We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fountaine Inn

The Fountaine Inn
Linton, Linton-in-Craven, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 5HJ, England
01756 752210
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Sheffield
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Travelling from Sheffield to the Lakes we decided to go via the Yorkshire Dales and to stop off for lunch on the way. We were looking for a nice pub with decent food and we found it at The Fountaine. It was a lovely sunny day and the pub had a great atmosphere. There were Morris Dancers outside and we were told we could be served our food in the restaurant or outside including on the green. We opted for inside and had a lovely meal. I had the meat plank which was plenty for one and my husband had the fish and chips which he loved. The service was great and we would definitely return if we were in the area. Visit The Fountaine, it's lovely!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Fountaine Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Cheers and chuffed to bits all was to your liking! Please come and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    94
    73
    20
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and unbelievable value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Having read some negatve reviews about this great pub/restaurant we decided to go and we had a fantastic meal. The £10 meal for 2 courses was superb as was the service, ambiance and overall experience.
I simply cannot find any fault with this great old English pub and would recommend everyone to go.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food - Boards - fantastic.- Fountaine Inn - Linton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Bank holiday was fabulous this year and what better than a caravan holiday with friends in Cracoe in the Yorkshire Dales. We had sunshine!!!! yes unbelievable!!! here in UK!!!! so on Sunday 26th May we joined the sunseekers on the common in Linton to partake of the fine cuisine and fabulous menu at the Fountaine Inn - Linton.
The party of 6 were not disappointed - a variety of choice was as usual laid before us, My own personal choice of Mozzerella salad was exceptional and the finishing touches of pesto and a decent cheese - not rubbery but smooth and creamy as a top ingredient should be - was the quality that surpasses most other even top italian restaurants,
The fish board was ordered and the cheese board between 2 people. Again, variety quality and value for money for a light lunch that was refreshing yet gave the sustenance for the miles of walking ahead.
Once again the Beef dish was well received and the cumberland sausage, tried for the first time, was judged to be excellent.
Beef Ciabatta - generous and tasty and the piece de resistance - and something to be tried again for all veggies - Leek and mushroom lasagne - very well received from one who tired of the usual bland, dull vegetable lasagne.
Staff - Great, attentive and expert stackers of used crockery - Cirque du Soleil watch out, these ladies would give you a run for your money as they dodge through small children, crowded tables and dogs with extendable leads.
Once again felt thoroughly spoilt and looking forward to our next trip in a few weeks.
Thank you again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“still excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

last visited 4 yrs ago it was and remains excellent value, we had a late lunch 15:00 but no problem, food excellent value excellent when back in area will revisit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A cautionary tale”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Due to a significant family birthday occurring this bank holiday weekend, we thought it prudent to book ahead for a celebratory lunch. Leaving nothing to chance (or so we thought) we even went and made our booking in person rather than over the phone. Imagine our frustration and disappointment this lunchtime when we arrived to be informed by the waitress who greeted us that they had no record of our booking. To add insult to injury we were then offered the option to eat in the snug or outside on the green, neither of which were anywhere near suitable. The manner in which we were dealt with left a lot to be desired to say the least and in short we will not be going to go anywhere near this restaurant ever again. Be extremely wary, especially if you don't want a major event to be ruined due to incompetence.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fountaine Inn also viewed

Grassington, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Grassington, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Grassington, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Grassington, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to The Fountaine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fountaine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.