We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good on the accommodation detail but less so on what is more important” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Fountaine Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linton-in-Craven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Fountaine Inn
Save
You added The Fountaine Inn to your Saves list
The Green, Linton-in-Craven, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 5HJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Banbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good on the accommodation detail but less so on what is more important”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The bedrooms were thoughtfully converted with good quality fittings, ipod dock, decent TV, bathrobes, coffee facilities etc and were spotlessly clean. Unfortunately two issues significantly spoil a comfortable stay; the temperature that could not be reduced below 22 degrees (despite the outside temperature being less than 12) and noise from adjoining rooms; the pub welcomes dogs and we had one that persistently yapped in the next room which, combined with children that were playing in the room above and were clearly audible from six in the morning, did little towards any rural tranquillity. The restaurant rather resembled a crèche with crayoning paraphernalia provided to keep the children happy; great if you are a family but not for those who seek a peaceful dining experience. Food is generous in quantity and OK in quality but vegetables are generally an 'extra' which may explain why, of the three courses selected by the two neighbouring families, there was not a single contribution to the 'five a day';- roast beef and NO veg; each to their own! The pub is otherwise attractive with a good choice of reasonably priced beers and wines and pleasant service. Our final bill for our weekend was incorrect and their ultimate acknowledgement was more begrudging than apologetic which was an unnecessary pity.

Room Tip: Go in the winter and make sure there are no dogs or children in adjoining rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    26
    3
    7
    1
See reviews for
18
54
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Formby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Popped in on way to kettlewell for lunch and it was great! Garlic mushrooms to die for and Chips superb! Had fish cakes too and hot beef sandwich. All washed down with a top pint of wharfdale blonde. Top notch- we will be back for sure. Really helpful bar man and clean throughout !

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed two nights at the Fountaine Inn to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we really enjoyed our stay there. The ground floor room was lovely and clean, and although quite small, provided us with everything we could possibly need. We dined in the pub on both evenings and the food was excellent. Linton is a real picture postcard village and must be one of the nicest villages in the whole of the Yorkshire Dales.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lancashire, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

The Fountaine Inn has an advantage straight away, being situated in Linton, which is 'chocolate box' pretty. Staying overnight, we got a great welcome and super service from start to finish. Though it's quite a smart place attracting visitors(like us!), it was pleasing to see it was also a 'local', with folks chatting around the bar. The restaurant is very good indeed. Excellent choice on the menu, generous portions with attractive presentation and basically, really good food. The staff are young locals, who are friendly and do their job very well indeed. Any request was met with a smile, a 'certainly' and immediate response. We stayed in Alm's View. A surprise here as we didn't realise (hadn't read the description?) that it was separate from the main building. Wow! Someone knows how to do interiors. Lovely. Well thought through little extras too e.g. a fridge with fresh milk, not those stupid little uht cartons, quirky crockery, bathrobes. It wasn't perfect however; how sad. The green, emergency ceiling light (think that's what it was) a good thing in principle, was on all night and so the room wasn't really very dark, which in our case at least, was a disturbance. The main minus was the loud, very loud extractor fan from the kitchen. Alm's View overlooks the back of the main building and said big extractor. It was switched on at 4.50 a.m. Granted, after about twenty minutes it was switched off but this was a brief respite because very shortly after it went on again and stayed on. The option was leave the window open and have the noise, or close it for a quieter but very warm room.
I can't then give the Fountaine Inn100% only a 98.99%! Go there, it's smashing.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed here last week for 3 nights - excellent in every way, most of all the staff were exceptional. Good value, food and wine good, great atmosphere as popular with locals as well.

Possibly ask for first floor room next time as dogs allowed on ground floor. Great if you have a dog though...

Love to return

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Stopped for lunch with 5 others in the delightful village of Linton, and in the wonderful pub the Fountaine.
Ale and steak pie always goes down well in the middle of a long walk, but these were genuinely very good.
Service was polite prompt and helpful. The village had many parked cars but it was a bank holiday and to be fair they must have been using it as a walk base as the pub and village themselves weren't crowded. We can't expect to be the only people in such a nice spot! I'd certainly go back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We spent a night in the lovely studio room. It was clean and comfortable with lots of nice extras. We had booked a table in the restaurant and we were feeling rather hungry after a lengthy walk. There was a wide choice of dishes, and the young waitress was exceptionally helpful when taking our order. What she didn't explain however was that the portions were huge. I rarely leave food on my plate but even I was beaten. The following morning, breakfast was absolutely delicious and of similar proportions. I would undoubtedly stay here again next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fountaine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fountaine Inn

Address: The Green, Linton-in-Craven, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 5HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Linton-in-Craven
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Linton-in-Craven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful Country Inn set in the most idyllic village in the Yorkshire Dales National Park! With dining room, traditional bar & roaring log fire coupled with real Yorkshire hand pulled ales and great plates of home cooked food it has all the essential ingredients for the perfect break! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fountaine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.