We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Wesley sanctuary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wesley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Wesley to your Saves list
The Wesley
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   65 Cumberland Avenue | Cnr Homestead and Cumberland, Bryanston 2190, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Bryanston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bloemfontein, South Africa
1 review
“The Wesley sanctuary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Neatly located in the leafy suburb of Bryanston, The Wesley is the place to be at. Great value for money, beautiful bedrooms, lovely outdoor resting facilities and genuinely a quite place away from the busy Jhb. The staff was friendly and very professional. The beds are to die for, soft linen and clean bedrooms. Spacious rooms that will keep you indoors all day, all weekend. The Wesley is definitely my choice away from the impersonal hotels with fresh breakfast and personal attention to each guest, they have my vote for my stays in Jhb.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    40
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
20
44
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jwaneng, Botswana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I was impressed by the fact that I managed to get a room despite my having not booked ahead. The staff went to great lengths to source a room for me, and not just a standard room for that matter!
The Presidential suite that we stayed in was exquisite! My wife and kids loved it!. The room had everything that catered for all of us, especially for the baby. And it also rekindled sweet thoughts for us - the scenic view towards the pool area was fantastic. The location of the hotel also is great - it's tucked away (offering privacy) yet within reach of Sandton and other great places. The VALUE for MONEY IS AWESOME

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed for a week and the breakfast menu never changed - might be fine for the one night stays but could definitely improve for those who stay for longer. Service was also very slow at breakfast - need more staff??

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my girlfriend after two weeks of overlanding. The plan was that for our last night we would treat ourselves and we couldn't have chosen a better spot to kick back and relax!

The rooms are spacious and open plan. The bath tub in the middle of the room was a great touch. The decor is a mix of modern and antique, very tastefully done.

Outside the room you have a stunning garden with a pool which was too cold to dip into unfortunately due to it being winter! We ate our breakfast on the balcony adjoining the dining room.

The staff are friendly and always friendly! We availed of an airport transfer and travelled in luxury in the back of a BMW 7 Series. A far cry from the overland truck we had been in for the previous two weeks!!!

10/10

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was really disappointed with this hotel. The bedroom, no 10, was actually lovely, but was totally spoiled by an inadequate bathroom. As its a suite, you get a half-hearted kitchenette, and a bathroom with a shower cubicle in which you cannot turn around without hitting a wall or the glass door or the tap. Breakfast was lacklustre with my husbands easy-over eggs arriving cooked to death & my scrambled eggs rubbery. What a pity .....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed overnight at Wesley on 14/06/13, the size of the room was generous, quite opposite of shower cubicle which was very small , in addition there was very little water pressure, the breakfast the next morning was poor.

Room Tip: Do not stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were rather disappointed with our experience at the Wesley recently, especially since our first time staying there was so enjoyable. The staff members were slow, uninterested and almost made you feel they were doing you a favor by attending to your needs. We had to go into the kitchen to call someone to take breakfast orders - after they saw us and heard us entering the breakfast area. The breakfast is pretty uninteresting - an establishment like the Wesley could really make an effort to offer a better breakfast buffet. Our room was lovely and comfortable. Bath sheets in stead of small towels would have been great. There is a hair dryer in the room but no adaptor, so it is impossible to use the hair dryer! The admin was clearly also not up to date, as the receptionist had to rummage through piles of paper to find mini bar check lists from 3 days before. The friendliest and most efficient staff members are the security guards at the gate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wesley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wesley

Address: 65 Cumberland Avenue | Cnr Homestead and Cumberland, Bryanston 2190, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Bryanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bryanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wesley 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wesley is an upmarket Guesthouse that caters for the more discerning guests. Situated in the heart of Bryanston, Sandton, surrounded by beautiful gardens and a natural bird haven which has been cultivated over decades opposite the Bryanston golf course. As one of the oldest farm houses in Bryanston, the property is situated on the highest point in the area and has been occupied by Multinational CEOs and Heads of States. The Wesley is conveniently near many popular venues, namely 10 minutes away from Sandton, Fourways, Cresta, Rosebank, Monte Casino, the highway and the Gautrain Set in an idyllic surrounding, there are few experiences that can rival sipping sundowners on the deck, listening to the gurgling of the waterfalls, basking amongst the unique bird life, and watching the setting of the magnificent South African sun! Exclusivity and privacy is the key to the service offering and each room is designed with this in mind. The entire area is covered by Cameras, electric fencing and electric beams with 24 hour guards and is truly a secure environment where you can feel at home without any worries. With a backup generator in case of power failure.The rooms vary in size from 45 to 100 square metres boasting antiques in all the rooms dating between 100 and 250 years old. The focus and design is a fusion between French Provencal with touches of ancient colonial Asia. Each of the 11 rooms has a sense of conformity with the detail presenting total individualism. The majority of the decor has been specifically imported and guests can experience treats such as slumbering on an 18th Century bed. Without giving away all the treasures to be found in the common areas, you will definitely notice the 250 year old feature door when exploring the property. There is a Cigar bar and an African Bar and a beautiful swimming pool with waterfalls and Palm trees rivaling Sun City. If you are looking for the best bouquet of offerings from personal to professional and modern to old school, The Wesley will not disappoint both private and business traveller alike. The Wesley has become 'ONE HOT TICKET' getting a full write up in the Top Billing 2011 Issue ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Wesley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wesley Bryanston, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wesley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.