We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Fairfield Guest House to your Saves list
Fairfield Guest House
Trellech Road (Just off the A466), Llandogo NP25 4TL, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Llandogo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Fairfield guest house is nestled amongst mature gardens and set in a perfect location to appreciate the surrounding area. Ken and Bruce are simply great hosts with a super sense of humour. They take a huge amount of pride in their guest house. The quality of furnishings, the food, the cleanliness and the little touches easily justify the 5 star rating. My wife and I stayed in the suite and it exceeded all expectations. The breakfast was generous and of superb quality. Within distance of Gloucester, Usk, Monmouth and Tintern you have all you will ever need. Simply put you would be missing out if you stayed anywhere else.

Room Tip: The suite is perfect. 2 bathrooms and french doors that open onto a private garden with seating area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
50
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

A wonderfully located guest house, close to all the historical, cultural and scenic attractions of South Wales and the Wye Valley. As hosts Ken and Bruce are in a class of their own, their warm welcome and great food more than compensated for 3 days of rain. We would recommend an outing to the Michelin starred Crown at Whitebrook which is only 10 minutes drive away. We will be returning to both Fairfield and the Crown next year

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Bruce and Ken are definitely 'mine hosts' nothing is too much trouble. Beautiful area in the Wye Valley the scenery is stunning. Bedrooms top class, food wonderful, ambience of the guest house copacetic. Will definitely visit again and will recommend. As a 5 star guest house we were suprised at the reasonable charges.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My wife and I had a very comfortable stay. The bedroom was good, and the cooking outstanding.
Nothing is too much trouble for Bruce and Ken who are charming hosts. Would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Bruce and Ken are wonderful hosts! From the moment you're greeted at the door to the time you bid your farewells....you are treated to tip top customer service and a real treat. With a breakfast room that is bright and inviting, secluded patios for that intimate dinner and sumptuous amenities. The setting of the glorious Welsh countryside just adds to the charm of this spot.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

An excellent guest house. Very comfortable, clean and luxurious surroundings. The most extensive breakfast we have ever seen in a hotel or guest house. Great atmosphere for an evening meal.Very congenial hosts.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We found The Fairfield Guest House on the internet - It was in the area we wanted to visit and it looked like appealing – When we arrived we were not disappointed - We had a warm welcome from the proprietors, Ken and Bruce - The property is decorated and furnished to a very high standard and had everything we needed - The attention to detail, food and comfort is more than you could wish for - Everything was done to make our stay memorable and enjoyable - We would not hesitate in recommending this five star accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Guest House

Address: Trellech Road (Just off the A466), Llandogo NP25 4TL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Llandogo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Llandogo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5* rated Guest House and winner of a Visit Wales Gold Award for 2014. A peaceful and relaxing stay is assured with first class friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Fairfield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.