We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what was needed after a walk with the dog!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The New Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The New Inn to your Saves list
The New Inn
Manchester Road, Marsden HD7 6EZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Marsden B&B and Inns
West Yorks
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just what was needed after a walk with the dog!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

After a long dog walk we needed somewhere to eat that would welcome the dog as well as us! I could not fault the hospitality of The New Inn, really friendly and attentive staff. We sat in the Lounge area which was dog friendly and a really pleasant setting. The food was great and reasonably priced. Will definitely be returning. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    13
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed their on my own as I was attending a wedding nearby and I was really impressed at the size and cosiness of the room - along with the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff. The bar/restaurant looked really nice and had a relaxed atmosphere with fellow guests raving about the food. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. I'll def be returning!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at The New Inn on 22nd March with my best friends (one of which was getting married the next day) we had a lovely stay that was made even better by the helpfulness of the staff and owners of the New inn, they allowed us to get ready in the bar downstairs ad the previous owners had not passed on the details of the late check out that we had boomed so that we had time to get ready for the big day. They also organised a tractor to try to clear the way to hey green (it had snowed really heavily throughout the night and the previous day) the hotel my friend was due to get married in (as the owners of that particular place we're worried about it being a health and safety risk if they were to do it themselves!) and they gave us bridesmaids a lift to the hey green in their landrovers with the wedding car sandwiched between just to make sure we all managed to get there. They definitely went above and beyond to help make sure Hollie's and Matthews day was the perfect day they had been dreaming of. I'd like to say a huge THANK YOU to everyone at the hotel for helping to make it all possible. I will definitely stay here again if I ever need to stay in or around Marsden and couldn't recommend it highly enough to others, thanks again, Becky x x x

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Since the new owners took over in January they have made some really great improvements. It has changed from being a cold, uninviting, non atmospheric place to a warm, cosy and welcoming venue with a relaxed atmosphere. The new owners are enthuasistic and are striving to continually improve the food menu, drinks and surroundings.

It is really good to see some familiar faces from the original team and service with a smile is guaranteed if Danni and Sarah are working!

We have called in for just a drink and have also eaten several times. We have been very impressed with the changes to the menu and the quality and standard of the food. The food is now all freshly prepared to order - what a difference! The hand pulled beers are well kept and taste really good and there is a good wine choice.

The new owners and staff make everyone welcome and are happy to go the extra mile for customers.

Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed at the new Inn with my bridesmaids the night before our wedding. Even though it was the end of March, there were 6 foot snow drifts and blocked roads, the worst I've ever known. After being told the road to the wedding venue was virtually impassable, the staff at the New Inn arranged for a tractor to plough the road and ensured two 4x4's were available to take the wedding party to the venue and reassured us they would make sure we got there. Definitely above and beyond. The rooms we stayed in were lovely and clean and warm, the breakfast was lovely and a very reasonable price. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
395 reviews 395 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed following a wedding, and as a family occupied three rooms. The rooms were warm and spacious, and afforded a good night's sleep for all. I cannot comment on the food, as we ate elsewhere. We would stay again.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

The New Inn has recently changed hands. I used to be a regular here as I live local and the food was great. Towards the end of the last ownership things had slipped, the food reduced in price and quality and the place was looking very tired.
At the beginning of January the pub was taken over by a local family and they have made some great improvements. All eating rooms have had a lick of paint which has made such a difference and the bar area now feels like a pub rather than a waiting room. There is also a new menu, sandwiches and specials 12 till 2:30 then the full evening menu 2:30 till 9. We ate from the specials menu and were glad to see a return to good quality food at good prices. I had fish and chips, the fish was white and flakey with a good crisp batter with home made fat chips and mushy peas. My partner had ham and eggs which again was much improved from previous offerings.
Some familiar faces remain behind the bar making it a warm welcome. All in all a much better place to visit than it has been for many months.

P.S The drink prices have also been dropped to regular pub levels rather than restaurant prices. Even more reason to go!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn

Address: Manchester Road, Marsden HD7 6EZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Marsden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Marsden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marsden became famous for its growing textile trade, resulting in the development of dwelling houses for workers and the social scene of public houses, established in 1787, The New Inn orginally offered stabling for 24 horse, accomodation and refreshments, upto to 10 coaches a day were welcomed summer and winter alike. Today most customers arrive by a different form of horsepower but we gaurantee you'll recieve the same warm welcome. In the winter the log fire will be lit by the bar, and in the summer we offer outside dining in what will be our brand new beer garden around the back away from the main road.We serve a range of cask ales, and real home cooked food. We're open all day everyday, Monday to Friday we serve food 12 - 2.30pm and 5 - 9pm, Saturday, Sunday and Bank holidays we serve food all day.Why not make a night of it and stay in one of our beautifully renovated bedrooms? Some are extra special with four-poster beds and whirlpool baths. All are fully ensuite with bath, shower & luxury toiletries and digital TV with Freeview channels.Families, walkers, cyclists and dogs are always very welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Inn Marsden, West Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.