We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Quality Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fairfield Guest House to your Saves list
Fairfield Guest House
Trellech Road (Just off the A466), Llandogo NP25 4TL, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Llandogo B&B and Inns
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“A Real Quality Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Fairfield was a brilliant find; 'Thank You' Tripadvisor! Quality welcome, quality furnishings, quality breakfast. Sadly our plans meant that we could only stay for one night, but we would be very happy to stay here again. Bruce and Ken are excellent hosts and could not have done more for us.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
49
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

When booking to dine at the Michelin-starred Crown at Whitebrook they recommended the accommodation at Fairfield Guest House as the only five-star rated B&B within proximity - we're glad they did. Ken and Bruce were the perfect hosts and made us feel like special guests in their home from the moment we arrived. The decor is eclectic and fabulous and our room was huge with a wonderfully comfortable bed and all mod-cons. We had a lovely meal there on our first night and really enjoyed our breakfasts "with a view". The guest house is also in a great location for exploring the beautiful Wye Valley.
Thank you Ken and Bruce for helping to make a special weekend even more memorable. We look forward to returning (if only to see some more of the shirts from Ken's 120-strong collection and for another glass of Amarula!).
Paul and Gill

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

To find a guest house that matches its 5 star reviews is unusual, but to find one that exceeds that is even better. We and two friends stayed here for 2 nights and were a bit apprehensive about staying in a B & B. We needn't have worried as we were made to feel extremely welcome as soon as we arrived. We found our rooms excellent in every detail - Ken and Bruce had missed nothing. The breakfasts were amazing, more than enough to keep you going all day, all tastes were catered for. The evening meal prepared by Ken was just wonderful. Fairfield is an ideal base for all attractions in and around the Wye valley. We look forward to returning soon. We highly recommend it. Tony & Sandy & Chris & Jenny

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulkington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

This guest house is on par with 4 & 5 star hotels that we have stayed at in various parts of the world. We booked via the Tourist information centre in Chepstow & arrived late evening and were greeted by Bruce who immediately made us feel welcome. The rooms were immaculate as was the ambience and food quality.I will certainly be making a return visit.
Thank you for making us feel special
Alan &Florence
Ian & Elma ( 3 Scots & an Englishman )

Room Tip: All rooms excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

I can honestly say that I have never stayed in a guest house like this before. Ken and Bruce really do make your stay feel like home from home.
Our room was great, the bed ridiculously comfortable, the breakfast plentiful and tasty, and there were all manner of little touches which showed they really care about their guests.
We only stayed for 2 nights to attend a wedding in the area but we will definitely be going back.
It's also surrounded by some stunning scenery and just a 5-10 minute drive from Tintern Abbey.
I cannot think of a single negative aspect of our stay and, if you are thinking of visiting this area, I would strongly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Row, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

The welcome of love and laughter, and Ken and Bruce, your South African hosts, at Fairfield Guesthouse will remain with you as you fall asleep on the lovely beds and remain after breakfast as you drive away. Nothing is too much trouble. The furnishings are joyously idiosyncratic and expensive and tasteful. I can still recall the large wooden rhino, ranging still, high over Safari and the breakfast table. Your stay will be memorable because you are made to feel as if you yourself are valuable. The welcome and the parting, the mixture of sadness and pleasure makes you feel good to be alive. The name “Fairfield” is a simpler way of naming a house after the Champs Elysées which is the French for “Elysian Fields” which is the word the Greeks use for their own Heaven, admission to which was initially reserved only for mortals related to the gods and other heroes. “Fairfield” is an apt name. This is how Heaven will be for us (if, like Ken and Bruce, we are related to the gods, of course).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We stayed in this guest house last weekend, and can highly recommend it. The rooms are well appointed - we had a lovely room at the back of the house overlooking the beautiful gardens and hillside beyond. Very comfotable bed, and peaceful surroundings ensured a great night's sleep! Ken and Bruce, the hosts, could not have been more welcoming and helpful, and the breakfast they provided was huge, varied and really good quality. I have no hesitation in recommending it as a great base to stay in this lovely area, and we will definitely stay there again next time we visit. Thank you!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Guest House

Address: Trellech Road (Just off the A466), Llandogo NP25 4TL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Llandogo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Llandogo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5* rated Guest House and winner of a Visit Wales Gold Award for 2014. A peaceful and relaxing stay is assured with first class friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fairfield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.