We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fairfield Guest House to your Saves list
Fairfield Guest House
Trellech Road (Just off the A466), Llandogo NP25 4TL, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Llandogo B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Friendly and helpful over and beyond the call of duty with everything we asked. Such nice people. The house is beautiful and the rooms are superb. I could have spent a day without going anywhere. Practically speaking, they are fully kitted out, parking is no problem and the location made exploring by foot and car so easy. The wifi is also real wifi without having to set up 3 BT accounts first. The view from breakfast will be sorely missed, a very scenic town and valley; we travelled up and down the valley every day but Llandogo was our favourite. Walks, Fishing, Country Pubs, Canoes, Golf, cycle routes etc all very close if that's you thing. I recommend going up the hill to the waterfall. Thank you Stuart and Martien.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
49
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Caterham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Excellent hospitality. Nothing was too much trouble for Stuart and Martien. Lovely cosy rooms and the suite had it's own lounge, bedroom and bathroom. The cooked breakfast was fantastic and kept us going all day. The scenery was beautiful and great views from the conservatory.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

As the 4 of us were footsore after our hike up the valley, we were delighted when Stuart picked us up from the bridge rather than face the road in the gloom (We'd managed to get lost). A haven indeed but with such solicitude and an unexpected feast at the end of it. (Had booked in for supper thinking we'd not want to travel further - in fact , would travel here for the food alone! ) Carefully prepared and delicious. Breakfast was another treat, wonderful cheeses and pastries, good to have as an alternative to the usual cooked breakfast, which was also available. Then they sorted out a mobile phone problem so we went away feeling pretty well cared for!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Beautiful bedroom, fantastic food, and heaps of hospitality. Add in some breathtaking scenery, makes this a perfect getaway for everyone. Would thoroughly recommend Fairfield and we cant wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Our visit to the Wye Valley was complimented by our stay at the Fairfield Guest House. The rooms were very comfortable and had all the amenities that would help make ones stay that much nicer. It is very peaceful and quiet in the Guest House and we both slept very well. We woke up to an amazing full English Breakfast that kept us going all day!

Many thanks

Julie and Pat

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Wonderful comfortable room and excellent breakfasts in a very lovely quiet setting. It is easy to get to many of the surrounding areas from here and come back to this excellent accommodation. You are made to feel very welcome by the hosts who ensure you have everything you need. A very memorable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We booked the suite room which was excellent... Plenty of space and very well appointed. Lovely place to stay. Fantastic breakfast. Great location. Very close to Tintern abbey. Would definitely return.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Guest House

Address: Trellech Road (Just off the A466), Llandogo NP25 4TL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Llandogo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Llandogo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5* rated Guest House and winner of a Visit Wales Gold Award for 2014. A peaceful and relaxing stay is assured with first class friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fairfield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.