We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Spot to rest....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abadin Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in L'Orignal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abadin Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Abadin Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
612 Bobois Street, L'Orignal, Hawkesbury, Ontario K0B 1K0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 L'Orignal B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Lovely Spot to rest....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at the Abadin B and B while on a bike trip for our tenth anniversary this August. We found our hosts very pleasant, kind and helpful in providing directions and making food recs. etc. The mattresses were very comfortable after a long ride and the breakfast provided the next morning was delicious. Staying in the summer was very nice as there is a great backyard where guests can sit and relax. Very afforable and you get more than what you pay for!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abadin, Owner at Abadin Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are very happy that we could serve your needs as bicyclists and that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you back in the future. It was a real pleasure to chat during breakfast.
Best wishes
Ed & Shirley
Abadin Bed and Breakfast
L'Orignal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
35
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I should have written this review long time ago as we stayed here back in December. The location of this place is great as it's just in the middle of Ottawa/Montreal/Tremblant.

We decided to stay here for our anniversary as we have stayed in so many high end hotels and wanted something a bit more laid back but at the same time comfortable and 5 star service and we found this in Abdadin Bed and Breakfast. We stayed in the en-suite King room and it was lovely. Bed was so comfy and the bathroom was nice! We had a basket waiting for us with a lot of goodies and a bottle of white wine. Breakfast was made for us by the owners and it was delicious. The owners are europeans from Germany so you can feel the sense of proudness and warmness that they bring from their home country. We had long chats with them and seemed to never end.

I would recommend this place to anyone looking for something different and have it as a place to go back to after a long day in Montreal or Tremblant or Ottawa.

Thanks Abadin for hosting us and when we decided to stay in B&B again we will stay at your palce.

Cheers!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abadin, Owner at Abadin Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post such a complimentary review following your recent stay here at the Abadin B&B! We are so thrilled to hear that you truly enjoyed your stay and the conversation we shared! We truly look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to our area, hopefully in the not too distant future!

Warmest Regards
Shirley & Ed
Abadin B&B
L'Orignal, Ontario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and I wanted a nice out of town experience for our birthday getaway. Well we found it, in a cozy little town with lots of history. Abadin B&B was great, a beautiful well furnished bedroom with a bed I could sleep the whole night on! Not only did Ed prepare excellent wholesome breakfasts, he was an awesome friendly and accommodating host. We would definitely return for another stay.
Highly recommend.

Room Tip: I would say any room, but we had the King room and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abadin, Owner at Abadin Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It was a real pleasure to have you and your wife as a guest and we hope you will find your way back to L'Orignal for another relaxing stay. Thank you again so very much for the beautiful gift we enjoy it every day!

All the best
Ed & Shirley
Abadin B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My husband and I went to that lovely B&B to celebrate our anniversary this fall after one of our friend had suggested it eventhough we had never been in that area. As soon as you drive in you can only notice how the house is impressive and we were even more suprised by how modern and cosy the entire house was when Ed (the owner) showed us around! We both thought the rooms were really nice, above anything I had seen in a B&B and every room had its own style (all great by the way!!) We had the queen room which was a little small but really well designed so we felt in our own little buble, which was perfect for us!! We loved the mattress so much, they were so comfortable that we actually ask for the name of the manufacturer! At breakfast, we had the chance to meet with Shirley and both owners were lovely to talk with. We had Hawai toasts for breakfast and again it was delicious!! The place was really great, calm and relaxing which makes it the perfect getaway !! We will be returning for sure for our next anniversary and we are already talking about spending a weekend over during the summer to relax trying it when we can have lots of relaxing time outside in the backyard of the B&B as our friends did!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abadin, Owner at Abadin Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time and writing a review. We enjoyed having you as guests and are very glad you you felt comfortable at our house. Hopefully you will be able to come back during the summer time. We wish you a peaceful Holiday season!
Greetings from
Ed & Shirley
Abadin B&B
p.s. If you don't mind we would like to get the pictures you took from our area here. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dollard-des-Ormeaux, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Based on the reviews we read, we purchased a Teambuy voucher and visited Abadin November 16 - November 18, expecting paradise! Truthfully, I don't know what the fuss is all about since we've been to many bed and breakfasts and this one certainly falls short. The first thing that bothered me was that I was asked to remove my shoes upon entering! Never been asked that before at any place I ever stayed! The room was nice enough and we had a bottle of wine and a basket of goodies waiting for us as per the Teambuy voucher description. A couple of reviewers on Trip Advisor made the beds seem like heaven, but they were just beds! I would like to know what these people sleep on at home! I want to make mention that even though we were led to believe that we had a private bathroom, we indeed had to leave our room and go into the common hallway to go to the toilet. We've been to many B & B's and never experienced this before. Breakfast is another issue: We had no choice as to what to eat! The first morning we were given yogurt with fruit followed by quiche, that was it! I asked Ed for some bread and he originally said "no" but then said he had some in the freezer and proceeded to bring out the frozen bread with brick hard butter! The second morning we were given the same yogurt followed by a waffle with fruit coulis and whipped cream. Again, that was it! No choice whatsoever as to what to eat. No eggs, sausages, bacon, or cheese were offered. However, Ed did put out bread for us. Whooppee!! I also want to mention that neither our bedroom or bathroom were cleaned. The bed was not made upon our return late Saturday afternoon (after a day of touring the area) nor was the bathroom cleaned. Water spots on the mirror and faucets, toothpaste in the sink! Unacceptable! I hate to sound like a grouch or a complainer, but this was our experience at Abadin and we will surely NOT return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abadin, Owner at Abadin Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We deeply regret you weren't satisfied with your stay!

