We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found everything I needed to bring gifts back from Puerto Rico!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribbean Trading Company Store

Caribbean Trading Company Store
Calle Principal #4, Palmer, Rio Grande 00721, Puerto Rico
787 888 2762
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Attractions in Palmer
Type: Shops, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: On your way to El Yunque. Discover the treasures of the Caribbean and Puerto Rico! Caribbean Spices & Sauces, Fresh Puerto Rican Coffee, Fine Premium Cigars, Nautical & Tropical Gifts, Exquisite Gift Baskets
Germantown, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Found everything I needed to bring gifts back from Puerto Rico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Passed this shop several times during my stay in Puerto Rico. It was very nice to run into it on a humble. I was looking for cigars and we always went for a twenty minute drive to get some. Well no more! This shop was five minutes from the house we rented and I could not be happier! Do not pass this place!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    10
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I Wanted To Buy The Whole Store!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My best friend and I were staying at the Rio Mar and on our way back to the resort from the Yunque Rainforest we found this amazing souvenir store on our last day! I was so thankful to have found this store because we didn't have any treasures to bring home to our family and friends b/c every other souvenir store we had gone to were selling the cheesy trinkets that we didn't want to spend an arm and a leg for. We had a great time and Iris was incredibly helpful! We had complimentary coffee, tried all kinds of homemade sauces (made in their store) and we even tried the Ghost Pepper sauce!! (Which comes with a free certificate saying you conquered the hottest of hot sauces!) After spending about an hour or more we had bought at least $100 worth if not more of amazing treasures to bring home to our family and friends :)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great shop for locally made goods!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were staying at the Rio Mar and stopped here on the way to the airport to go home after not having much such success finding local souvenirs all week.

This place is great! They have a wide variety of gifts ranging from t-shirts, their own made soaps, jewelry, spices, coffee, tiles, mugs, alcohol, etc. Most of their gifts are locally made by local artisans, which is exactly what I was looking for. They make a variety of soaps and lotions themselves. They also make their own coffee, sauces, and spices, and also have a selection from local artisans.

Karla was so nice and helpful! She offered some free samples of their delicious coffee right away. Then she explained their sauces and let us taste them. We found some great souvenirs here, but definitely stop here if you want to bring home some authentic sauces and spices. They were so delicious, and I know I cannot find anything comparable where I live.

They also have an online store, which is great for when you run out of those delicious sauces or coffee.

The prices are very reasonable and exactly what I was expecting to pay for the things I wanted.

I will definitely be sure to stop here again the next time we go to Puerto Rico!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous souvenir shop with excellent service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

On our trip back to the Wyndham Rio Mar from experiencing a beautiful waterfall at the top of the mountain, we stumbled upon this little place. Risell immediately greeted us and offered us some coffee without knowing whether we were just looking like most probably are or not. With her wonderful attention to us and great conversation we ended up leaving with a number of items for family back home.

The shop itself offers a great variety of items and not just your typical souvenir shop stuff. They have handmade items from a variety of artists, some cool jewelry which I hadn't seen anywhere else along with a good mix of liquors to suit most anyone.

Prices are pretty normal for a shop of this kind I thought.

Check them out if you're in the area. You won't be disappointed. And say hi to Risell.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for corporate gifts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I organized a corporate event in San Juan and I approached Caribbean Trading for some group gift ideas. Caribbean Trading offered a great variety of items. Meghann provided me with a proposals and her suggestions were all appropriate! We decided on PR coffee, an artisan mug and artisan tile. The gifts were beautifully wrapped and presented to our guests at their welcome reception. Everyone loved their gifts! They were showing off their tiles to each other. I'm planning to order more tiles!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caribbean Trading Company Store also viewed

 

Been to Caribbean Trading Company Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribbean Trading Company Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.