread (not toasted) was sat atop the dressed salad leaves, so by the time it got to the table, it was wet and soggy.

The main course was OK and the belly pork well cooked and plentiful, but served with haggis, not black pudding as advertised. Selections of veg were bought to the table, but all were overcooked and grey...with the exception of the cauliflower which had an unnerving orange tinge to it.

Overall the food was OK, and despite the noise the surroundings were nice...but the service (apart from the young guy who served the food) was really poor. The staff who were sullen-faced, slow, inattentive and in no way friendly or welcoming really let the place down. Definitely room for improvement.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Food (and Beer I`m told)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We did a small part of the trans-pennine real ale trip and this place was the best. I am told the beer was the best of the trip and our lunch in the restaurant upstairs was excellent. If it is a Saturday, book for lunch and get there early before the hoards.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My family visited the Riverhead Brewery on a Saturday in February. We booked a meal in the restaurant for 5:30pm when we arrived the pub was absolutely rammed with people on the Ale Trail you literally could not move we eventually made our way to the restaurant, the staff could not have been nicer they didn't mind that we were early allowing us o use our table to have drinks before we ordered our meal. the food was excellent and the surrounds more than pleasant. Fabulous.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Food is excellent and service the best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Second time of visiting the upstairs restaurant. Was really impressed the first time and even more so this week. Very slow Thursday evening in the snow and we were very early but staff both downstairs and upstairs were very welcoming and made every effort to make us comfortable. Portions are huge and only down side here was I was too full to try the tempting dessert menu. My mum had too much on her plate but there was no problem in getting the leftovers to take away in a plastic box. Our waitress, Kim, told us that we could order small portions in future for anyone and not just children. Food is delicious, presentation is as good as any London restaurant who would charge double the prices and the atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. Will definitely be back and only wish there were more places like this real gem.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverhead Brewery Tap and Dining Room also viewed

Marsden, Huddersfield
 
Marsden, Huddersfield
Marsden, Huddersfield
 

Been to Riverhead Brewery Tap and Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverhead Brewery Tap and Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.