We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place for my vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wesley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Wesley to your Saves list
The Wesley
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   65 Cumberland Avenue | Cnr Homestead and Cumberland, Bryanston 2190, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Bryanston B&B and Inns
Seychelles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place for my vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I fell in love with The Wesley the first time I came across it online. It's location is a safe area and the hotel itself is secure and safe with electric gate and security guards. All the staff with no exception are very friendly and made us felt like home. Our room was more than what we were expecting. Large space, white antique furnitures. We just loved the hotel altogether. Breakfast was included in our stay which was very delicious. A very nice tropical garden with plam trees surrounding the swimming pool invited us for a swim. Our 3 year old boy was so comfortable and was at ease with every staff. I will definitely stay again at The Wesley on our next trip to SA. A big Thank you to The Wesley staff to make our stay a perfect and memorable one. All the best!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    33
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
16
38
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grahamstown, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Owner Tina upgraded us to the executive room - very spacious with a massive bed and open bathroom. The shower and toilet are not visible from the rest of the room, it's just the bath in the middle of the room - great for watching my baby daughter. Loved the fact there is an honesty bar. Had great fun in the swimming pool where a friendly staff member brought us towels. Breakfast was good. It's not just for business travelers but also very suitable for families.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polokwane, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The rooms were comfortable and spacious. Ideal room design for short or long staying guests. Value for money. Friendly staff. Relaxed atmosphere. Lovely view of the well maintained garden and pool area from the breakfast patio. The garden leading to the rooms needs a bit of TLC. Room amenities were of excellent quality. We’ll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Room 3 - Executive
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel exists ever sice the World Cup. We had a great stay for 1 night (jan 4) with me, my friend and a baby. Because we are just friends and it was very quiet at the hotel we got a free upgrade to - i think - room #2. A nice gesture. The hotel is situated in a very secure area, the rooms are nice and spacious, although you have to decide if you like open plan bathrooms or not. The room had aircon, shutters, a wonderful and huge bed, and the gardens and pool are beautiful. Tina is a great host and breakfast was nice. All together, a great place to stay!
Since it was very quiet, the bar was closed, but they run a honesty bar if you feel like a drink, so all sorted!
It also makes a nice venue for parties.
Keep in mind you always need a car in Jozi, also for this hotel.
Good luck for the future, Tina & Crew.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I stayed at the Wesley in bryanston for 5 nights and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Tina the manager and all the other staff truly understand the meaning of the word hospitality. Ask for anything and Tina will make it happen. I loved the room and the environment. The location in Bryanston which is a highbrow area of Joburg cannot be bit. I would certainly return and I highly recommend it to any traveller who is looking for a quiet and comfortable accommodation in Johannesburg.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed two nights with a recommendation of a friend who was working at JB for 3-months contract basis and also staying at Wesley. When I arrived to the Hotel I understand his reasoning to stay here for long term. Wesley is like a luxury home with your own swimming pool, sub-tropical surrounding and nicely decorated rooms. There are high walls around the hotel and two gates to go through. It's safe!

Front desk is a little slow but friendly. Rooms are very clean. Location is good, close to Sandton twon center. At night, recommend to visit nearby Monte Casino.

Room Tip: Choose large rooms at back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I spent one night at the Wesley last week. The hotel is very conveniently located close to shops and restaurants in a peaceful area. The grounds are beautiful and we enjoyed breakfast on the deck overlooking the lovely garden. The room was very big and comfortable. I was travelling with a friend and the staff were very accommodating by adding another bed to the room for us at a small fee. We were very entertained with the bath being in the middle of the room with no privacy and the shower and basin areas also being open plan in the room. It would probably be no issue for couples but was a little strange for us as friends. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wesley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wesley

Address: 65 Cumberland Avenue | Cnr Homestead and Cumberland, Bryanston 2190, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Bryanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bryanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wesley 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wesley is an upmarket Guesthouse that caters for the more discerning guests. Situated in the heart of Bryanston, Sandton, surrounded by beautiful gardens and a natural bird haven which has been cultivated over decades opposite the Bryanston golf course. As one of the oldest farm houses in Bryanston, the property is situated on the highest point in the area and has been occupied by Multinational CEOs and Heads of States. The Wesley is conveniently near many popular venues, namely 10 minutes away from Sandton, Fourways, Cresta, Rosebank, Monte Casino, the highway and the Gautrain Set in an idyllic surrounding, there are few experiences that can rival sipping sundowners on the deck, listening to the gurgling of the waterfalls, basking amongst the unique bird life, and watching the setting of the magnificent South African sun! Exclusivity and privacy is the key to the service offering and each room is designed with this in mind. The entire area is covered by Cameras, electric fencing and electric beams with 24 hour guards and is truly a secure environment where you can feel at home without any worries. With a backup generator in case of power failure.The rooms vary in size from 45 to 100 square metres boasting antiques in all the rooms dating between 100 and 250 years old. The focus and design is a fusion between French Provencal with touches of ancient colonial Asia. Each of the 11 rooms has a sense of conformity with the detail presenting total individualism. The majority of the decor has been specifically imported and guests can experience treats such as slumbering on an 18th Century bed. Without giving away all the treasures to be found in the common areas, you will definitely notice the 250 year old feature door when exploring the property. There is a Cigar bar and an African Bar and a beautiful swimming pool with waterfalls and Palm trees rivaling Sun City. If you are looking for the best bouquet of offerings from personal to professional and modern to old school, The Wesley will not disappoint both private and business traveller alike. The Wesley has become 'ONE HOT TICKET' getting a full write up in the Top Billing 2011 Issue ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Wesley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wesley Bryanston, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wesley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.