If you would have taken a moment to talk to us about your complaints we would have done anything in our power to address your concerns.
Sorry that you felt it was inappropriate to be asked to remove your shoes, but the hardwood floors as well as the white carpet wouldn't survive if we would allow guests to walk with their street foot ware inside our home. And usually guests are are very respectful and are taking their shoes off even without being asked.
Regarding the private bathroom versus an ensuite.
We have stated on our website that we have rooms with ensuite which is commonly known as accessible from the bedroom as well as private bathroom accessible right outside beside be bedroom but also ONLY used by that one particular guest. Sorry that you weren't aware of the terminology and the meaning behind it. There was always the option to upgrade to a room with ensuite bathroom but as stated on your voucher – you bought a stay at the King room with private not ensuite bath.
Also we asked if you wish to have maid service and you told us that you don't. We do not intrude into the private space of a guest unless we are allowed to. Our guests value their intimate privacy very much. We are sorry that you had changed your mind you just could have let us know so that we could have reacted accordingly.
About the breakfast: We usually get informed prior to arrival about dietary requirements or likes and dislikes, but we don't have the staffing to offer an a-la-card breakfast choice but are usually told that our breakfast is just too plentiful. Most guests can't even finish one serving.

We pride ourselves on our customer service and wish we had been afforded the chance to talk to you about these concerns while you were staying with us. It is our goal to have everything as perfect as possible and to treat each of our guests with the utmost sensitivity to their needs. We want to know anytime a guest is not satisfied with their accommodations so we can improve things DURING their stay.

Please know that any suggestion or comment is taken seriously by us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We celebrated our 23rd Wedding Anniversary at Abadin the weekend of Oct. 20-22 with a lovely two night stay. Ed was the perfect host in every respect, suggested restaurants, places to visit, suplied maps, etc. We enjoy a modern B&B which are rare and hard to find. The decor is lovely and inviting and as someone else mentioned it's quiet, that's a plus too. We were on the first floor in the brown room, everyone else was upstairs. Beautiful washroom (across the hall though, so you know) thick and cozy bathrobes, television, DVD/CD player, basket of goodies (wow that was a lovely treat, and even the wine they treated us to was great as were the soaps, you'll need to buy some before you leave. Ed even built a lovely roaring fire in the lounge shared by guests as we were alone that night....! It would be great in summer with pool and lovely deck out back and so lose to the river. I highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: All rooms a beautifully decorated, the whole house is quiet so no issues with any room really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abadin, Owner at Abadin Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review and for letting others know about your positive experience at the Abadin B&B. We are thrilled that our guests could achieve what they came for, in your case to celebrate and relax.
And THANK you very much for your very thoughtful gift, which we enjoy immensely.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back and hope we can make your next stay as enjoyable as the last one.

All our best.
Ed & Shirley
Abadin B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed here last weekend for a small getaway, and i couldn't wait to review our time. We had a very good experience with Abadin. We arrived and met Ed, and he showed us around the house, and then gave us great tips on what there was to do and eat in the area. He was very very helpful. The room was amazing, and everything was so quiet, we really couldn't hear any of the other guests. So relaxing.
Ed's breafasts were delicious. My wife loved it,
Thank you Ed at the Abadin for making our stay so easy and great! I will definitely be recommending Abadin to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abadin, Owner at Abadin Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing a review for us. We are glad you had a good time at the Abadin. Thanks for your compliment on our breakfast :) We try very hard to please our guests and it just feels good when our efforts are well received.
We hope to see you back.

Best Regards

Ed & Shirley
Abadin B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abadin Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abadin Bed and Breakfast

Address: 612 Bobois Street, L'Orignal, Hawkesbury, Ontario K0B 1K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hawkesbury > L'Orignal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in L'Orignal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abadin, a luxurious B & B with view and access to the Ottawa River, minutes from Hawkesbury. In proximity to Ottawa and Montreal on Hwy 17. An hour North of the US border and a stone's throw from the bridge to Quebec. The stunning bedrooms are all individually styled in contemporary European design and offer sumptuously comfort, with flat screen TV with DVD player, complimentary tea & coffee and WiFi. All our rooms have en-suite or private bath. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abadin Bed And Breakfast Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abadin Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.