We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homemade food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The New Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The New Inn to your Saves list
The New Inn
Manchester Road, Marsden, Huddersfield HD7 6EZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Marsden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Homemade food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Had lunch here on a Sunday afternoon. It was lovely to have real homemade chips and the steak and ale pie was gorgeous too. Staff warm and friendly and they allowed us to stay in their car park whilst we walked around the local shops.I was permitted to use my electronic cigarette , which also made me feel even more welcome.
Definitely would return and recommend to friends. The rooms looked nice too in the brochure and would like to stay if over that way again.

Room Tip: Didn't stay overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    17
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
15
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed for 1 night in this lovey hotel/pub for a nice night away from the daily grind. The room was cosy and wecolming. We also ate here and the menu was really good. We opted for 2 starters and mussels for our main.All washed down with some very nice wine. It is a very inexpensive menu but top quality and beautifully presented. We also had opted for breakfast and this was of a very high standard too. The pub itself is set in a beautiful village which is well worth a wander around. We will definetly be going back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed for 1 night while attending a nearby wedding.Room was average and had a good nights sleep.The bathroom was well appointed and had a really good hot shower.We were at the front of the hotel and there was some road noise but not too bad.The breakfast was excellent and plenty of it.Perhaps a bit pricey for a pub B&B but understandable due to its location.

Room Tip: Avoid room 3 because of road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stopped for one night. Room was average, had a good power shower and bed was comfortable. Was very hot so had to have window open and as we were on the main road it was VERY noisy. Not sure if it was locals or ale trail people but lots of screaming, shouting and swearing in the early hours of the morning. Would recommend ear plugs if you are in a room facing the front. Smelt a bit musty in corridor, a bit unpleasant. Staff were friendly though and breakfast was very good, lots of good quality produce and a good vegetarian option.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

lovely inn warm and welcoming, staff friendly and efficient, home comforts,rooms large and well equipped for a comfortable stay.

Dave does a wonderful hearty breakfast to set you up for the day using locally sourced tasty produce

Meals in the restaurant are good value, tasty and plentiful

Room Tip: We had a lovely room at the front, very comfortable, spacious and well equipped. Enjoyed watching...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed at the New Inn in Marsden for 1 night. Very nice staff, friendly and very helpful.
The room was very nice and clean. I had a excellent meal in the evening and a very nice breakfast.
I'll most definitely come back!
Marsden is located in a very beautiful area of the Pennines

Tomas in Sweden

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Been here on more than one occasion and can't fault anything really. The menu is not overbearing with just the right amount of choices. The food is simplistic, fresh and full of flavour. The Sunday lunch is especially good. Great service,superb value and a cracking chef.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn

Address: Manchester Road, Marsden, Huddersfield HD7 6EZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield > Marsden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Marsden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marsden became famous for its growing textile trade, resulting in the development of dwelling houses for workers and the social scene of public houses, established in 1787, The New Inn orginally offered stabling for 24 horse, accomodation and refreshments, upto to 10 coaches a day were welcomed summer and winter alike. Today most customers arrive by a different form of horsepower but we gaurantee you'll recieve the same warm welcome. In the winter the log fire will be lit by the bar, and in the summer we offer outside dining in what will be our brand new beer garden around the back away from the main road.We serve a range of cask ales, and real home cooked food. We're open all day everyday, Monday to Friday we serve food 12 - 2.30pm and 5 - 9pm, Saturday, Sunday and Bank holidays we serve food all day.Why not make a night of it and stay in one of our beautifully renovated bedrooms? Some are extra special with four-poster beds and whirlpool baths. All are fully ensuite with bath, shower & luxury toiletries and digital TV with Freeview channels.Families, walkers, cyclists and dogs are always very welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Inn Marsden, West Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.