We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really,really good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Olive Branch Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marsden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Olive Branch Inn
Save
You added The Olive Branch Inn to your Saves list
Manchester Road, Marsden HD7 6LU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marsden
lincolnshire UK
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“really,really good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed one night en-route to the lakes. Opted for the sleep stay at £60 Excellent large room at the back ("The Serengeti") - the front may have been noisier but its a quiet place at night. Big en-suite. Great little self service breakfast with cereal,toast,biscuits, tea,coffee,water. The previous night we had a very good meal too. Friendly people. Would stay again without question.

They do need to replace the window sealed unit which has misted up and spoils the view!

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms.2 facing the road and one at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    11
    5
    2
    6
See reviews for
5
30
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We live in Huddersfield but the opposite end if town - we were heading to Titanic Spa a short distance away and wanted an overnight stay nearby rather than going home for our 12th wedding anniversary and celebrating 20 years together. The Olive Branch offered the Simply Sleep deal for £60 which was v reasonable compared to other places we had looked at. We arrived at 9.30pm and had had a courteous email a week before confirming our stay and arrangements for contact should we arrive when the restaurant wasn't open. Overhaul the room was v good - we stayed in the room at the back - Serengeti room - which was furnished beautifully clean and also had a large bathrm. We didn't have a cooked breakfast the following morning as we thought £10 each was a lot to pay on top of the room - no doubt the breakfast would have been good looking at reviews of the food here but we settled for the help yourself continental breakfast available outside the room. Good choice of coffee, cereals, fresh juice and bread left to toast. Nice hand written message left in the morning saying - good morning serengeti! :) We found the room comfirtable in temperature, clean, and spacious. It wasn't particularly noisey from the bar nor from the main road. We would def consider stating over again. Thanks too to the young lady who greeted us and showed us to our room - she was very polite friendly and professional :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Warm and cosy with excellent food, good service and friendly efficient staff. The early doors menu on Monday to Thursday...three courses with a half bottle of decent wine for £20 per person is a bargain. Dined there for 14 consecutive nights and would do it again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We visit this restaurant on a regular basis as the food is perfectly cooked and staff lovely. It is not cheap pub grub or bog standard meals. If you want a special night out with something a little different then i would highly recommend. They have a web site where you can see a sample of their menus if you are not an adventurous foodie! Cant comment on the rooms as we live in the area and have never stayed overnight.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We recently dined at this beautiful little restaurant, it's very quaint with a warm lovely atmosphere. The staff were so helpful and friendly, nothing too much trouble. We dined on a special voucher for two at £70, the mussells in garlic and cream were the best I've ever tasted, followed by slow roast pork, my husband was more than pleased with his superbly cooked steak, desserts, what can I say, neither of us have a sweet tooth, however, we were given a platter of six mini (not so mini) desserts, gosh we could belive it when we cleared the platter. I forgot to mention, prior to our starter, we were given delicious home made bread with balsamic and oil, then between our starter and main course, compliments of the chef, lovely cup of soup. All in all one of the best meals we have had in long time, and such value for money, however, looking at the prices I would be more than happy to pay full price as it is so reasonable. I did notice they also do a 'Steak' night and a 'Fish' night so we will be back, thankyou to the staff who made this such a lovely evening out for us. Pam & Derek

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We had Christmas Day lunch at the Olive Branch. The meal was absolutely superb and the service second to none. The atmosphere from upon arrival to departing was one of relaxation and the staff were very confident and did not fluster. We go out each Christmas and speak from experience when we say that it was a pleasure to be dining at this establishment. There was nothing we cold fault and when we asked for a "breather" between courses, there was no problem. I could not eat my trio of desserts so I asked to take home one of them. They duly placed my desserts in a container, with our name, and left it in the fridge until we were ready to depart. Again, nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011 via mobile

We booked for dinner, on a cold Wednesday night. Received a warm welcome, but were not told until after we ordered that certain items not available or there was only one portion, this is always annoying. The kitchen has a competent team and could not fault the food, though I thought slightly overpriced. It does offer a cheaper small choice menu for early dinners which seems good value. Probably would not visit again unless for a special occasion.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Olive Branch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olive Branch Inn

Address: Manchester Road, Marsden HD7 6LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Marsden
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marsden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Olive Branch Inn Marsden, West Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Olive Branch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.