We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect yoga retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stowfield Barn

Stowfield Barn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stowfield Barn
Save
You added Stowfield Barn to your Saves list
Scowles Road, Newland, Coleford, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Newland B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect yoga retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

What a wonderful place Stowfield Barn is! Just had a wonderful weekend there with a yoga group. The space was perfect and the hosts made you feel very at home. The food was spectacular, with breakfast, lunch and evening meal being interspersed with homemade cakes... Oh, and of course, yoga! The outdoor setting makes for marvellous walks too. Thank you so much. Will definitely return and highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Stowfield Barn is only about 3/4 hour or so from Bristol and I popped over in the week for a little 3 day retreat to do some songwriting. Lovely setting and so peaceful which was such a great backdrop to the it all.

Jan & Ray (the hosts) are lovely folk and balanced both hosting and space well. If you fancy a pint the local the local - The Ostrich Inn is a perfect country pub with good ale, fantastic food and banter-ous bar staff!

Great vibes for either a little break or a little 'cave' time!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

From the minute we arrived to the minute we left, we could not have been looked after better. The food, walks, company - everything was just perfect! Would recommend it to anyone, couples, families and groups alike - nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Starting off with a bespoke Indian cookery lesson arranged by our host Jan, our weekend escape also included fantastic walks in beautiful countryside, delicious food, home-from-home comfort and great company. This is the perfect place to explore the forest or just chill out. We will definitely make this an annual event!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We stayed in this B&B last minute for a much needed get away. It was perfect for this being situated in a very peaceful and beautiful location. The hospitality was really warm and friendly and they went the extra mile to make our stay comfortable. The food was very tasty too.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We enjoyed a long weekend stay at Stowfield Barn B&B in August 2011. On arrival we were very pleasantly suprised at the beauty of the surrounding countryside and the gorgeous rustic barn. Our hosts, Jan, Ray & Julie gave us a warm and friendly welcome and throughout the weekend nothing was too much trouble. Our party (my Mum, Grandmother, 3 children aged 2,5 &10 and myself) occupied all the bedrooms which were spotlessly clean, recently rennovated and well equipped. During our stay we were made aware of lots of things to do locally (Puzzlewood, shopping in Monmouth and walking in the forrest to name but a few) and there was always someone on hand at the B&B with suggestions and directions! The B&B is very child-friendly and met the needs perfectly of our mixed age group. Before we left we enjoyed a delicious full-english breakfast of home-made museli & bread, jam made from fruit from the Stowfield Barn garden and locally sourced meat and eggs. There is real attention to detail and great value for money...we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stowfield Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowfield Barn

Address: Scowles Road, Newland, Coleford, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford > Newland
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newland
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stowfield Barn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.